We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ugly Duckling Wines

7790 West Swan Rd, West Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
+61 428 349 855
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Tasty food

It was a public holiday so a 10% surcharge was the order of the day. It was a warm day mid 30's... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jason B
,
Mandurah, Australia
via mobile
Wonderful Winery!

My husband and I stopped by this winery during our two days in WA during our honeymoon. We loved... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Samantha421
,
Rhode Island
Read all 125 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Ugly Duckling Wines is a small boutique vineyard and cellar door located in the heart of the Swan Valley. We pride ourselves in offering premium wines, all hand-picked and locally crafted, coupled with old fashioned personal touch. While you are here, indulge in a mouth-watering gourmet pie made by the Bindoon Bakehaus, alongside a fresh garden salad. Using our wines in the steak, mushroom and shiraz pie and the chicken, leek and chardonnay pie, you will not be disappointed! Or be tempted by our delicious cheese and meat platters while you relax and soak up the fantastic views across the Swan Valley to the Perth hills. We also have a small selection of beautifully crafted cheese boards made from wine barrels, olives, olive oil and linen napkins with funky duck designs now available for sale. So come and enjoy tasting our wines and indulging your taste buds when you visit our charming, rustic cottage at 7790 West Swan Road. We look forward to seeing you soon.
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good30%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (14 reviews)
“live music” (13 reviews)
“salad” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:00 - 16:00
LOCATION
7790 West Swan Rd, West Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 428 349 855

Similar Things to Do in West Swan

Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a public holiday so a 10% surcharge was the order of the day. It was a warm day mid 30's. We had not booked, arriving around 1pm to find plenty of tables. The menu is limited to nibbles where you can choose from...More

Thank Jason B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stopped by this winery during our two days in WA during our honeymoon. We loved it! The woman who helped us (whose name I have sadly forgotten, but I know she's originally from New Zealand) was amazing! She was very friendly,...More

Thank Samantha421
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Samantha Jasmine was absolutely delighted you had such a wonderful time. She said you were a lovely couple and we hope you had a fabulous honeymoon. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, enjoy the wine and we do hope...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Casual - great platters with very good quality produce. Staff are excellent, they can cater for big groups which have been there when I have gone but they still seem to keep the feeling of being a smaller winery which you can go to and...More

Thank Karen B
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review Karen. Our staff always enjoy the opportunity to chat with customers and we are really pleased you enjoyed both the platters and wine. Look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Best wishes Joanne

Reviewed 2 July 2017

We dropped into Ugly Duckling as part of a wine tour recently. The wine selection was good and there a couple of standouts as well. The staff were very attentive considering the number of people there at the time. We had lunch included here during...More

Thank Mark B
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you so much for such lovely feedback Mark. Yes we can get busy, so it's great to hear our staff were so attentive and that you really enjoyed our platters as well. I certainly look forward to passing your comments onto the staff. Best...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Came here with family for our daughter's 20th birthday wine tour. Staff were attentive, friendly and very informative. Location was beautiful and to top it off live music was playing. Wines were lovely. Could have stayed longer.

Thank Cathryn C
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi Cathryn It was an absolute pleasure to have you all visit us. Nice way to celebrate a birthday. Thanks for the great feedback and look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully you can stay longer next time. Kind regards Joanne

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Came here as a part of our wine tour for lunch. Great venue, delicious wines, live music and yummy food. Couldn't complain - recommend.

Thank Samantha W
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Hi Samantha Glad you had such a great time. Thanks for the feedback. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Joanne

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We dropped in for a wine tasting and a snack. It's a small setup but it was really well done. Very friendly and helpful staff. The only reason I didn't rate them 5 was because the cheese platter had an issue with the bread. However...More

Thank Chris-and-Mel-Warren
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi Chris and Mel We hope you had a enjoyable stay in WA and enjoyed Cirque Du Soleil. Glad the staff were helpful and friendly. I am sorry about the bread and we have followed this through. Hope you visit us again next time. Kind...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

This was our last stop in our Swan Valley excursion. We had not visited UDW previously and decided to see what it had to offer. The premises is very pleasant and we enjoyed the late Late Harvest Viognier 2016.

Thank dralfredogle
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Really pleased you enjoyed your visit and our dessert wine !! We hope to see you again. Best wishes Joanne

Reviewed 11 April 2017

This place has a cellar door, so I tried many delicious wines before choosing a Rose to have with my Tasting Plate lunch and a bottle of the new vintage Chenin to take home for dinner. The menu is limited but good -pies from the...More

Thank Linda B
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Linda Bike riding is a great way to see what the Swan Valley has to offer. Thanks for dropping in, glad you enjoyed the wines and I hope dinner was good with the Chenin. We look forward to you visiting us again. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Very pleasant sunday afternoon- the winery had music and a market going on so it made for a good day out.

Thank Josie L
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi Josie The markets and music create such a lovely ambience. Glad you enjoyed your day out. Thank you for the feedback. Kind regards Joanne

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant
301 reviews
.93 km away
Chesters Of Heafod Glen
218 reviews
.84 km away
Cottage Tea Rooms
81 reviews
.77 km away
Black Swan Winery and Restaurant
243 reviews
.85 km away
Nearby Attractions
Top Gun Tours
136 reviews
1.62 km away
The House of Honey
153 reviews
2.39 km away
Oasis Supa Golf and Adventure Putt Miniature Golf
78 reviews
2.40 km away
Whistlers Chocolate Co
149 reviews
2.73 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
patsy666
17 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ruth P | Reviewed this property |
Saturday and Sunday afternoons. From midday I'm pretty sure.
0
Votes