We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Back to Nature Tours

1 Great King Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
+64 800 286 000
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 141.71*
and up
Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
More Info
USD 141.71*
and up
Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with...
More Info
USD 141.71*
and up
Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Back to Nature Tours conducts nature based tours of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula, Catlins and Stewart Island. Join us on one of our world famous cruise ship excursions that include Dunedin's best tour attractions, scenery and wildlife. We also organize private tours for individuals or groups that are tailor made to make your experience in Dunedin one you will never forget. We are a Qualmark Endorsed New Zealand owned business - Qualmark is New Zealand tourism's official quality assurance organisation, providing a trusted guide to quality travel experiences. We are Department of Conservation Permit holders and have a Marine Mammal permit - allowing us to guide visitors legally in some of New Zealand’s most remote and beautiful locations.
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“chris roberts” (12 reviews)
“baldwin street” (15 reviews)
“cruise ship” (17 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
1 Great King Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 800 286 000
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I booked a combined Tiaeri Gorge Railway (with gourmet lunch pack) and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour on the basis of a recommendation in a tour guide. We were not disappointed. Chris, our guide, picked us up at our hotel, took us on...More

Thank Pierre267
Reviewed 16 April 2017

What a wonderful day - we found them very easy to deal with - prompt, professional and just lovely. We spent a wonderful day, first doing the train journey and then we were taken for a scenic drive out to the Otago penninsular - I...More

Thank Casscruise2
BacktoNatureTours, Chief Guide at Back to Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hi Casscruise, Thanks for your feedback. Its a great trip - there's not too many opportunities to see inland and coastal NZ on a cruise ship however this tour allows you to do just that. Our region has a fascinating interior and stunning coastline -...More

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Our tour guide, Dave, met us at the cruise port, very easy access to this tour. We had a great afternoon touring the area of Dunedin. Dave was quite knowledgeable and it was interesting to hear his insights about the city and surrounding area. The...More

Thank KathiM17
Back2NatureTours, Chief Guide at Back to Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hey thanks for the feedback Kathi. Dave won the all round 'good joker' prize this year. His combination of knowledge, experience and personality provides the foundation for a 'special' day. We're glad you enjoyed Dunners! Haste ye back!

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Doug was a great tour guide with lots of local information! We got a quick overview of Akaroa including the beautiful and historic railroad station. We then drove to Christchurch where we had lunch at the mall that had been destroyed by the two earthquakes...More

Thank ldge
Back2NatureTours, Akaroa Chief Guide at Back to Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hi Idge, Thanks for the great feedback - apologies for the delayed response:) It was a pleasure introducing you to our corner of the world, hopefully we've inspired you to come back one day. If you do, or any of your family or friends decide...More

Reviewed 17 February 2017

We booked this shore excursion for a Princess Cruise port stop. Chris was a fun, personable and informative guide who went out of his way to make for a great half day in Dunedin.

Thank travtips4us
Back2NatureTours, Chief Guide at Back to Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hi Travtips4us, Thanks for the feedback. Really pleased you enjoyed your time here...we really try to go the extra yard for our guests - reviews like this inspire us! Haste ye back!

Reviewed 10 February 2017

Our Dunedin tour, with our guide, Chris, was time (3 hours) and money well spent. We were picked up from and dropped back at the port, although we were given the option of being dropped back at the centre of town. We had a general...More

Thank Angela C
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Went on 2 trips with BTN Tours whilst in New Zealand. On both occasions the guide was very informative and helpful. Our trip around Tauranga/Rotorua and Dunedin were great, packing in some excellent sights. Thanks for helping us to see much more than we could...More

Thank NandL1957
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

This was a fantastic tour that allowed us to get right up close with the natural wildlife of Dunedin. On the Royal Peninsular Tour you see the highlights of Dunedin including the World's Steepest Street, the University and then off to Penguin Place to see...More

1  Thank Daniel B
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Had Matt as a guide. Started at 9:15 and finished at 4:00. We were a little concerned by the hesitant start from our guide but slowly and surely his knowledge and enthusiasm began to shine and it's the passion for the subject that will turn...More

1  Thank RichardAJohn
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Guide spent most of the time talking on his cell phone or with the people in the first two rows. Tour itself was okay, especially the train ride.

Thank Terence G
Back2NatureTours, Chief Guide at Back to Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hi Terrence Growcock, Thanks for the response. We take all feedback pretty seriously so we'd like to give you a phonecall over the next few days to get a better understanding of your experience. Talk to you soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Perc Cafe
344 reviews
.14 km away
Potpourri Vegetarian Cafe
161 reviews
.13 km away
Two Chefs Bistro
232 reviews
.12 km away
The Jitsu
198 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
First Church of Otago
207 reviews
.26 km away
The Octagon
177 reviews
.20 km away
St. Paul's Cathedral
136 reviews
.24 km away
Dunedin Public Art Gallery
205 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lau0529
25 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Back2NatureTours | Property representative |
Hi There, I would recommend doing both! The Peninsula is home to rare species like the New Zealand Sea-Lion and Yellow-Eyed Penguin, so combining the fauna and scenery is a must do in Dunedin and Back to Nature Tours can... More
0
Votes
Pauline H
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Back2NatureTours | Property representative |
Hi Pauline, I've just sent a response to your e-mail:) Regards Chris
0
Votes
althek
27 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Back2NatureTours | Property representative |
Hi There, Sure, just use the promo code TRIPLE3PORT Regards Carla
0
Votes