We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 3 Hyland Cresent, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 7-348 2229
Description:

Grumpy's Transfers & Tours offers good old fashioned SERVICE WITH A...

Grumpy's Transfers & Tours offers good old fashioned SERVICE WITH A SMILE. Discover the Grumpy's Experience and enjoy our Mini Tours which include transport and attractions, join us on a guided tour to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland and other geothermal wonders on our 'Hot as' tours. Get around easily within Rotorua with Grumpy's All Day or 48h pass. Grumpy's will get you where you need to be - with quotes to anywhere, from anywhere!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 83 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Awesome Experience!

I had such a great time in Rotorua and all of New Zealand! Grumpy transfer services were awesome and both Maria and Richard are such sweet and kind people it was so wonderful... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
cctraveler24
,
San Francisco, California

Similar Things to Do in Rotorua

Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had such a great time in Rotorua and all of New Zealand! Grumpy transfer services were awesome and both Maria and Richard are such sweet and kind people it was so wonderful meeting them both! I hope the best for all their future business plans and hopefully the next time I visit Grumpy tours will be number 1!!! :)... More 

Helpful?
Thank cctraveler24
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We actually booked a Wai-O-Tapu tour with Grumpy's. When we called to confirm, we found out that, due to some technicalities, our booking was void as they were fully-booked. Grumpy's immediately recommended us an alternative company and provided us with a phone number, and so we managed to have our Wai-O-Tapu experience after all. In the afternoon, we called to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DianaRahman
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2016

Grumpy's provide a useful service especially for those pesky out of the way places that are not serviced by local transport. I do wish they would modify the price structure which is per head. A group of four will pay $30 instead of $7.50 for an individual taking the same trip. Planes and buses would do likewise but taxis don't.

Helpful?
Thank Derek R
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,241 reviews
749 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,006 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2016

I don’t remember the name of the lady who picked up but yes I have taken her photo so definitely my kind words about her great service would be passed to her. We were recommended Grumpy by our Hotel Owner. Taxi overall is a little expensive hence they suggested Grumpy and we opted to go for it. She picked us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nins_12
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2016

We took a couple of tours with Grumpy's and in my opinion they are the best way to get around and see all the best sights if you don't have a hire car. They are very knowledgeable and will try and accommodate your plans if you have something different in mind.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cara F
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2016

We had an amazing lady who did our transfer to Wai-o-tapu and she showed us great places to look at sites; buy honey and told us about the history and culture. It was a fantastic experience. Highly recommend them for transfer OR tours.

Helpful?
1 Thank LS S
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2015

My wife and I and another couple booked Grumpy's for a day tour of the Rotorua District, the Glow Worm caves in Hamilton and to drive us to Auckland at the end of the tour. Our driver/tour guide Darrin was knowledgeable, friendly and super accommodating. He got us to the three sites we wanted to visit in the morning without... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Djb1116
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2015

We booked a tour to Wai-o-Tapu and we thought we were the most unlucky visitors when we woke up to a rainy morning. Henry, our tour guide, picked us up from the hotel and we got to find out that due to the bad weather we were the only ones on the tour. We got Henry's undivided attention, a superb... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MissCristina81
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

We booked a visit to the buried village through Grumpy,s the driver picked us up outside our motel on time. We were given infomation about the area on our way to the village.We asked to be picked up at a certain time as we had booked a flight over the lake.we were told not to worry Terri the driver would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2015

We booked a private tour with Grumpy's Tour doing Wai O tapu, Waimangu, Agrodome farm show and tour, and OGO. Our tourguide, Henry, was coughing his lungs out and acting drunk, he even drove up onto a hedge before we even left the city! We were thinking about how to call his company to complain and ask for another driver... More 

Helpful?
Thank aznfayeth
GrumpysTransfers, Manager at Grumpy's Transfers & Tours, responded to this review

No not a DRUNK DRIVER - As we have since discovered Sadly Henry was and still is very sick, as Patrick explained to you at the time and you stated in your message. Grumpys is very sorry for your bad experience as previously explained when we refunded that part of your tour. I am disappointed you have chosen to title... More 

Travellers who viewed Grumpy's Transfers & Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Grumpy's Transfers & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Grumpy's Transfers & Tours and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grumpy's Transfers & Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?