We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Derreen Gardens

Lauragh | 1.6km (1 mile) off R571, Kenmare Co Kerry, Ireland
+353 64 668 3588
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 79.02*
and up
Ring of Beara Day Tour from Killarney
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Derreen is a woodland garden that has a selection of narrow paths leading to the sea. You can choose a short stroll of about 40 minutes or take all day discovering the 8 miles of paths. Many of the plants were brought back from the Himalayas by the Victorian plant hunters. There is a cafe selling lunch or a selection of delicious hand made cakes during the summer months.
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“tree ferns” (5 reviews)
“fairy houses” (5 reviews)
“old trees” (4 reviews)
LOCATION
Lauragh | 1.6km (1 mile) off R571, Kenmare Co Kerry, Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+353 64 668 3588
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Derreen Gardens, a privately-owned estate near Lauragh, on the South shore of the Kenmare River, has to bd seen to be believed.. The atmosphere is extremely relaxing and the café + gardens are a delight for all the senses. Very reasonably priced, very welcomjnv and...More

Thank Nicholas W
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for your kind words about Derreen and I'm glad you had a good day out. The damp weather does bring out the most amazing smells, I hope you found the eucalyptus that smells fantastic in mist.

Reviewed 31 August 2016

I visited Derreen Gardens in August 2016. I should have done a little more research on the place as i found it a waste of time. My advice would be to keep you money and find a woods to walk around. Adult price was €7.00...More

Thank dermotoconnor
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your trip. You are welcome to walk round the Ladies Mile which is free but I'm afraid we have to charge to pay for the upkeep. Also some of the plants are very old and...More

Reviewed 30 August 2016

A great peacefull place with a nice recommendations for short & long routes. Try to pick routes from the garden ending at nice views of the sea. You can start or finish your trip at a nice coffee shop located in the entrance.

Thank efratis
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

I'm glad you had a good time. I hope you tried the cake too. It is delicious!

Reviewed 10 August 2016

We visited Derreen Gardens on our family holiday and walked around some of the different routes. There are short routes and longer routes through natural woodland with beautiful views of the coastline and mountains. Although we didn't see any on our visit, there are apparently,...More

Thank Roger L
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you like a chat. We do too. There really are deer in the woods, they tend to come out in the morning and evening and they love the Camellia buds which drives us mad. Come again.

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This venue charges an entry fee and they do advise you of this in all advertising. We had a great walk and really enjoyed it. It was well worth it and would return again also. Really spectacular scenery and nice gardens if you enjoy walking...More

Thank Globetrotter201026
Reviewed 29 July 2016

A great piece of the berea, it's a bit different then the rugged land surrounding it, with the giant sea of ferns on the KING OOZY walk making you feel like you're in another country all together. Although priced rather high for a single day...More

Thank HenryGTD
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Despite the drizzle this was an interesting place to visit for a quiet wander. Take time to soak up the peace and quiet especially near the water. The tree ferns large rhododendrons and fine old trees create a unique atmosphere and misty views of distant...More

Thank Martin S
claire w, Owner at Derreen Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed our garden. We love it. I'm sorry about the map a friend of mine did it and while it is very beautiful it isn't entirely accurate. It is in the pipeline to replace it.

Reviewed 14 July 2016

The Gardens are fine, with some lovely views of the surrounding mountains & coast, the price of admission was 7 Euro each, but on principle we didn't buy a map which was another Euro, so we were happy just to meander around the gardens. After...More

Thank degustibusirl
Reviewed 11 July 2016

The cost for 2 seniors (no discount available) 15 euro including a useless map was a total waste. The garden was poorly maintained, paths needed resurfacing and signage misleading. Don't waste your time.

5  Thank 270Loch
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Delish foods n coffee :-) all baking done on site, lunch menu too, tasty n fresh. I would recommend a visit. Lovely walks with little fairy houses for children to find, we were even given a map to find the little houses. Huge trees and...More

Thank coombsh
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pedals and Boots
103 reviews
.68 km away
Village Inn
36 reviews
8.93 km away
D O'Sheas Bar
459 reviews
11.42 km away
Eyeries Bistro
157 reviews
14.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kenmare Bay Diving
22 reviews
2.19 km away
Uragh Stone Circle
21 reviews
7.54 km away
Healy Pass
180 reviews
8.83 km away
Blueberry Hill Farm
182 reviews
11.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Derreen Gardens staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit