We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairns Fishing Charter

Features Animals
Cairns, Australia
More
Travellers talk about

Cairns Fishing Charter
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
142Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 16
  • 5
  • 5
  • 43
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lisa S wrote a review Oct. 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
What a great morning out fishing with Russell. Our sons caught grunter and giant trevally along with a few other fish. We kept the grunter and took it along to Salt House (recommended by Russell) and they cooked it up for us 7 different ways! What an experience. Russell is really knowledgeable and did everything possible to find some awesome fishing spots. Highly recommend this trip. Watching him net the bait fish was great too. Highlight of our trip to Cairns. Thanks Russell!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventure22253580274, Owner at Cairns Fishing Charter
Responded 13 Oct. 2020
Hi Lisa Thanks very much for your kind words. It was a great day for fishing. I loved seeing how excited the boys got with each fish they caught. They are great little fishermen. The Salt House made a lovely meal out of the boys catch. Hope to see you all back out on the water again one day. Thanks Russell
Read more
Jeffrey G wrote a review Aug. 2020
Hervey Bay, Australia3 contributions4 helpful votes
this experience was certainly not worth $280 spent half the day moving around to new fishing spots, went no where near the reef, only a few fish caught, but on top of all that there was 14 passengers and three crew on this boat and which made it impossible to practice any form of social distancing, These businesses should make a total effort to help in this COVID19 era by cutting down there passenger numbers. All in all a terrible and because of the virus possibly a dangerous experience, never again.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventure22253580274, Owner at Cairns Fishing Charter
Responded 13 Oct. 2020
***** WRONG BUSINESS ***** Hi Jeffrey My name is Russell and I am the owner operator of the fishing business that you have commented on. I am sorry that you didn’t have a very good experience on the fishing trip that you went on. I would like to bring to your attention that you have commented on the wrong business. We are a small guided estuary fishing business that operates in Trinity Inlet, in protected waters, not out at the reef. We don’t carry 14 passengers. Our boat is surveyed to only carry 12 people. Due to COVID, I am only allowing 6 passengers on board to assist with social distancing and it’s been like this since February, I usually operate 2 departures each day, I am now only running 1. I certainly don’t have 3 crew members. It’s just myself as the skipper and on occasion, I have a relief skipper. My price is $95 not $280. I’ve checked my booking sheets and the register book that EVERY customer signs prior to departure and you definitely did not come out with my business. I’d really appreciate it if you would look into which company that you actually did go out with and take it up with them. Kind Regards Russell
Read more
Susan L wrote a review Jun. 2020
53 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We had a fantastic day out with Russ today. He is very knowledgeable about the area & such a great guy. He is the new owner of Gone Fishing & we would highly recommend him. We did an afternoon charter & caught a beautiful finger mark which Russ filleted & cleaned for us. Thanks Russ for a great day out, much appreciated, Wayne, Sue & Devon
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
RobertJ10 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Sydney, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
Went out with Russ today. Very experienced and knowledgable fisherman and more importantly a great person! We set out in the morning to catch some live bait and saw a croc on the way...I'm still getting my head around how wild and beautiful the Northern part of Australia is. We had a lot of action in some parts of the morning and other parts waiting around for some..that's fishing ya'll! Caught a couple Finger Marks and lost a few others. I was commenting to Russ about what a top morning I had and then BOOM right at the death of the session caught a beauty at 54cm which I had my hotel cook it up for me. Russ gutted and scaled the fish and was a professional throughout the session. We finished the session with an ice cold, you guessed it, Great Northern beer. Highly recommend anyone keen to fish in Cairns to go with Russ.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Martyandila wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution
We are experienced fisherman and were super happy going fishing with Russ. He is a knowledgeable and experienced fisherman.Russell cleaned our fish,caught live bait for us too. He could not have been more attentive and The boat was super comfortable with the owner is a pro! We caught fish! highly,highly reccomend- this guy loves what he does.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous