Peterson House

Peterson House, Pokolbin: Hours, Address, Peterson House Reviews: 4.5/5

Peterson House
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Peterson House is the first stop often taken when visiting the Hunter Valley vineyards. Located at the gateway of the Hunter, the picturesque property is home to the largest array of sparkling wines in the region.​ Our Cellar Door boasts over 40 varieties of red and white sparkling wine to taste, plus we have a wide range of souvenirs inspired by our motto ... “Life’s Flat Without Bubbles”.
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Peterson House and similar attractions

The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
40 within 5 kms
Attractions
112 within 10 kms
Popular mentions

4.5
841 reviews
Excellent
499
Very good
225
Average
67
Poor
31
Terrible
19

2802shaza
Cessnock, Australia107 contributions
Lovely lunch on a rainy day
Nov. 2021 • Friends
Had a lovely lunch. Tried the oysters with mango & passion fruit, salmon and beetroot (the beetroot was a favourite). The brisket was nice, prob not something I would order again but that was just personal preference.
Wait service was great, knowledgeable and efficient
Written 28 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

geoffreyr758
Lake Cathie, Australia131 contributions
Personally, Just A Bit Disappointing....
Nov. 2021 • Couples
Haven't visited for ages but old experiences remembered rated the fizz as pretty good. Well, times have changed. Cannot fault the service from both Sally and Cherine. The emphasis seemed to be away from traditional 'methode champenoise' to a fruit driven prosecco type of wine. To me the MC process is sacrosanct and plonking the wine in a steel vat and adding CO2 just doesn’t cut it. Oh well, that's the way it's going. The 2017 Chardonnay Pinot Noir was a good effort although the 2019 Chardonnay was definitely second place to it. The Prosecco....let's just say I don’t understand Prosecco and especially when it's priced over and above the MC wines. Meeting market demand of course.....Of the others listed, I didn’t try the sparkling rose (3 of them) but did taste the 2014 Cab Franc. MC of course and not a bad red sparkler. The venue has not changed much but now concentrates on gatherings, weddings etc. As I said, I could not fault the excellent friendly service....and as for the wine, well times have changed of course.
Written 17 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ian K
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia128 contributions
Free at last & all is green, fresh and welcoming.
Oct. 2021 • Couples
A lovely experience as usual. Great outlook, good friendly and welcoming service and new menu additions.
As always Cuvée provide for most dietary needs in their menu with plenty to choose (gf; veg; df) and, if one has other special needs they can cater for you, if notified in advance. Some dishes need twining but others are spot on.
The quail was perfectly cooked, moist and well matched with an exciting salad including fresh raspberries, strawberries, orange and nuts that add a gentle acid for the quail and give a good texture. The salmon main was also great and moist with a delightful salad. My wife especially liked the chilli and lychee garnish.
Can highly recommend Cuvée and we will return if it’s possible to get seats when all travel restrictions are lifted. As we are in the Hunter we went now before the rush and booked.
Written 22 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anon
1 contribution
UNFORGIVABLE AND UTTERLY DISGUSTING SERVICE
Nov. 2020
Unforgivable and utterly disgusting service for a wedding venue. We have had nothing but heart ache and trouble from this wedding venue who pulled TWO events from us after we booked them months prior, they just gave to someone else. NO care. NO customer service. Their wedding team are unavailable by phone. Take DAYS to return calls and emails (if they do at all, some calls were never retuned). To avoid the pain they have caused us, we recommend you put your faith in a different provider - someone who is able to provide genuine care and the kind of customer service one expects for the most important moments in your life. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Written 16 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Anon, Thank you for your review, the current Covid 19 crisis in NSW has caused the re-scheduling of all weddings in the coming months. In the process of the date changes we have tried to give each couple the date that best suits them, unfortunately with existing bookings and so many postponements the available dates are limited. We are very sorry that the date you wanted was not available and we were also happy to provide you with a full refund as a result. Our team are doing there best in a very difficult trading environment, we wish you all the best with your future plans. Kind Regards Peterson House
Written 23 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

H5418HNruthb
10 contributions
Hunter Valley Winery Tour
Jun. 2021 • Couples
We called in here for lunch. We chose the small plates and ordered Lamb Cutlets, Zucchini Fritters and Fish Cakes with a Roast Pumpkin side. The food was delicious. My Lamb cutlet was one of the best I’ve ever eaten and the roast pumpkin with yogurt dressing and hazelnuts was extremely good. I would go back here again.
Written 4 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

noob1985
307 contributions
Rude staff
Jul. 2020
Went to Peterson House with my wife and her sister. Did the sparkling wine tasting and were attended by an older lady. Once she had pour our glasses she started waving her hands and told my wife's sister to get out. We did not understand what was happening and looked confused. She then proceeding in telling us to drink the wine and get out. Before entering we were talking about buying a bottle. We ended up leaving empty handed after paying the $5 fee.
Written 7 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear noob1985, Thank you for taking the time to review Peterson House, it seems strange that you waited for 11 months to do so, at Peterson House the only reason we have ever asked anyone to leave is due to intoxication ( we are not suggesting this was the case). Our staff see hundreds of people each week and we have never received this kind of feedback before. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. Kind Regards Peterson House Management
Written 15 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

manyana2013
Sydney, Australia57 contributions
A wonderful lunch
May 2021
Another Lovely lunch experience

We stopped off at Peterson on a Sunday afternoon, we were lucky to get a seat, it was full with lots of chatter and laughter.

We were very well looked after, our meals absolutely wonderful and service fantastic.

Watching from a distance at large groups, their orders taken, drinks supplied and meals delivered, they were amazing all the staff working together with smiles and great manners.

Indeed a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon, very good service, lovely meals and thankful we can enjoy the Hunter hospitality .

Thank you
Written 30 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bunty
Killara, Australia12 contributions
Afternoon stop off
Apr. 2021 • Friends
Stopped in with a couple of friends for a quick drink and to pick up our partners some champagne. As footy loving booked it was still a good stop with friendly service. Note you have to order food to get drinks. Happily come back with the misses.
Written 29 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stacey M
Gloucester, Australia5 contributions
Perfect afternoon stop
Jun. 2020 • Friends
Had the most amazing afternoon stop off, a great selection of sparkling will definitely be back to buy another 2 cases
Written 8 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Craig V
Sydney, Australia152 contributions
Absolutely fabulous
May 2021
What a delightful experience, came into purchase a few bottles and stayed for a tasting, as a member the tasting experience was excellent, Zac asked us what style of bubbles we liked and tailored the tasting around that, we also had a list of what Petersons sparklings we had at home so we didn't double up and Zac suggested what ones we should be drinking next and what ones will last longer, excellent service, the service has always been very good every time we have visited the cellar door but this time we were made to feel really special, there is a reason we always come back here besides their beautiful sparklings, the staff seem to enjoy their jobs and are very knowledgeable about their products.
Written 6 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 833
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing