We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Untamed Escapes

Features Animals
Adelaide, Australia
More
About Untamed Escapes
Untamed Escapes connects travellers from all walks of life with adventure, wildlife, wellness and epicurean experiences in nature. Guided by the region's most passionate storytellers, our small group and exclusive private tours depart Adelaide, Perth, and Port Lincoln and roam over two-thirds of untamed Australia. An Advanced Eco-Accreditated operator, since 2004, we have been roaming the expansive 4,000 kilometres between Adelaide and Perth, taking travellers on a sensory journey of these untouched regions. Our diverse range of tours offer experiences in nature to awaken the senses.Food and wine connoisseurs will love our range of Gourmet Getaways and Exclusive Luxury Escapes. Those in need of some 'me time' will find the freedom to find themselves on a Wellness & Yoga Retreat. And if none of those suits, we will handcraft a tailor-made tour, just for you.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
See all hours
Travellers talk about
152Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 144
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Suz A wrote a review Sept 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a wonderful time. It was fantastic to be picked up from my house. The flight was smooth and Chris was waiting for us upon our arrival in Ceduna. As there were 7 of us we were not in a 4WD but a small bus. After coffee and morning tea in Ceduna we drove to Fowlers Bay. Upon arrival we had fish and chips from the local cafe which was yummy. We then boarded the boat for our whale watching cruise. This was fabulous. Very grateful that we were able to see a number of whales in their natural habitat. Was worried that we may have been too late to see them. After the cruise we travelled back to Ceduna where we stayed at the Ceduna Foreshore Hotel Motel. The rooms with balconies were great and provided everything you could want. Had a lovely dinner at the hotel that night. The next morning we travelled to Head of Bight. A very long drive there and back but well worth it. Only negatives were that the small bus was not very comfortable and due to time constraints we could not visit the Nullarbor caves. Back to the Ceduna Hotel Motel for dinner again... amazing seafood platter! On the final day we had a relaxing breakfast in the hotel before heading out to Denial Bay and other local places before heading to Smoky Bay for our oyster experience. Unfortunately it was too windy to go out to the oyster lease however we were well looked after in the shed of SA Premium Oysters. Fantastic people and amazing oysters!! Headed back to the airport for our flight home and limo drop off to our house. Chris looked after us very well and did everything in his power to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. Would definitely recommend although be aware that you may not be travelling in a group of 4 in a 4WD or staying in a villa at the Shelly Beach Caravan Park. We also did not get to experience the Seafood Masterclass stated in the itinerary.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from AWA-Hassie, Owner at Untamed Escapes
Responded 19 Sept 2021
Hi Suz, Thank you for sharing your experience in detail with other travellers! Whale’s stay around the area till late September each year; your tour departures date was perfect! Unfortunately, because Shelly Beach is fully booked for the week, we booked the Ceduna foreshore motel as an alternative. The Mercedes Sprinter is a new vehicle we purchased recently. We relocate this vehicle for the whale’s tour because there are more leg rooms between seats and more comfortable seats for middle-distance travel. We are sorry that you miss out on the Nullarbor Caves and the oyster lease. Your feedback is valuable to us! We will take this into consideration when we plan the itinerary for next season. Stay safe. Regards Hassie Owner Xplore Eyre
Read more
ConnieY wrote a review Aug 2021
Adelaide39 contributions31 helpful votes
This tour is the best tour I have ever joined. It started from your house. The moment we left the door we felt that we were in a magical experience to see the most magnificent creatures on earth. I have never seen so many whales in my life. We saw way more whales than kangaroos in this trip. Not only that it is a truly unique experience. This well-designed tour has showcased the best of Ceduna and surrounds in 3 days. To experience the vastness of this country and enjoy the wildlife with the best food and wine without any hard work will be my summary of the trip. Our tour guide Chris has done everything for us and is trying to make sure all our wishes are met like buying fridge magnets of every town we visited. So much laugh and fun in the tour too because it's such a small tour group. Everyone knows everyone and we truly bonded. What an amazing tour and great time we had! For those who like to DIY to save a few bucks, we have calculated the total costs of the tour. We couldn't do it ourselves with this price. We can guarantee you that it's definitely great-valued too.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from AWA-Hassie, Owner at Untamed Escapes
Responded 19 Sept 2021
Hi Connie, Thank you for the lovely words. We are so glad that you saw more whales than kangaroos on the trip! We’re grateful to have Chris back on the team after the pandemic. Stay safe. Regards Hassie Owner Xplore Eyre
Read more
tonyeve255093 wrote a review Aug 2021
Adelaide, Australia2 contributions
Wonderful trip. Even though we were on a schedule we felt it was a relaxed trip with a small group. It would have been hard to organise something similar ourselves.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from HassieAWA, Owner at Untamed Escapes
Responded 22 Aug 2021
Thanks so much for the lovely review and I am so glad that you had a fantastic time on the 3 Day Head of Bight Whale Tour. Seeing all those magnificent Great Southern Right whales is always a powerful experience! Once again thank you for jumping on board with Xplore Eyre. Stay safe. Regards Hassie Owner Xplore Eyre
Read more
Ian_from_Canberra wrote a review Apr 2021
Canberra, Australia139 contributions14 helpful votes
This was an excellent, and fun, tour. Saw lots of interesting things. Highlights included swimming with the sea lions at Baird Bay, swimming at Talia Beach in the rockpools and an oyster picnic on the beach at Coffin Bay. Our guide, Altair, was great, entertaining and informative. Food was excellent, and our campsites were very good. I love camping in swags under the stars. We had a good group of 17 for the tour and we had loads of fun during our 6 days together. One glitch we had was the bus breaking down on day 1, but that was resolved with a replacement bus sent from Adelaide and we were on our way within a couple of hours. Its good to know that your tour company is capable of dealing effectively and quickly with problems like this. I'd happily travel with Nullabor Traveller again (eyeing off the Esperance trip sometime in the next year).
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from HassieAWA, Owner at Untamed Escapes
Responded 9 May 2021
Thanks for your great five-star review, Ian! It sounds you had an incredible time on the Eyre Peninsula & Flinders Ranges Adventure with Altair. Like all of our guides, he takes good care of passengers, ensuring you the trip of a lifetime! We are so sorry about the inconvenience with the bus. We have a strict compliance and maintenance program for our fleet but it is just one of those things that happen from time to time and we appreciate your understanding. Thank you again for jumping on board with Nullarbor Traveller, and we look forward to having you back on board one day! Hassie Owner Nullarbor Traveller
Read more
Ktm59 wrote a review Feb 2021
Cork, Ireland6 contributions10 helpful votes
We had a private full day tour of Port Lincoln with Beebs/Ian. My friends and I have all said this was by far the highlight of our South Australia trip! Beeb’s knowledge was amazing and he was so much fun we learned so much about the history of Port Lincoln and spent the whole day laughing. Our first stop was brilliant! We fed both birds and kangaroos from the palm of our hands it was an unforgettable experience. We tasted the most delicious fish at the fresh fish shop and saw the most spectacular sites of the National Park, places we never would have found on our own. We finished off the day spotting wild Koalas in the trees. 5/5 stars this trip is a must do if you are in Port Lincoln and it would have not have been as enjoyable without our brilliant tour guide. Thanks again Beebs Katie, Amy and Maeve
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HassieAWA, Owner at Untamed Escapes
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Thanks for your review, Katie. It was such a pleasure to have you on board with Beebs on our Port Lincoln Day Tour. You’ve summed up the unique and diverse experiences perfectly with our backyard on the Eyre Peninsula offering spectacular scenery, wildlife, seafood and local produce. Beebs is an incredible ambassador for the region, and we are happy you enjoyed his company! Until next time, thank you so much for jumping on board with Xplore Eyre. Hassie Owner Xplore Eyre
Read more
Previous
123456