We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sheldon Open Air Theatre

7 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

The Sheldon Open Air Theatre

7 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
7Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Derek M wrote a review Jul. 2019
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom135 contributions68 helpful votes
We went here with 19 people. I can only speak for my experience. We really enjoyed the company and shared picnic But the entertainment was Dismal. We were there last year for Queen tribute and was quite good But this years ABBA Angles was a huge disappointment. They started poorly and ended even worse. The girl singing Agnatha,s part led the group . She also cued the backing tracks and did practically all the speaking which was minimal. The men looked like they were miming the instruments and could Not sing . The Frida cover looked almost embarrassed to be there . The cover / backing was great when covering them all , although Agnatha did sing above all others apart from the high notes she couldn’t reach . When they all sang at the end “ Thank you for the Music “ you could actually hear their voices . Not good at all and lacking good harmonies . I feel cheated that what I and all were listening to were predominantly loud backing blend with the singers voices . I should have saved my pennies and listened to the c.d in the garden with said friends . Also rules should be for everyone & if no dancing should be on the steps that should include an adult holding and dancing with a young child in their arms . Also full floor when it’s only at One side of the floor and off putting even when it wasn’t full. Interesting there was a lot less people this year . Tip it would be worth it to charge even an extra £1 per person to get reasonably good acts or this event Will struggle . Also compare introducing acts etc needs a vocal personality transplant
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SheldonTheatre, Manager at The Sheldon Open Air Theatre
Responded 31 Jul. 2019
Dear Derek Sorry you had a disappointing evening. Unfortunately we weren't able to book our usual Abba tribute and appreciate this act wasn't quite up to the standard of the previous Abba shows we have staged. As someone who has peformed yourself we appreciate you will be especially aware of the shortcomings you have outlined. As with airlines the primary job of our stewards is to keep people safe, and safety of babies is obviously especially important. It's fine for people who want to dance to go down to the other side of the dance floor if there is room there - it's just not possible to get dancers to move across from one side to the other and we make it a priority to avoid unsafe bottle-necks. With all good wishes from the Sheldon team.
Read more
Big N wrote a review Sep. 2017
3 contributions4 helpful votes
We love listening to live music played well and the Sheldon Theatre excelled themselves when they had Kiss This back in July 2016 (sorry to take so long to post this review I've only recently come across trip advisor. Great musicianship coupled with a couple of fantastic singers made for an excellent night under the stars. Luckily the weather stayed nice and the atmosphere was electric. I can't wait to see them again. I've been to various concerts at the open air theatre and have never been disappointed yet, even the odd downpour in the past wasn't enough to dampen the excitement of the shows. The staff are very friendly and the food is great. Did I say the atmosphere is wonderful? Yes I did but it's worth repeating... if you want a great night out listening to some great bands under the stars support the Sheldon Theatre because you won't regret it. See you there next year... I'll be down the front throwing some crazing dance moves I saw Kiss This in July 2016 but there's no option to go back that far.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2017
Helpful
Share
Martin S wrote a review Jul. 2016
Paignton, United Kingdom118 contributions79 helpful votes
My wife and I along with some friends went for a night of entertainment watching Joey The Lips. Arriving in good time we were made to cue along with many others ( clad it wasn't raining), not sure why, before being allowed into the seating area. For those that have never been, there are no chairs, just terraced seating on grass so take something to sit on and because it's open air an umbrella or two is always a great idea. We also took food and drink which is well worth it as the shop (wooden hut) and the bar / bbq only stock limited items and it's rather expensive with often big cues. (Slow service, but very friendly). The area of the theatre is well kept, really relaxed and provides an excellent environment to watch any band. The staff are all friendly and mostly on the wrong side of 60, which is great however, they are very stuck in there ways and non flexible, which is super is everyone was the same, but we're not and this brought some very strange rules that I just can't see the reasoning behind. And bless them they quoted H and S as the reason, well I'm sorry but after being in that field of work for over 20 years, yet again people are misinterpreting H and S and using it as an excuse, rather than a supporting tool to keep us safe. Anyway that minor complaint out the way this is a great venue which should be enjoyed with good friends and plenty of wine and beer. Happy days. We will be back again....
Read more
Date of experience: July 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from SheldonTheatre, Manager at The Sheldon Open Air Theatre
Responded 25 Jul. 2016
Hi Martin. Thanks very much for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the show, and sorry there were a few things you weren't happy with. Perhaps I could just respond to the points you made. We advertise our timings as 6.30pm for carparking, 7.15pm to open the theatre gates and 8pm to start the show. Theatregoers started arriving at 5.50pm and we opened the gates early at 7pm. We have a volunteer team of stewards and need to make sure everyone is properly briefed before we get under way. You're right that many of our lovely volunteers are over 60 - we're dead proud of them! And at least 15 of us on the team that night were under 60, sometimes by 2 or 3 decades! Impressed that you have been in the H&S business for 20 years. Our risk assessment revolves around taking care of 500 people in a confined space, fairly dark, often with a drink or two inside them. We keep the back path and the steps completely clear so that our team can easily access areas of the auditorium or dance area as necessary. Sadly we have learned the hard way that once a nucleus of people start dancing/obstructing the paths it is impossible to move them or get through without stopping the show. From time to time there have been medical emergencies to deal with - thankfully all of them minor so far. We're not blaming an "out there" health and safety diktat or anything (but we do have clear advice from the fire brigade on this matter) but doing our best to apply practical measures that keep all our concertgoers safe. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
Raven9267 wrote a review Jul. 2015
Devon, United Kingdom123 contributions57 helpful votes
This lovely outdoor venue hosts a short season of tribute acts each summer. We went to see 'Abba Magic' perform in July 2015. Excellent show. You can take your own picnic and alcohol but there's also bar-b-q food and a bar. Easy to park. Just find a place on the grass banks, put down a mat and away you go. Really well organised. Things to be aware of: shows get cancelled if extreme weather is likely. Don't bring chairs unless you have a disability and have let the venue know in advance. Phone signal in the area is poor to non-existent; that will either be a welcome relief or will trigger a panic attack!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from SheldonTheatre, Owner at The Sheldon Open Air Theatre
Responded 24 Mar. 2016
Glad you enjoyed the show. You're right that we cancel shows if the weather is really severe, but you can then exchange your tickets for any equivalent show in the same or the following year. Hope to see you again this summer (Abba are back on the 20th July).
Read more
531SusanM531 wrote a review Jul. 2015
Exeter, United Kingdom109 contributions66 helpful votes
My third visit, this time to see Joey the Lips. We had some rain at the beginning of the evening but this soon cleared and we enjoyed sitting outside, listening to music. Always well organised, although disappointed with the 40 minute wait for burgers this year. Recommend you take a picnic instead!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from SheldonTheatre, Owner at The Sheldon Open Air Theatre
Responded 24 Mar. 2016
Really sorry we had such a terrible glitch on the food supply for this concert. Hasn't happened before and we are taking steps to avoid it happening again. So sorry.
Read more
Previous
12
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sheldon Open Air Theatre