We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 4152 Locust Lane | Lincoln, Beamsville, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1B0, Canada
Phone Number: +1 905-563-8700
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 17:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 50 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 24
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Wine tasting weekend

We had a last minute opportunity to visit the Beamsville area and enjoy some wine tastings. We were both looking forward to visiting Hidden Bench again. It has a great location... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Heather A
,
Durham, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a last minute opportunity to visit the Beamsville area and enjoy some wine tastings. We were both looking forward to visiting Hidden Bench again. It has a great location, ambience with a wood burning fire place that we were fortunate to enjoy with this visit to take the chill off the day! Their wines are outstanding and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather A
HMT2015, Owner at Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent tasting experience at Hidden Bench. I am sorry that it was not at the usual high-level you have come to expect from our team, unfortunately the staff member you mentioned was suffering from a bad cold last weekend as she is usually very up-beat, informative,and engaging, sadly this was not reflected... More 

Concord Township, OH
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stopped by Hidden Bench during the Pinot Affair. We did not have a reservation for a tasting, but we were able to taste the pinots and some other wines while we were there. The wines were exceptional. I wish we would have had more time to stay but we will certainly be back next year. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Michele610
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

This gem was outstanding. The wines and the charcuterie & cheese plate were excellent, the patio had a beautiful view of a vineyard, and the service was attentive and friendly. We found the wines of top quality, obvious a lot of care and attention to detail. Also we love a winery that serves the wine in first class stemware. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vaughan B
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
358 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

The setting of this vineyard is very pretty. Tastings are quite expensive compared to other vineyards in the area. Wines were also on the pricey side, with none that we found to be outstanding for the price.

Helpful?
Thank NancyOO7
HMT2015, Owner at Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your visit to HB. Our tasting policy and the price of our wines reflect the premium quality of the products we offer and the associated production costs of our wines. More 

Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful winery. Didnt get to spend as much time as we would have liked. Will definitely go back and give a better chance. We were in too much of a hurry

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

A few good wines (we bought three bottles of the late harvest) were nicely described with patience to our amateur questions by a very nice host. Seating only for glasses of wine not tasting, which was awkward.

Helpful?
Thank philandwei
HMT2015, Owner at Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review

Thanks very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent visit to Hidden Bench. We are pleased you enjoyed the wines. I was surprised about your comment regarding a seated tasting area as we have our enclosed veranda which is used for this type of tasting but requires a prior reservation. We hope to see you back at HB in... More 

Fort erie ontario
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

Spent a hot summer afternoon sitting on the patio and enjoying a glass of Pino Noir and shared a wonderful charcuterie tray. Beautiful view of the vineyards. Very quiet, relaxing setting. Pinot Noir was excellent. Staff attentive. Owners were present and very friendly. First time to visit and taste the wine. Definitely a hidden treasure. Will return to Hidden Bench... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
HMT2015, Owner at Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent experience at HB. We look forward to seeing you back on the Bench in the near future. Cheers! More 

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped at Hidden Bench on a recent tour of the Escarpment wine region. What a great find. A group of six of us spent a lot of time here chatting with the knowledgeable and fun staff about their wines, the region and other wineries. Special shout out to Alex who had so much passion about the wine and took... More 

Helpful?
Thank mac2476
HMT2015, Owner at Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed your visit to HB and that Alex took such great care of you and that you enjoyed our wines! Thanks for the visit. More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016

I love their wines - they are truly excellent, in multiple varietals. The tastings and the experience there have been a step below the best, but still pleasant. Some of the issues -- they seem really focused on profiting from the tastings themselves (vs the sales of wine that comes as a result). I always feel like the cost is... More 

Helpful?
Thank MGoClub
HMT2015, Owner at Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent visit to HB. I am pleased that you enjoyed our wines and had a good experience. As a small premium winery our tasting policy of charging 10 dollars to taste 4 wines with appropiate glassware for each is done purely on a cost recovery basis and not as a profit generator.... More 

Hamilton,ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016

My husband and I recently took a drive to Vineland to sample some Ontario wines. We stopped at a few wineries and moved on as they had their hours posted at their entrance and we didn't have enough time before they closed. Hidden Bench did not have their times posted so we decided to give the winery a try. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank shebehamilton
HMT2015, Owner at Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment. I personnally was the person who indicated to you and your husband at 6:10 that we close at 6:00 pm and that you needed to slowly finish your glasses of wine so that our staff could get home by 7:00pm. I do not believe that this I was rude in... More 

Travellers who viewed Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hidden Bench Vineyards & Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?