We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Castle

Closed Now: 9:30 am - 4:15 pm
Open today: 9:30 am - 4:15 pm
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
From USD 19.22*
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
From USD 19.22*
BOOK A TOUR
6,944
All photos (6,944)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“guided tour”(412 reviews)
“stirling heads”(121 reviews)
“unicorn cafe”(93 reviews)
About
Dominating the skyline for miles around, Stirling Castle is a shining example of Renaissance architecture. Visitors can look out from its high stone walls to the battlefields of Stirling Bridge where great medieval armies clashed to decide the fate...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 am - 4:15 pm
See all hours
Contact
| Upper Castle Hill, Old Town, Stirling FK8 1EJ, Scotland
Website
+44 1786 450000
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Stirling Castle
from USD 19.20
More Info
from USD 39.70
More Info
from USD 41.00
More Info
from USD 46.10
More Info
Reviews (8,010)
Filter reviews
6,297 results
Traveller rating
4,222
1,557
349
107
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
4,222
1,557
349
107
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour stirling heads unicorn cafe unicorn tapestries royal palace free tour period costume regimental museum scottish history mary queen of scots argyll and sutherland highlanders explorer pass the kitchen car park surrounding countryside great history lots of history
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,297 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Stirling Castle is one of the largest and most important castles in Scotland, both historically and architecturally. The castle sits atop Castle Hill, an intrusive crag, which forms part of the Stirling Sill geological formation. It is surrounded on three sides by steep cliffs, giving...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank JKristian
Reviewed yesterday

I was not disappointed with my visit to Stirling Castle. The gardens were beautiful and the views from the tops of the walls are breathtaking from every angle. There's so much to see here that you really do need at least half an afternoon to...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DonC3735
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We took a road trip around Scotland and made several stops visiting castles. Our lady guide at Fraser castle and this guy here at Stirling castle really made a difference. I believe his name was Rhys and we just loved the tour he gave us,...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank olgaagapimou
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

What a wonderful treat awaited us in the beautiful town of Stirling! Stirling Castle is the best restored castle we have seen. Historic Scotland.... hats off to you. We spent such an enjoyable afternoon and didn’t realize that time had flown so fast that it...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 475graemej
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This castle was so in tact we spent hours here. They had crafts for kids, dancing, a great cafe, live actors dressed up, a loom work exhibit, a Lego exhibit. They also had interactive ways to learn about the history from audio to video press...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Anaispins
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely beautifully restored and maintained by Historic Scotland. I will not spoil the surprises waiting your visit, but do take a guided tour included in the entry price, fascinating and informative. Just go and see.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Stephen D
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent the afternoon here, and the castle is really easy to reach from the train/bus station. There is a free land train to reach the castle entrance if you are travelling with children/elderly, as well as parking which my friend and I noticed. Good views...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Chow_TW
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic place to visit even on a damp winters day the guild was very knowledgeable and entertaining and it was well worth the money, a must visit we would go again if in Stirling

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank oldboy54
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Six and four year olds lasted two hours! They liked the children’s section with the various hands on activities. Best of all was the LEGO display around the back. As an adult always good to visit the castle. Looking forward to the Argyll’s museum reopening

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Bill R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had a weekend break in Stirling in early February. We loved wandering around the old town area. Stirling Castle is absolutely stunning inside and so is the outer areas. What an amazing view. The guide was excellent too. Well worth a...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank carolinemL3241FK
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
The Portcullis Hotel
214 reviews
.14 km away
Travelodge Stirling City Centre
160 reviews
.48 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,359 reviews
.51 km away
Hotel Colessio
919 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 250 nearby restaurants
The Smithy
298 reviews
.22 km away
Darnley Coffee House
295 reviews
.35 km away
Green Gates Indian Restaurant
1,032 reviews
.41 km away
Hermann's
656 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 140 nearby attractions
The Old Town Jail
407 reviews
.35 km away
Argyll Sutherland Highlanders Regimental Museum
240 reviews
.27 km away
Church of the Holy Rude
379 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alyson D
7 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from chayblyth | Reviewed this property |
A park and ride is the easiest way and yes money is essential.
0
Votes
SoraLochiel
2 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Iain M |
This would only happen if it was a political gathering that had not informed H.E.S. If you had informed the custodian I'm sure they would have accommodated you as long as you were there for non political reasons
3
Votes