We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Torbay Express Limited

Giddynap Lane | Stag House, Inchbrook GL5 5EZ, England
+44 1453 834477
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
First class price with second class equipment

A great day out on the Torbay Express today 19-8-18 spoiled by faulty equipment. We paid for first... read more

Reviewed today
mjb2608
,
leicester
via mobile
An amazing day, wonderful experience

We have today been on the Torbay Express from Bristol Temple Meads to Kingswear/Dartmouth Via... read more

Reviewed today
Lorraine H
,
Bristol
via mobile
Read all 88 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good7%
  • Average0%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“return journey” (13 reviews)
“first class” (21 reviews)
“steam engine” (10 reviews)
LOCATION
Giddynap Lane | Stag House, Inchbrook GL5 5EZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1453 834477
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"return journey"
in 13 reviews
"first class"
in 21 reviews
"steam engine"
in 10 reviews
"tea and coffee"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 4 reviews
"service was excellent"
in 3 reviews
"return leg"
in 2 reviews
"cooked breakfast"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 4 reviews
"couldn't fault"
in 2 reviews
"temple meads"
in 6 reviews
"the entire experience"
in 2 reviews
"danish pastry"
in 3 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 2 reviews
"heart attack"
in 2 reviews
"comfortable seating"
in 2 reviews
"torbay express"
in 43 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 88 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

A great day out on the Torbay Express today 19-8-18 spoiled by faulty equipment. We paid for first class seats which is what we got but in a carriage that wasn’t up to the job. First of all the PA system didn’t work so everything...More

Thank mjb2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today via mobile

We have today been on the Torbay Express from Bristol Temple Meads to Kingswear/Dartmouth Via Paignton on the steam train. The crowds that came out to see this wonderful train steam through the countryside were a sight to see. The train was clean, prompt and...More

Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous day out Early start and late return as stated Really friendly staff , lots of fun with them all Started out very cold at 4-40am but the carriage soon warmed up Unfortunately the water was cold for refreshments but this was soon resolved and...More

Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorbayExpress, Manager at Torbay Express Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Catherine, Thank you for posting your review your trip with our sister company Pathfinder Tours. I will pass on your comments to all concerned. I am glad that you enjoyed your day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm not entirely sure whether I should be writing a review for Torbay Express or Pathfinder Tours but they seem to share the same location and appear related companies... My trip on the Settle and Carlisle Railway has just been postponed. The new dates aren't...More

Thank Pete112211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorbayExpress, Manager at Torbay Express Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The Torbay Express is a sister company to Pathfinder Tours, but is an entirely separate company. The cancelling of excursions by either company is very much a last resort and something that we are very loathe to do. It generally happens when events beyond our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite a disaster i'm afraid.... train broke down early into the journey, we then waited 3 hours for a replacement. We had approximately one hour in York the train then left early due to angry passengers... hence we missed it! We then had to literally...More

Thank Selina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorbayExpress, Manager at Torbay Express Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Selina, I understand from our sister company, Pathfinder Tours, that your refund was processed on 24 July and that you have confirmed it has been received in your bank account. I would be very grateful if you would be kind enough to update your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, we did not get the steam experience as a crucial member of the crew had a heart attack and they were unable to get a replacement. That cannot be helped and fortunately the gentleman is recovering according the the information I received. So the...More

Thank Purrinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorbayExpress, Manager at Torbay Express Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very glad that you enjoyed your day out on the Torbay Express despite the problems. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We did this before 4 years ago and loved it. The trip behind a superb Clan Line on 3rd June this year did not disappoint. Travel was in Standard Class but the 4 of us had a table and beautiful views of trip via Bath,...More

Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorbayExpress, Manager at Torbay Express Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

So glad that you all enjoyed your day out on the Torbay Express and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Travelled on 3rd June 2018. What a fabulous day out. We were behind the superb Clanline which performed faultlessly all day. The Torbay stewards were very welcoming and friendly and obviously enjoy what they are doing. We travelled First class and were treated to copious...More

Thank ShirlTurner6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorbayExpress, Manager at Torbay Express Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip aboard the Torbay Express behind Clan Line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Travelled on the train on 10 September and really enjoyed the old fashioned experience and first class service. It was very wet and we were able to get back on the train early and dry off. Will definitely go on it again.

Thank PickityWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorbayExpress, Manager at Torbay Express Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Glad you enjoyed your day out with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Just returned from an excellent day out, picked up at Coventry 8am and returned 8.50pm exactly on time. Spent a lovely 2 hours in Shrewsbury. Then onto Llandrindod and Llandovery via the Welsh central line, returning to Coventry via Cardiff , Newport and Cheltenham. A...More

Thank MJS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorbayExpress, Manager at Torbay Express Limited, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your review of our sister company 'Pathfinder Tours'. We are pleased that you enjoyed your day out with them and will pass on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
618 reviews
1.38 km away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
905 reviews
1.83 km away
Burleigh Court Hotel
279 reviews
2.45 km away
The Priory
6 reviews
3.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Black Horse
228 reviews
.73 km away
The Olive Tree Mediterranean Restaurant & Pizzeria
603 reviews
1.54 km away
Williams Food Hall
247 reviews
1.55 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel and Restaurant
330 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Woodchester Valley Vineyard
23 reviews
.85 km away
Hands on Bushcraft
33 reviews
1.35 km away
The New Lawn Stadium
7 reviews
1.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
spp2408
15 February 2018|
Answer
Response from TorbayExpress | Property representative |
If you would like to guarantee a table for two for your parents you can reserve one at an additional cost of £28 per person.
0
Votes
Zoe P
19 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TorbayExpress | Property representative |
If you do not have your Boarding Passes for whatever reason it is not a problem as the Stewards will have always have a list of all the passengers booked to travel on that particular train and will be able to check your... More
0
Votes
paul b
30 May 2017|
Answer
Response from TorbayExpress | Property representative |
Hi Paul, Thank you for your enquiry. Our use of heritage rolling stock can, regretfully, limit accessibility. The Torbay Express Team
0
Votes