We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Relax and enjoy

It was a relaxing cruise tour. The boat does not move very fast so you could enjoy the cool breeze... read more

Reviewed 21 May 2018
Emily L
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Inexpensive, suitable for all ages and abilities

I was recently part of a large group (40+) comprised of small children and adults ranging in... read more

Reviewed 25 April 2018
Jessica_Roams
,
Adelaide, Australia
Read all 116 reviews
68
All photos (68)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the river”(26 reviews)
“value for money”(11 reviews)
About
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Queens Wharf, Commercial Road, Port Adelaide, South Australia 5015, Australia
Website
+61 8 8447 2366
Call
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
56
37
15
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
56
37
15
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin explorerthe rivervalue for moneyrelaxing cruiseinformative commentarysaw dolphinsper adultcouple of hoursgreat family daygreat valueindustrial areatwo hourstop deckrunning commentaryhelpful crewmain mealopen sea
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A well organized cruise down the Port River with a commentary full of fun facts that will amaze you. Dolphins might show an appearance( usally do) or may not which is fine. One of South Australia's great tourist activities and definitely value for money..

Thank Eileenj65
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

It was a relaxing cruise tour. The boat does not move very fast so you could enjoy the cool breeze. However, the dolphins are quite hard to see though, since most of the time they're submerged under the water.

2  Thank Emily L
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor. We are glad you were able to relax and enjoy the breeze.

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We took my mum on here for lunch with my sisters and family. We had a meal and I ordered the the crumbed calamari. Very disappointed that it wasn’t real calamari but artificial stuff. We are in Port Adelaide and there is seafood on your...More

Thank Julie0815
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hello Julie0815 I'm sorry you are disappointed with the calamari on the $12 menu. We also have Salt and Pepper Squid on the menu at approximately $15, this would be what you were looking for as 'real' calamari. The Calamari that you had is real...More

Reviewed 25 April 2018

I was recently part of a large group (40+) comprised of small children and adults ranging in abilities (ages 0-80). As a volunteer, I was conscious of how our group would be able to purchase tickets and get around the boat. The process was very...More

1  Thank Jessica_Roams
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your review Jessica_Roams we are glad that your group was able to have an enjoyable day out and that the dolphins were around hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

there are cruise only/ cruise in combination with lunch in 1.5 hour/ 2 hours/2.5 hours to choose - longest one take you through the last point of the river open to the ocean.there are more thN 20 stations to learn and watch the dolphin along...More

1  Thank jajavalB
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you jajavalB we hope to see you again in the future and hope the weather is better next time

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

If you want to occupy yourself for a couple of hours undertaking a pleasant and relaxing activity, then give this a go. It's cheap, you'll receive a friendly welcome on board and you enjoy it. There are some dolphins thrown in and yes it's not...More

Thank MarkNob
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

thank you MarkNob glad you enjoyed your cruise

Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

We took the 2-hour dolphin cruise. $10ea per adult. You could purchase a meal package for an additional $12ea. We purchased snacks on board. It is not expensive, very reasonably priced and great value for 2 hours entertainment. The captain pointed out sights along the...More

Thank Liztrippingout
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for highly recommending the Dolphin Explorer Liztrippingout! we hope to see you again

Reviewed 7 February 2018

Enjoy this cruise with lunch. Great meal, great value. Lots of dolphins to see whilst enjoying the meal, the wine and the cruise.

Thank Obanini1
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed all that is on offer on the Dolphin Explorer Obanini1!

Reviewed 5 February 2018

Very easy to book or reserve tickets, a bit of a line to board but then there seemed to be a lot of people taking the Sunday cruise. Sat on the top deck and got a good view, although very difficult to hear the commentary...More

Thank margaret l
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Glad you and your group all enjoyed the cruise and the food. We look forward to you returning in the future margaret l

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Just us and our 3yo grandson, excellent fish and chips for lunch (plenty of other choices as well), good sound system allowed us to enjoy the very informative commentary; staff provided cheerful and friendly service. Even the dolphins cooperated and “guided” us for part of...More

Thank Silver_tourists2014
The_Dolphin_Explorer, Manager at Dolphin Explorer Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

We pleased that you enjoyed the dolphins, food and commentary. We hope to see again in the future

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Largs Pier Hotel - Motel
205 reviews
2.47 km away
Lakes Resort Hotel
321 reviews
4.46 km away
Lindy Lodge Motel
63 reviews
5.62 km away
Adelaide Manor
108 reviews
8.85 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 47 restaurants in Port Adelaide
Birkenhead Tavern
242 reviews
.26 km away
Low & Slow American BBQ
125 reviews
.12 km away
The Lighthouse Wharf Hotel
134 reviews
.09 km away
The British Hotel Port Adelaide
128 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 36 attractions in Port Adelaide
South Australian Maritime Museum
208 reviews
.20 km away
National Railway Museum Port Adelaide
260 reviews
.51 km away
South Australian Aviation Museum
133 reviews
.93 km away
Port Adelaide Visitor Information Centre
26 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MrsMarnieD85
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from The_Dolphin_Explorer | Property representative |
Hello Apologies for the late reply. Dolphins are resident in the river all year round. There is no better time specifically to view them. They are wild so therefore no guarantee to see them, however it is rare not to... More
0
Votes
anniestevenson
7 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from PSaultry | Reviewed this property |
Yes there were plenty of children of all ages onboard having a good time.
0
Votes