We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ventnor Botanic Garden

Closed Now: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Book In Advance
All photos (406)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“new zealand”(31 reviews)
“exotic plants”(24 reviews)
“tunnel tour”(21 reviews)
With our magnificent location on the Island's Channel coast, Ventnor Botanic Garden has a unique sub-tropical microclimate making it approximately 5 degrees warmer than the general British climate – making it Britain’s hottest garden! Set in 22...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Undercliff Drive, Ventnor PO38 1UL, England
+44 1983 855397
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Ventnor Botanic Garden
from USD 73.10
More Info
from USD 162.90
More Info
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand exotic plants tunnel tour red squirrels micro climate children's play area steephill cove coastal path heritage centre steep hill cove isle of wight tea room coffee shop for sale sandwiches cake nice cafe
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would like to tell you more about the Botanic Garden in Ventnor, but I never got beyond the starting point. Having read much about their interesting food on their own website, we decided to arrive for lunch, eat and explore the gardens afterwards. On...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DavidP13915
Phillip L, Manager at Ventnor Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi David, I am sorry that you had a poor experience at the Botanic Garden. I am not sure when your visit took place, although I am assuming some time over the Summer. There is new management team in place now and your experience should...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My parents and I visited this stunning place, as recommended by my mum whilst we were on holiday on the Island this year and the attraction was a lot more stunning than I thought it would and the sunny weather we had at the time...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank F1348XSmichaelpugh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were amazed at how many plants were still flowering! There was plenty to see and it was a very pleasant walk - we had a lovely lunch in the Plantation cafe (the only one open in the week in Winter), the staff were very...More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank SuzonB64
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you are anti-hunting then you should avoid this place as they support the Isle Of Wight Foxhounds and the scum that they attract.More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Tony W
John C, General Manager at Ventnor Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ventnor Botanic Garden does not support the IoW Foxhounds. Any organisation, such as the IoW Foxhounds, is welcome to hold an event at the Botanic Garden. For example, we have welcome car clubs who support the Garden, but we do not support burning fossil fuels....More

Reviewed 9 November 2018

To begin with there was no one at the payment till or in the shop and when we did find someone was told to go to the cafe' as payment would be taken there. Great, fantastic; one YES 1 young lady trying to serve beverages...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sandra C
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Gardens located in the South of the island in the undercliff zone which is warmer and milder than anywhere else in the UK so an opportunity for a pretty unique set of plants. Garden arranged into a series of zones with their plants on display...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Neil T
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Went here as it's something me and my partner enjoy doing and have been to a few together. We really enjoyed the different zones, he especially liked the South African part. I enjoy photography and although we went in late autumn/winter there was still lots...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ETancred
Reviewed 24 October 2018

What a great place this is - such beautiful and interesting gardens, reflecting the extraordinary micro-climate of the area. And we were so lucky to be able to join a tour led by Jonyth - an exceptionally knowledgeable and interesting guide.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rosalie K
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

What a great day made even better by attending the tour of the garden. Jonyth Hill has an amazing depth of knowledge and made the garden come alive.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AndyandChrisKent
Reviewed 19 October 2018

October probably isn't the best time to visit a botanic garden, but we couldn't visit Ventnor and not pop in to see it! The garden is good, and interesting, and the ethos behind it's creation is sound. In places, it is perhaps a little bit...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank MillieM122
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 nearby hotels
Eversley Hotel
170 reviews
1.08 km away
The Royal Hotel
1,241 reviews
1.21 km away
St. Augustine Villa
180 reviews
1.59 km away
The Hambrough
392 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 729 nearby restaurants
Lady Scarletts Tea Parlour
293 reviews
1.37 km away
Golden Sands
121 reviews
1.35 km away
Smoking Lobster grill and cocktail bar
187 reviews
1.44 km away
The Crab Shed
228 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 329 nearby attractions
Steephill Cove Beach
446 reviews
.27 km away
Ventnor Park and Putting Green
124 reviews
1.09 km away
St Lawrence Old Church
33 reviews
1.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gemma H
9 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sookeico1 | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea, but it you have received hate mail in any form you should report it.
8 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from AnnH59 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are
madeleine p
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Rawlings064 | Reviewed this property |
Reading other replies. I can't imagine having to book at any time. The gardens are very nice and colourful depending on the time of year. The café is nice with tea & cakes on the menu. On our visit there was a wedding going... More