De Iuliis
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience De Iuliis and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles72 reviews
Excellent
38
Very good
23
Average
1
Poor
3
Terrible
7

Ozzielass
Edinburgh, UK126 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Couples
Booked a premium tasting at 11am on a Saturday. They were clearly overwhelmed by other bookings / unexpected visitors. We were seated outside and promptly forgotten. Had to chase up our ‘server’ to ask for one final glass before we had to leave for our next booking. $20pp for the premium tasting, and we only got through two thirds. Wines were pleasant enough but the cellar door experience was very commercially focussed and not able to adequately service the customers they’d over-booked.
Written 9 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Margaret T
Toronto, Australia3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2021
A pleasant visit today with my young adult sons who are new to the wine tasting experience. Our host was helpful giving enough information and allowing us time to enjoy the wine tasting experience. Lovely surroundings with all the usual Covid requirements in place. Fortunately for us it was quiet making the experience much more enjoyable.
Written 2 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jason
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 • Friends
Gale (mature lady) was extremely rude. Wine was ok but it completely ruined our trip due to her poor customer service. Maybe she does that to asians only with racism.. I strongly not recommend anyone to go if they want to keep their mood happy. It can really ruin your whole trip.
Written 13 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Jason, Customer service is very important to us here at De Iuliis Wines. We not only pride ourselves on producing exceptional wines but making sure everyone feels welcomed when they visit our cellar door. Firstly I am very sorry to hear you had an unsatisfying experience at our Cellar Door. Please accept my apologies for the negative impression which was made and we appreciate all feedback to assist us in improving everyone’s experience when visiting De Iuliis Wines. Please could you contact when you have time the cellar door directly on (02) 4993 8000 or email cellardoor@dewine.com.au and I would like to discuss further. Kind regards,’ Sean (Cellar Door Manager)
Written 15 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

eeky888
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia187 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Friends
Had a lovely wine tasting experience with a group of friends. Jenna was very entertaining and knowledgeable while she took us through the various whites and reds. We really enjoyed ourselves. Lucy and Honey the vineyard doggies made appearances . Lucy especially enjoyed the attention showered on her. Highly recommended wine tasting experience ! No wonder they won the 2022 Cellar Door Award . Well deserved !
Written 2 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Paulbkr
Norwich, UK24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Couples
Outstanding. Excellent wines and top quality service. Called with only 30 mins to closing and they were very accommodating. Excellent array of wines, some off menu, nothing too much trouble. Joined their wine club and can't recommend too highly. Fabulous
Written 22 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

cdscons
Brisbane, Australia259 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2023 • Couples
First time visitors, great location and cellar door presentation. Staff very informative and well versed in the history and produce of the property. Wines very good, well priced and a good range.
Written 20 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Shihoko P
Melbourne, Australia673 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 • Solo
Great range of tasting options, knowledgeable staff. Shiraz tasting option on offer, if you’re into reds. Hunter Belle Cheese Room is right next door and worth a visit.
Written 19 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joyce C
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2013 • Friends
It is surprising to find such positive reviews on De Iuliis - as my recent trip with friends found this winery to be far from pleasant. The service that we had unfortunately encountered left us with the poorest impression of how wineries can be run in the Hunter.

From early on into our stay, the female staff member present at De Iuliis displayed a very unwelcoming conduct towards our group. The server poured wine to us in a careless and brusque manner, showing no courtesy whatsoever. Upon asking to sample a different wine, we were quickly told by the female staff member very impudently that, "A lot of Asian people have come through - and you all just don't know how to taste wine!" The amount of rudeness we encountered in our mere twenty-minute stay at De Iuliis is shocking. It was made clear by the server that she had no intention of giving her visitors any common courtesy or respect, let alone introducing, serving or selling the winery's products.

To learn that other visitors have had such positive experiences is even more offending. Our friends and I had, like many others, looked on Trip Advisor for well-rated and popular wineries to visit in our trip to the Hunter. Instead, we were subjected to insolent manner and racist remarks that made us all very uncomfortable. It is appalling and disappointing to know that this type of behaviour can be tolerated. I honestly urge other visitors to look to many of the other excellent, high-standard wineries in the area where you would certainly not be subjected to the kind of behaviour they call 'customer service' at De Iuliis.
Written 6 October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andrew M
Sydney6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2012 • Friends
De Iuliis is a lovely cellar door with a bright, open and welcoming atmosphere. All the cellar door staff were friendly and knowledgable guiding us through the family run business. With a lot of cellar doors being large, impersonal and overrun with coach loads of visitors who swarm in and dominate it was lovely to find a more boutique experience with great wines. Anne, who was our tasting guide, was charming and knowledgable.

As well as leaving with some of the usual suspects from the region, we also picked up a Late Harvest Semillon dessert wine which was a very pleasant discovery!

It is also worth mentioning that there is the Cracked Pepper restaurant and an art gallery attached to the cellar door, as well as a viewing tower, all of which were a pleasant accompaniment to the wine - also look out for the 'The Guardians' Sculptures in the grounds!
Written 26 April 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lydia C
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2014 • Couples
We visited De Iuliis because my partner had been before, and been served by a helpful and friendly junior member of staff who made him feel welcome.

Unfortunately, my one visit to De Iuliis was disappointing; it stood out starkly and was found wanting compared to some of the other excellent wineries in the Hunter Valley.

We were served by a frankly rude lady. There's a picture of her receiving an award in the lobby so I assume she's part of the management. We were shocked at how dismissive, condescending and sneering she was. We're a couple of well mannered, friendly Brits - we're not difficult customers.

From the outset, she behaved as though our presence was wasting her time, mentioning several times that she had just received a big order from an airline. Other wineries had done a great job talking us through their wines but all she seemed interested in doing was pointing out, smirking, things we didn't know about wine. Interestingly, she didn't seem to know anything about wines from outside the Hunter Valley.

We had been enjoying our day until we arrived at De Iuliis, but there was something about how much she seemed to resent our presence in her winery that killed our mood and ruined our day. It was really quite hurtful. Needless to say I didn't bother buying anything.

The wines were fine - no better than the wines from Brokenwood, Pepper Tree, Mount Pleasant, Pig's Peake or any other winery though.

On reflection, snobs are everywhere. It's just that they're usually snobbish based on being rich, highly academic etc. To be a snob because you drink a lot of wine seems like a weird contradiction.

De Iuliis is just not worth it. It's not worth the cost of the petrol to drive there, only to be made to feel like dirt. Seriously unimpressed.
Written 20 May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 68
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

De Iuliis - All You MUST Know Before You Go (2024)

All Pokolbin HotelsPokolbin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Pokolbin
All things to do in Pokolbin
Spas & Wellness in PokolbinZoos & Aquariums in PokolbinTheatre & Concerts in Pokolbin
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars