We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Segedunum

2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6HR, England
+44 191 236 9347
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A mixed bag

I've never been so split in terms of reviewing an attraction. There are things about Segedunum that... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Stuart C
via mobile
Excellent visit

We took the metro to Wallsend and the site is close by and well sign posted. The information center... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Peach P
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Read all 183 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good42%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“bath house” (34 reviews)
“roman fort” (26 reviews)
LOCATION
2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6HR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 236 9347
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I've never been so split in terms of reviewing an attraction. There are things about Segedunum that are so well down, but these are countered by a number of thing needing improvement. The good things, the staff are really friendly, tea and cake in the...More

Thank Stuart C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took the metro to Wallsend and the site is close by and well sign posted. The information center with displays, museum, coffee shop, souvenir shop and wonderful tower to view the site from on high is a must. In the site viewing area is...More

Thank Peach P
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Thank you very much for your positive comments about your visit to Segedunum. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So glad we went. It's a great museum with lots of interesting things in it. The view of the fort from the tower was spectacular and the video showing the development of Wallsend was very good. Discounted admission if one has a Wall walk passport...More

Thank Dave B
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Segedunum. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been before- but was amazed to see the remains of the collapsed Hadrian's wall now fully displayed- this is outside the main fort site- near the reconstruction of the wal- well worth a visit. The site itself is so well maintained- and the medicinal...More

Thank Schadla-Hall T
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Thank you very much for your review of your visit to Segedunum. We're very proud of the newly consolidated stretch of Hadrian's Wall, indeed the whole museum. I am sorry that you were unable to access the bathhouse - this is for essential maintenance...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You can’t come to Wallends and not pay a visit to the remains of the Roman Fort that gives the place its name. Not only does the visitor centre focus on the Roman story, it looks at the history of the area through the Industrial...More

Thank LennyBanter
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for your review of Segedunum. I understand your disappointment of missing out on the bathhouse; this is for essential maintenance and hence we have reduced the entry as you mention. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. I will pass your positive comments...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Stopped here after walking from Tynemouth. The staff were really helpful. Cafe food was reasonably priced. Merchandise for Hadrian's Wall was a little pricey but good

Thank Con_and_Julie
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hello Thank you very much for your review. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Segedunum is a roman fort and museum in Wallsend 5 minutes from Wallsend metro station. Well worth a visit. Series of talks and exhibitions over the summer. Todays talk was by John O'Rourke who constructed the metal statue of Sentius Tectonicus on display at Segedunum....More

Thank Michael H
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Hello Mike Thank you very much for your review of your visit to Segedunum. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself, and we hope to see you again. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Drove for 2 hours to come here thinking that there would be a substantial part of Hadrian's wall. Oh I was wrong. It was a rock. Hadrian's rock, not a wall which was annoying. The rock that had the builders names on was interesting. The...More

Thank charlied321
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Segedunum. I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. Segedunum does include an 80 metre stretch of the foundations of Hadrian’s Wall, which is in parts several courses high, and is...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017

I like Roman History; my wife likes Roman History. We know that Roman sites cannot be located in idyllic settings with unlimited resources. We were prepared for the surroundings of Segedunum. This ranks as an extremely poor example of how to "package" Rome in northern...More

Thank David S
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hello Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to Segedunum Roman Fort and for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am sorry you and your wife had such a disappointing experience when you visited the museum and site, especially since...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I came here last year with our 8 year old son. It was nice and quiet for us, ( I think we just hit on very lucky). My son made a Roman coin and their was a lot of activities for children...More

Thank Ginbigg
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Thank you for your review - I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sopranos Italian Restaurant
192 reviews
.43 km away
The Willow
60 reviews
.82 km away
Mambos II
201 reviews
1.54 km away
Costa Coffee
14 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Role Play
8 reviews
2.12 km away
Gala Bingo Wallsend
18 reviews
2.87 km away
Centurion Park Golf Course
10 reviews
1.01 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
hermiony199510
Are there any updates regarding the bath house, such as when it should reopen?
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TyneandWearMuseums | Property representative |
Hi, No we do not have a confirmed re-opening dates for the bath house at the moment. It is still closed for essential maintenance. Best wishes - Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager.
0
Votes