We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Corner Victoria and Wakefield street Central City | Wellington i-SITE Visitor Centre, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tour)
Phone Number:
+64 800 246 877
Website
Today
10:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 16:00
Description:

Unique in the world of hop on hop off tours: Hop on board one of our small...

Unique in the world of hop on hop off tours: Hop on board one of our small minibuses and traverse Wellington's winding streets on our intimate and informative two hour guided tour. Soak up breathtaking views, fascinating architecture, eclectic suburbs and beautiful coastal scenery while our local Guides tell you all about Wellington's unique culture, history and city life. Enjoy our 4 photo stops where you can get off and explore, and then get back on the same minibus 5 minutes later. And we have handpicked the best hop off and hop on stops if you want to enjoy any of Wellington's iconic attractions for an hour or two. Our personalised service means we always know where you have hopped off and when you want to be picked up again. We depart daily from the city i-SITE Visitor Centre bus stop on the hour from 10am to 2pm. Complimentary pickup from your Wellington city location is available. Don't just see Wellington, EXPERIENCE it.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 32.34*
and up
Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 97 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 55
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
INTERESTING WAY TO SEE THE CITY OF WELLINGTON

We walked down to the start point about 6 blocks away from our motel. First stop is the Mt Victoria lookout area. Great view of the city and harbor and then back on the bus to the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kenneth H

Similar Things to Do in Wellington

Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We walked down to the start point about 6 blocks away from our motel. First stop is the Mt Victoria lookout area. Great view of the city and harbor and then back on the bus to the Wellington Zoo. Really nice zoo but hard walking as it is uphill for quite a ways. We saw quite a few critters that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
Glasgow
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were glad we opted for the small van tour given how narrow and hilly the streets are! The driver was very knowledgeable and we felt we learned a lot! We appreciated the short stop at the top of Mount Victoria but did not Hop on Hop off anywhere else. We were glad we had booked in advance as there... More 

Helpful?
Thank zhena
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Do not take this tour if you want to actually see more than 1 or 2 things. All was fine and good until we decided to use the "hop off" option. At our first stop, we waited over an hour for the next bus even though they advertise every 30 minutes (up to 45 mins when busy). Maybe it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelingNomad35
WellingtonTour, Front Office Manager at Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tours, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry to hear of your experience on this occasion. On the day that you traveled with us there were several incidents out of our control which created a headache for everyone. Not only were there 3 sporting events which closed main roads, there was also a head on collision in Wellington's main tunnel resulting in a closure... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We went on the tour having planned our stops, however the bus failed to arrive at the botanic gardens stop although we waited 2 hours in the hot sun to be picked up. (Pick ups were meant to be every 45 mins) We were unable to complete the circuit as planned due to buses only running til about 4pm. Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jean P
WellingtonTour, Front Office Manager at Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tours, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry to hear of your experience on this occasion, unfortunately you were in a location that was not a dedicated pick up point and this is why your pick up was missed. If you contact us through your booking agent we would happily offer a refund. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We have been on many hop on, hop off tours in many cities and this was very different. Not the typical double decker bus with a pre-recorded narrative but a small van for about 12-15 people with an interactive driver/narrator. We found it very informative and great to have the interaction. Plus, we stopped at several stops where we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Had to wait over an hour before we could get on a bus to start the tour, then at one stop had three bus front before they could accommodate us. There were two ships in town so why not have more buses. We did not even get to complete the loop, a lot of money for a very poor service

Helpful?
Thank 49DLP
WellingtonTour, Front Office Manager at Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tours, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry to hear of your experience on this occasion. Unfortunately when there are two ships in town this places a strain on all tourism operators resources. Buses were running every 30 minutes that day so it is a shame you missed your pick up. If you contact us via your booking agent we would happily offer a refund. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Buses are too small which leads to long - one hour waiting times. Some of the drivers are terrible. Better to organise taxis. Closes at 4.00.

Helpful?
Thank Simonchorsley
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
472 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This really is a great tour for getting a sense of Wellington if short on time. We stayed on for pretty much the whole trip as we had done a few bits the day before. It is reasonably priced and definitely the way to see Wellington - easy.

Helpful?
Thank Orla B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Not your traditional hop on off bus as you go around once on a small bus but you can get on and off wherever. Our driver Alan was a fount of knowledge and he gave out information the whole way. As a first day in Wellington it gave us a great overview for further investigation later. We stopped off for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Johns1951
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This tour covered all the great sights of Wellington. The driver was friendly and full of interesting facts. We could get on and off pick up 1hour later and continue on. Small groups max 9so very personal.

Helpful?
1 Thank beverleybaker22

Travellers who viewed Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tours also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tours and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Wellington Hop On Hop Off Guided Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?