Interislander

Interislander, Wellington: Address, Phone Number, Interislander Reviews: 4.5/5

Interislander
4.5
About
Cruise with Interislander from Wellington to Picton across the Cook Strait and through the stunning Marlborough Sounds in just over three hours on the three largest ferries in New Zealand. Interislander is one of The Great Journeys of New Zealand and our three ships each feature several outdoor viewing decks that allow you to soak up the gorgeous New Zealand scenery as it floats by. They also have plenty of lounges, cafes and bars to choose from, plenty to keep the kids entertained - including children's play areas - and plenty for mum and dad too. Cars, vans, caravans, campervans, motorhomes, motorcycles and coaches - all vehicles are welcome, just drive on, drive off. And for the rental car providers, just drop off your car at the rental depots within our terminals then pick up another at the other end - easy! Interislander operates a FREE shuttle bus. Departing 50 minutes before each sailing from Platform 9 at the Wellington Railway Station.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top ways to experience Interislander
Popular mentions

4.5
4,272 reviews
Excellent
2,108
Very good
1,557
Average
372
Poor
112
Terrible
123

VJ
1 contribution
Great Journey - New Zealand Holidays 2021
May 2021 • Friends
Great trip. Was my first tone to travel with Inter-islander and I enjoyed my journey. Will do it again. Thanks
Written 11 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora! Thank you for your lovely review! So great to hear you had a wonderful first trip travelling with us! Such a beautiful way to travel and enjoy the Cook Strait. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Note Noosuwan
1 contribution
Nice experience!
May 2021
Very comfortable, free wifi and power on board! No need to prepare food, there is many cafes and shops. The bathrooms are clean. And all staffs are friendly!
Written 11 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora! Thanks for your great feedback! We are so pleased you had a comfortable journey with us and were pleased with all the amenities on board. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jennifer H
Saskatoon, Canada2 contributions
Bad
May 2021 • Solo
My family and I used to rely on them for traveling between islands but no longer. Always late and not by a few minutes. Will always take bluebridge now. Always on time and right in the city.
Written 9 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora Jennifer, Thanks for taking the time to send us your review. We are sorry to hear you are disappointed by our service. We have great on time performance. Unfortunately when things happen that our out of our control that cause delays, the safety of our crew and passengers remains imminent. We hope you understand! Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mark J
1 contribution
Awsome
May 2021 • Couples
Excellent service friendley crew .

Departed late due to circumstances beyond their controle .
Happy friendley crew made the 3 hour trip fly by
Written 3 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsten_GJNZ
Kia Ora Mark J, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on your recent Interislander sailing - we appreciate it! We are so pleased to hear that you found our crew very friendly – we truly have the best team of people. Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Best wishes, Kirsten | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Declan O
Nelson, New Zealand191 contributions
Disgusting toilets
Apr. 2021 • Couples
The men's toilets near the food outlet were revolting and filthy. Despite a cleaning schedule in the wall they could not have been cleaned in days. By the end of the trip there were urine slicks all over the floor. Nobody had cleaned during entire voyage despite the ship being full.
To the food was disgusting. Claimed to be snapper but was tough and cheery. Chips soggy.
I had diarrhoea next day and ate nothing after trip so go figure
This ship badly needs a hygiene inspector
Written 25 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora Declan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are incredibly sorry to hear about your experience whilst travelling with us. It is disappointing to hear you felt the ferries were dirty and the food not good. I have passed your comments onto management to investigate further. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Elizabeth V
Waitarere, New Zealand28 contributions
Great experience all round
Apr. 2021
It had been some time since we had last travelled on the Interislander. So when we took return trips around the Easter period, we were pleasantly surprised that all aspects of the serve experience were significantly improved.

We were travelling with our little dog: the quality of information and level of care about pets has really improved. On the return journey I was called back to the car to open the windows wider to ensure our little old dog had sufficient ventilation. And the checklist handout on checkin was excellent.

We used the Club Lounge in both directions: this was the biggest surprise. The food and beverage, and services provider were substantially better - a proper meal service, options and much better food quality. These all added to the Club Lounge being much better value.

Apart from the vehicle checkin in Picton being a bit difficult to find at night, overall a great experience.
Written 25 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora Elizabeth, Thank you for your great feedback! We are so pleased you travelled with us again and noticed the improvements that have been made. The plus lounge is such a great way to travel across the Cook Strait with all inclusive food, beverages and friendly service. It is also great to hear about your positive experience whilst travelling with your dog. Our new animal policies came into effect late last year and intend to improve the general carriage of animals on the ferry. We hope to welcome you onboard again soon. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Monza Monza
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand1 contribution
Very poor complaints system
Mar. 2021
I've always found the Interislander to be a good way to travel. However, for the first time in 20 years I've needed to lodge a complaint (about having received completely incorrect information from a staff member over the phone when I rang to check something. That incorrect information cost me a lost of money). I've since discovered that Interislander's system of dealing with complaints is TERRIBLE! I filled in an online complaint form three days after the event. After a week no one had contacted me back so I filled it in again. Still nothing. After 3 weeks I phoned the customer service number and waited the usual 5 - 10 minutes to get through. "Oh, the complaints department takes about 3 - 4 weeks to respond" said the chap on the other end airily. Give it another week or two and then call us back if you still haven't heard."
It's now been 7 weeks. I've just phoned the customer service line again, waited 8 minutes 52 seconds to get through, explained I'd like to speak to someone in the complaints dept. "Oh, that's not possible I'm afraid" said the chap. "Complaints can only be lodged via the online complaints form."
Only at the point where I explained all of the above was I able to persuade him that I needed to speak to someone. He put me on hold but came back on the line to say here was no one available.
He promised someone would call me back.
Really, Interislander? Really!!? That's the standard your customer service is at?
Written 22 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are incredibly sorry to hear about your bad experience. From investigation I can see this is not a complaint but a refund request for a booking you have made which does go through a CRM system. I will follow this up directly with the team for you to see how we can help. We do apologise for any inconvenience you have experienced. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cruzykaz
Timaru, New Zealand2 contributions
Freezing!
Currently sailing on the 9am from Welly to Picton it is absolutely freezing and quite a few traveller's arnd saying the same. Went to reception to see about getting a blanket they were closed said go to shop went there got told they were on a break so waited arnd for another 20 mins to be told to go up a level as this wld be warmer contradicts what I had been told by previous staff member who said the boat heats up from the bottom so would be warmer below !! Dam crazy and its not even winter yet have traveller's on ferry alot and our last 2 crossings on the past 2 wks have been cold. It seems the only way u can guarantee more warmth is by paying extra for a cabin !
Written 13 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora cruzykaz, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about the uncomfortable temperature onboard your sailing. The air conditioning/ heating system does take a while to circulate around the ship. I have passed this onto management to review. We hope you have a better sailing if you choose to travel with us again. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MarieAnnNZ
Rotorua, New Zealand334 contributions
GREAT SAILING
Apr. 2021
Just mainly the comfort. The whole experience on the interislander was just perfect. So many comfortable seats to choose from
Written 12 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora, Thank you for your great feedback! We are so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable and comfortable sailing with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

T W
1 contribution
Using Nautical Mile
Mar. 2021
I highly recommend Nautical mile membership. Have never had any trouble getting on the Ferries regardless of whether we were a little late, Nautical miles members get first on first off a priority. As if that's not good enough, you get a one-off complimentary pass to the plus lounge. You also get Nautical mile credits every time you travel and you can either save them or use them on your next Journey.
Written 11 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora! Thanks for your fabulous feedback! We are so pleased to hear you are making the most of our Nautical Miles Loyalty Programme. This has recently been updated and includes great benefits! We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 3887
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing