We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 28 Doctors Gully Road, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 8 8981 7837
Website
Fee: Yes
Description:

Visit Aquascene at high tide when hundreds of fish approach the shore to be...

Visit Aquascene at high tide when hundreds of fish approach the shore to be fed by onlookers.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 75.99*
and up
Darwin Afternoon Sightseeing Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 494 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 174
    Excellent
  • 167
    Very good
  • 83
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Fish Feeding

We loved this experience to feed the fish. It was a bit rough to start with but when it calmed down it was great All the food is provided by the Staff. After traveling around... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Tanya H
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 484: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Fascinating to watch all the different kinds of fish and the games they get up to. A lot of fun to feed them by hand too!

Helpful?
Thank Maria S
Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a lovely hour here feeding the fish and really enjoyed it. Cheap way to entertain the family and also learn about the fish

Helpful?
Thank Rachael K
Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The grandkids had a great time feeding the fish, you can even get the fish to take the bread from your fingers. It was open 4pm to 6pm however we found 1 hour was enough.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this experience to feed the fish. It was a bit rough to start with but when it calmed down it was great All the food is provided by the Staff. After traveling around Australia I would have to say Australia is very expensive & it's not the staffs fault that is expensive or you happened to be there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

We have visited this attraction a number of times over the years in the dry season and enjoyed it so we brought our grandchildren who were from overseas to visit. It was a windy day, very few fish, abundance of floating bread and no commentary about the fish or commentary about how it developed. This attraction is costly, looking tired... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lesrauert
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Paid $30 for 2 people to get in and all we got to do was feed some bread to fish. Could have done that anywhere for free, ads made it look like you got in water and hand fed more variety's. Boyfriend loved patting them but I wouldn't have paid that amount if I'd known that was all you get

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

High tide and thousands of fish all into the bread which is supplied for you to use. The kid was happy for over an hour finding different types of fish to feed.

Helpful?
Thank mgrocks
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you both had a great dayt :-) More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

Its a bit pricey for what you get, but the facilities are nice and it's a well laid out area. We went on a very wet day and it was cloudy and couldn't see the fish very well. There is a person who stands up in the viewing area and explains what fish come in, and other various facts which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank adambR7027KD
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

HI Adam - thanks for the feedback - it definitely has been wild wet weather this past week with the monsoon rains but glad to hear you still had an interesting day with us. More 

Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

Great place to take the kids. Make sure you take towels. They also have the most amazing marble statues ive ever seen.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki Z
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Nikki - glad you had a great time! More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

Fish feeding at Doctors Gully is one of our favourite family experiences in Darwin!! We arrived with approx. 20mins to spare and most people were leaving, so we were charged half price as there wasn’t much time left- bonus. Can’t rave about the staff enough, so friendly and clearly passionate about the safety of the animals which was lovely to... More 

Helpful?
Thank BuffaloJade
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post such an informative review and we are all really glad you and your family had such a great time :-) More 

Travellers who viewed Aquascene also viewed

 

Been to Aquascene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Aquascene and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Aquascene staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?