Indian Pacific

Indian Pacific, Sydney: Address, Phone Number, Indian Pacific Reviews: 4/5

Indian Pacific
4
About
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Tours and Tickets
Popular mentions

4.0
127 reviews
Excellent
68
Very good
32
Average
12
Poor
10
Terrible
5

Wendy0710
Melbourne, Australia47 contributions
Amazing food and great service on the Indian Pacific
Mar. 2021 • Friends
We travelled from Sydney to Perth and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The staff were fabulous, especially Zane, Kayla and Kate who looked after us all so well. The menu options were lovely and the trip was relaxing. Enjoyed the off train excursions including the Living Desert sculptures in Broken Hill, Coriole Vineyard McLaren Vale and dinner at the lovely Star of Greece restaurant.
Written 1 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

peteraot13
Sydney, Australia22 contributions
Disappointing Experience.
Mar. 2021 • Couples
Disappointing experience.
We traveled in Gold Class from Perth to Sydney in March 2021. The first stop was at Kalgoorlie where the train arrives at 10pm on Sunday night. The included tour was not announced when the train arrived meaning a number of guests were left on the train at the station. Those who went on the tour said everything was closed or not visible in the dark.
The comfort level in the cabin was second rate and the train suspension was more suited to a freight train. Sleep was difficult.
The off train stops at Rawlinga and Cook were basic and short. There were no tours as there is nothing there.
The stop at Adelaide was pleasant, we did a walking tour for a few hours. The next stop that day was for a few hours in Broken Hill. We had seen the art galleries on a previous trip so the only other choice was a hotel “drag show”. It was basic. There are better options available in the limited time available for the Indian Pacific to arrange for their guests such as the Line of Lode lookout, museums or a walking tour of the historic buildings.
The final tour before arrival in Sydney was in Katoomba, to see the Echo Point Lookout and the Scenic World skyway. As there was a thick fog the views were not possible although the talk about the heritage area was interesting.
The food and drinks menu was good although the last night main course was just warm. We were told there was new staff members on the trip from Perth to Adelaide.
In Gold Class it is not possible to have a forward facing seat from Perth to Sydney. Our cabin faced forward from Perth to Adelaide, but the engines were placed at the opposite end in Adelaide so we faced backwards from Adelaide to Sydney. Perhaps Platinum Class would not have this issue but this was not available when we booked.
We had travelled on the Ghan from Adelaide to Darwin 6 months ago and it was a more enjoyable trip.
Written 22 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chrissie R
Fairlight, UK257 contributions
Loved The Indian Pacific Experience
Aug. 2019
Really enjoyed this experience, please note is was a few years ago, and I'm just updating some of my journeys around the world, my partner and myself have been to Australia thirteen times, travelling around it by many means, flying, car and the greyhound. So we treated ourselves to travelling 1st class the the Indian Pacific. From Sydney to Perth. The food was excellent. We just loved the experience
Written 2 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Traveller
1 contribution
Not worth the money
Mar. 2020 • Couples
Travelled on Indian pacific in March. The photos look much better than it actually is. The cost of the journey is not worth the experience. For almost £900 per day (for a couple) you can do soooo much more!
Also, important to mention, our friends booked Indian Pacific a couple weeks later than us, but Journey beyond had cancelled it due to covid. Our friends are going through a nightmare trying to get the refund, while Journey beyond ignores or blocks any communications. We feel terrible for recommending this journey to them and would not recommend it to anyone again. Journey Beyond even removed their name from Trust Pilot so no-one could leave a review about them.
People have to take legal action to get their money back.
It’s also close to bankruptcy, so there is even more chances to not get your money back when they go out of business.
Written 27 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

George H
Newcastle, Australia1 contribution
Cavort emptor; buyer beware Discover Australia!
Nov. 2019
The Indian Pacific holiday was my wife’s much anticipated bucket list item, sadly it ended without even leaving home. As pensioners the lure of the “early bird” price was too enticing to be ignored. As early bird bookings pre-date all details when the package price is finalised ,after several months ,there is the realisation that the total cost was far removed from the advertised price. The final straw was being asked for another $2,100 for flights and accommodation: this is included in the advertised price. We were asked to see and send this amount so that the bookings could be confirmed. An assessment of the four star accommodation and airfares showed that we could stay in five star accommodation, book our own airfares at a total cost os$1400! Communication with Discover Australia with whom we booked was extremely difficult. Once we started to question the costs it became impossible. In the end we lost $2700 out of the $11,200 that we had paid. I have since read reviews that clearly show similar problems are being experienced by others. We acknowledge that cancellations attract a 20% deduction. Discover Australia include all items wether they had booked them or not(refer accommodation air fares).
Their approach sadly reflects very poorly on travel within Australia, fortunately they are not typical of most in the industry.
Written 28 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tom B
United Kingdom4 contributions
The worst experience ever
Mar. 2020
We have just returned to England following a holiday in Australia, and part of that trip was on the Indian Pacific.

Perth to Sydney – 1st March 2020

GSR Booking Ref. GSRI 191013

Gold Twin – Upgraded to Platinum Level at Perth Station

Cabin 5G Costing an extra AU$ 1666.00. This was not value for money in the slightest.
(this does not include the fare for the total trip)


We feel we have been mugged regardless of being in Gold or Platinum, on average we got about two hours sleep a night, this is because of being constantly thrown about quite badly in our beds and the noise of the train, we were above the wheels of the carriage but why have a top class cabin above the wheels that make so much noise. The train driver seem to insist travelling at high speed at night but on the occasions when the train slowed a bit, the quality of travel was so much improved.

The attendants from Perth to Adelaide were very good but only one of the attendants from Adelaide to Sydney was excellent, his name was Jason, the others need some retraining.

On the evening of the Adelaide to Sydney section, my wife ordered a pork dish for dinner, this came out undercooked, this was highlighted and was told by the attendant Phoebe that this how the chef cooks it, did my wife want it cooked more and of course yes, it was returned to table and banged down and told “try that” and walked off, didn’t come back to see if everything was now satisfactory, so much for high quality service.

On a number of occasions food was returned to the kitchen as it was only warm and not hot and this was after requesting that could our dinners come out hot, it can be done.

On the last morning after coming back from breakfast we had to wait outside our room because the room was being made up but not just putting the beds up, the beds were being made ready to the next customers coming on board, this is really quite unacceptable.

The excursions offered were really quite disappointing, why go to a gold open cast mine in the dark when you cannot see anything. The rest of excursions we felt were very poor!



We paid a lot of money for this trip and basically it was not value for money, we have rated this trip amount the worst we have ever had and feel that some form of compensation should be offered.

We have just returned to England following a holiday in Australia, and part of that trip was on the Indian Pacific.

Perth to Sydney – 1st March 2020

GSR Booking Ref. GSRI 191013

Gold Twin – Upgraded to Platinum Level at Perth Station

Cabin 5G Costing an extra AU$ 1666.00. This was not value for money in the slightest.



We feel we have been mugged regardless of being in Gold or Platinum, on average we got about two hours sleep a night, this is because of being constantly thrown about quite badly in our beds and the noise of the train, we were above the wheels of the carriage but why have a top class cabin above the wheels that make so much noise. The train driver seem to insist travelling at high speed at night but on the occasions when the train slowed a bit, the quality of travel was so much improved.

The attendants from Perth to Adelaide were very good but only one of the attendants from Adelaide to Sydney was excellent, his name was Jason, the others need some retraining.

On the evening of the Adelaide to Sydney section, my wife ordered a pork dish for dinner, this came out undercooked, this was highlighted and was told by the attendant Phoebe that this how the chef cooks it, did my wife want it cooked more and of course yes, it was returned to table and banged down and told “try that” and walked off, didn’t come back to see if everything was now satisfactory, so much for high quality service.

On a number of occasions food was returned to the kitchen as it was only warm and not hot and this was after requesting that could our dinners come out hot, it can be done.

On the last morning after coming back from breakfast we had to wait outside our room because the room was being made up but not just putting the beds up, the beds were being made ready to the next customers coming on board, this is really quite unacceptable.

The excursions offered were really quite disappointing, why go to a gold open cast mine in the dark when you cannot see anything. The rest of excursions we felt were very poor!



We paid a lot of money for this trip and basically it was not value for money, we have rated this trip amount the worst we have ever had and feel that some form of compensation should be offered.



We travelled on many trains around world, these have been brilliant but the Indian Pacific sadly lacked a positive review. Indian Pacific on a scale to 100, this would rate 10!

Look forward to some positive feedback from you.

Kind RegardsWe travelled on many trains around world, these have been brilliant but the Indian Pacific sadly lacked a positive review. Indian Pacific on a scale to 100, this would rate 10!

Look forward to some positive feedback from you.

Kind Regards

Response from Indian PacificThank you for your email I apologise for not getting back to you sooner, we have just returned to work 1 day a fortnight as of today and I thank your for your patience.



Once again we apologise for the disappointment of your journey, we strive to provide an exception guest experience and I have forwarded this email to the Journey Manager Heath and he was the journeys crew leader to discuss with his team.



We are implementing further platinum training to our staff throughout this time to help improve every aspect of our service as we do take all feedback very seriously.



In regards to the carriages all of our platinum sleeping carriages have been recently refurbished however we do apologise if you didn’t feel comfortable in your cabin.



As I mentioned before we are still in a stand down period which has been extended until the end of July 2020 and we do not have authorisation to provide compensation. We are doing all we can during this time to ensure the experience your received will not be repeated.



I hope you are staying safe through this time.
Written 25 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KymG
4 contributions
Disappointment and wasted dollars
Mar. 2020 • Couples
We travelled on what ended up being the last trip the Indian Pacific did before voluntarily shutting down. We paid for platinum from Perth to Sydney. The staff were good and the champagne was cold but the value for money was not present. We got a second class trip, management decided not to travel all the way through to Sydney even though there was no restriction on doing so. Then offered some full credit and others who didnt book directly through Journey Beyond partial credit for the portion they decided not to provide. Absolutely self serving and the inconsistency and lack of transparency has been appalling. Don't even bother! There is so much more you could do with the money in Australia and have a wonderful time not being left feeling like you were ripped off.
Written 24 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PhilYass
Yass, Australia144 contributions
Don’t set expectations to high in Platinum
Jan. 2020 • Couples
We travelled from Sydney to Perth in January 2020 linking up with a cruise (first and last) at the end. Expectations were very high given the excellent Ghan trip a few years ago travelling Gold class, so travelling Platinum was going to be something to remember.
The food and dining experience was just what we had expected, including the Bollinger bubbly at the bar and free access to the bar at any time.
The cabins were excellent (a double) but be warned that on the NSW section the side to side rocking will throw you about a bit, whereas the single bunks lie across the train and not lengthwise, so the effect is not as disruptive. Double beds have their lengthwise axis along and not cross-ways.
The Broken Hill Excursion was rushed( the train didn’t leave Sydney till at least 45 minutes from the stated time and the fires slowed the travel across the mountains due to ongoing post-bushfire repairs to tracks). The effect was to really make the early morning rise and fuss less than ideal.

The Adelaide excursions were excellent and really enjoyed the visit ( plus food and wine) of the McLaren Vale area.
The trip to Perth from Adelaide differs from the Ghan experience (which is mostly travel at night and daylong excursions) with lots of chance to sit and watch the vastness of the continent slip by.
We began however, to notice there were some issues that detracted from the experience and these began with the morning coffee delivery to our cabin. The Ghan staff could be relied upon to deliver at the time initially agreed upon at the start of the journey. That arrangement didn’t seem to work on the IP and so when coffee didn’t arrive , you’d go to the kitchen on the car and do it yourself, only to find another cup arriving at some later but varied time.
Our car ran out of water because at one of the stops to fill up, the staff didn’t check the taps on the car kitchen ( which were left on) so the tanks drained as they were filled.
The effect was to have about 8 hours when the toilets wouldn’t flush and there was no bathroom water for washing. The Platinum Staff didn’t seem to grasp the inconvenience of this issue until some time later and although multiple effusive apologies were eventually made, they failed to effectively communicate with us early in the piece and inform us of a solution.
In summary, the laidback approach ( or inexperience) of the Platinum staff especially in relation to effective communication with travellers paying $1000+ each per day, was sufficient to make us wonder whether going the extra bit to travel Platinum was worth it, as our Ghan experience showed us that the staff tried much harder (and very effectively) what a good experience could be had.
I think that the staff we had were not up to providing a stress-free and thoroughly enjoyable experience like we thought we paid for.

Written 24 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anita
Laceby, UK100 contributions
Highlight of my UK to Australia Trip
Dec. 2019
I was lucky enough to complete a trip of a lifetime after sailing from the U.K. to Sydney with the last leg of the journey on the Indian Pacific from Sydney to Perth. I was completely blown away by the attention to detail on every level, far exceeded my expectations. The customer services was faultless, from the minute you checked in to the minute you disembarked. I opted for a gold class cabin, cosy space which converted into your sleeping area at night, small and compact but again every detail has been carefully thought through. All the excursions are included and I chose the wine region tour in Adelaide, visiting two winery’s offering fabulous food and endless wine tasting, dinner was taken at the winery before boarding the train for a nightcap with our fellow travellers. Dinner under the stars the following evening was also pretty special. The social hub is the bar, serving a variety of drinks and the food was tempting on every level, all included in your fare. The staff work so hard to meet your every need. I can not fault my trip on the Indian Pacific and am now planning when I can do the Ghan, definitely got the bug.
Written 11 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ian K
Thatcham, UK49 contributions
A little disappointed! But overall an interesting experience!
Feb. 2020
We went from Adelaide to Sydney, with a gold double cabin! Bunk beds! Very narrow compartment, which was fine, but sleeping? I had the top bunk, reached by ladder!
I am not claustrophobic, but the top bunk was 4 foot from the ceiling, also the train lurched and bumped much more that expected! However, the lounge area and the food on board was excellent. Unfortunately both our stop overs were cancelled, the train delayed for medical emergency, and a land slide! But interesting and good!
Written 6 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 127
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing