We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom

Features Animals
Marlin Marina, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4052 1111
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
USD 163.21*
and up
Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns
More Info
USD 163.21*
and up
Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Experience the passion of the Ocean Free and Freedom team! First class service with that friendly Ozzie touch! A luxury high speed 20M CAT "Ocean Freedom" to 2 stunning locations Upolu Cay and "Wonder Wall" on the GBR or a beautiful 16M sailing vessel "Ocean Free" to the famous Green Island + GBR . Personal tours carrying low passenger numbers offering more of a day out with "family and friends" than a "commercial tour".
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“green island” (235 reviews)
“upolu cay” (36 reviews)
LOCATION
Marlin Marina, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 7 4052 1111
Write a ReviewReviews (1,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"green island"
in 235 reviews
"the great barrier reef"
in 243 reviews
"upolu cay"
in 36 reviews
"fish"
in 192 reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 120 reviews
"fruit"
in 112 reviews
"scuba diving"
in 96 reviews
"sailing boat"
in 26 reviews
"cheese and crackers"
in 43 reviews
"day trip"
in 104 reviews
"these guys"
in 73 reviews
"prawns"
in 38 reviews
"crew members"
in 42 reviews
"plenty of food"
in 31 reviews
"reef sharks"
in 32 reviews
"great trip"
in 53 reviews
"food was great"
in 42 reviews
Filter

11 - 20 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The experience was awesome, team was friendly, fun and important is to continue check if we are stay okay. Plenty of food include light breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. The weather wasn't great on the way we sail to the island so we couldn't experience...More

Thank Linh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Manager at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Linh, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts. We're so glad you enjoyed the day, despite the weather! As you would have seen, the fish life and coral are still as amazing to see when snorkeling and diving no matter...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The trip was a truly unique and exceptional experience. For first time to experienced snorkelers and divers the trip was run by exceptional staff with thorough knowledge of the reef. The food was really good with a variety to suit most palates and dietary restrictions,...More

Thank Raelynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Manager at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Raelynn for your wonderful review, the crew here at Ocean Freedom really appreciate it! We love sharing your excitement the first time you explore the underwater world, and what better place to start than the Great Barrier Reef! Tammy and the rest of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More

Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, other at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The boat is big enough to cater up to 75 people, the staff were friendly, helpful and interactive and the scenes were spectacular!! One thing that can’t be planned for is weather and unfortunately the it was a bit of a wet and windy day...More

Thank Juan-Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, other at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us, it is much appreciated. Great to hear that you found the crew helpful and interactive. All our crew are handpicked and specially trained in providing the utmost customer service. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

We woke up to extremely heavy rain and made our way to the ocean freedom check in desk half expecting the tour to be cancelled due to weather, however it was not so me and my girlfriend made our way on to the boat along...More

Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Owner at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Joe and Charlotte, Thank you both for taking the time to write a review – we very much value all feedback . As we think you both travelled together on the same day and seem to have similar concerns we hope you don’t mind...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

This tour was tainted due to the awful weather- which I appreciate is out of anyone's control. We actually thought this tour would've been cancelled as the weather was so bad, but it still took place and all staff (bar the one) were in great...More

1  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Owner at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Joe and Charlotte, Thank you both for taking the time to write a review – we very much value all feedback . As we think you both travelled together on the same day and seem to have similar concerns we hope you don’t mind...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We really had a great time with the freedom crew out to GBR. The boat is really fast, so fast that topside can get really wet by water splashes from the boat, so stay down below if you don't wanna get wet in windy weather....More

Thank Markus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, other at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you kindly for this review, Markus. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us on the Reef, it is such a beautiful place. Sometimes the wind can blow some water on to the boat, luckily our boat has three levels...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

The tour and the crew were excellent. Intro dive was very professional. Thanks in particular to Lou!More

Thank amungiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Reservations at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for this review. We will pass on your kind words to Lou. She is very professional and funny at the same time, so going diving with her is always a pleasure. For those people that never went diving before our Introductory dive is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

More

Thank Scottie31750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Manager at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Tour was great, all included and exactly as promised. The crew guys simply amazing, funny, kind, professional and always looking after the Customer.More

Thank Giulio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanFreedom, Reservations at Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Giulio for taking your time to leave us this review, it is much appreciated. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the crew, they are our best asset and committed to providing for your every need, ensuring all guests have a memorable...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
123456150
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 63 hotels in Cairns
Hilton Cairns
2,383 reviews
.03 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
641 reviews
.14 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2,070 reviews
.17 km away
Pullman Cairns International
2,269 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tamarind
835 reviews
.19 km away
Vivaldis Restaurant
405 reviews
.24 km away
Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
2,141 reviews
.10 km away
Ochre Restaurant
286 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Green Island
1,845 reviews
.08 km away
The Reef Hotel Casino
559 reviews
.12 km away
Underart Gallery
28 reviews
.15 km away
Anzac Park
13 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mbbox
16 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Lauren J | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, really can’t answer this question. You would be better off contacting the company. There were people on our trip that we’re certified and some that were not but they all were able to dive. Don’t really know what... More
0
Votes
Sara R
12 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Tracy D | Reviewed this property |
our boat, did not have that many people on it, ours was very intimate and there were only 20 people max. we booked specifically so it wasn't the bigger crowd. the amount of people I'm sure will be down to what you book.
0
Votes
Floridasaltsiren
15 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from OceanFreedom | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. We can never promise that you get to see sharks, however the crew will try their best to locate some for you. There are a couple of spots on the reef where sharks like to hang out. Common sharks... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234567