We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Half Moon Inn

86 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
+44 191 374 1918
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great Pub

This is a great traditional little pub. It has a lovely big beer garden on the river. The staff are... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
jdbritton65
,
Stanley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic Pub

This is a fantastic pub. It has a lovely beer garden right by the river. The staff are lovely and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Carol C
via mobile
Read all 104 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Half Moon Inn is a traditional public house in the heart of Durham city. We are a grade 1 listed building with many of the original works still seen today. The fireplace and back bar were put in in 1905 and the work is something to see. We have a fantastic outside drinking area leading down to the River Wear to enjoy a nice refreshing drink. With Sky TV showing all sporting events.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average0%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
86 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 374 1918
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beer garden"
in 11 reviews
"traditional pub"
in 11 reviews
"selection of beers"
in 7 reviews
"friendly pub"
in 6 reviews
"favourite pub"
in 4 reviews
"sun trap"
in 3 reviews
"guest ales"
in 3 reviews
"the river"
in 20 reviews
"sky sports"
in 2 reviews
"great choice of drinks"
in 2 reviews
"watch football"
in 2 reviews
"live sports"
in 2 reviews
"city centre pub"
in 2 reviews
"traditional feel"
in 2 reviews
"quick pint"
in 2 reviews
"pub crawl"
in 2 reviews
"approachable staff"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This is a great traditional little pub. It has a lovely big beer garden on the river. The staff are lovely and friendly. Doesn't matter what time of day you visit its a great atmosphere. Good selection on all drinks, good value for money. I...More

Thank jdbritton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This is a fantastic pub. It has a lovely beer garden right by the river. The staff are lovely and friendly, great atmosphere, good selection on all drinks and its clean. I would recommend anyone to go visit this pub you won't be disappointed.

Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great pub , which also hosts live music .. its not for .. trendy types.. or disco dollies .. its more Rock and punk ..the drinks are a little pricey .. but they have a good selection .. and the staff are...More

Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dennis thanks for your review & star rating. Could you please contact us on bun012181@mbplc.com as i’m not sure you have us right. We don’t do live music here at the moon but we do have a beer garden leading down to the river...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

The Half moon is a great traditional pub set by the river wear in the elvet end of Durham. It serves a wide variety of lagers, beers and hand pulls along with a large selection of spirits. Whatever time you visit, at its busiest or...More

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you Michael for such a nice review and 5* rating. So glad that the Half moon has ticked so many boxes for you we are proud to of stayed true to our roofs of a traditional pub. I will pass your kind words on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Nice traditional pub , a chance to drink some Durham beer . Definitely great to sit outside , look at the back of some amazing medieval buildings and watch the activities on the river

Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you Wayne B for leaving a review & star rating. Glad you enjoyed the Durham beer we sell here & took advantage of the beer garden down by the river. Thanks again Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

The title says it all. The one thing to think about putting right is in the gents' toilet. It is a convention with plumbing to put the cold water tap on the right hand side of the basin, in part to provide a degree of...More

Thank Traveller1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Traveller1999. Thanks for your star rating & feed back. The taps are fitted with mixers so to not let the water get to hot. But next time we have a contracter in to do some work i will ask them to switch them round....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

One of many ports of call on our pub crawl for a friends retirement, didn’t take long to get served as there are 2 parts to the bar, many people don’t realise it has such an extensive beer garden which backs onto the river, if...More

Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you Sharon for such a nice review so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Yes that day was a busy one & glad the beer garden got some good use from your group. Roll on even more sunny days and i’ll pass your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Enjoyed beautiful pint of Taylors Landlord.. Very loud group in the back room, just as well we were able to enjoy quieter area at front. Friendly place. Excellent central location.More

Thank Yorvik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL MANAGER A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you Yorvik82 for your review & rating. So glad the Timothy Taylors was to your liking & you were able to enjoy your pint in the front bar. Also great to hear you found us a friendly place to visit & we hope to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

I visited this pub at the weekend ,served by a lovely girl called Jordan who was extremely helpful and friendly,enjoyed the atmosphere of the place ,next time we visit we hope to stay longer Jo and family

Thank jojo482018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thanks Jojo for taking the time to leave a review for the half moon. I will pass on your comments to Jordan & I’m so glad she helped make your visit a good one. Thanks again Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I always enjoy The Half Moon Inn, me and my friends come here regularly, the staff are very friendly and always happy to help, by far the best pub in Durham, I would definitely recommend this traditional pub to anyone wanting to visit Durham.

Thank 246jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Half Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you 246Jordan For taking the time to leave a star rating a review for the half moon. So happy to see you think so highly of the place & i will pass your kind words onto the staff. Thanks again Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Durham
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1,702 reviews
.06 km away
Hotel Indigo Durham
147 reviews
.15 km away
Durham Castle
225 reviews
.28 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1,794 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tealicious Tearoom
451 reviews
.02 km away
Restaurant 17
291 reviews
.14 km away
Flat White Durham Cafe
593 reviews
.15 km away
Bill's Durham
1,027 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Durham Cathedral
5,698 reviews
.42 km away
Palace Green
203 reviews
.27 km away
Durham Castle
1,041 reviews
.28 km away
Gala Theatre Durham
281 reviews
.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JSC53
4 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Graeme D | Property representative |
Hi JSC53 Thanks for your question No we only open till 11pm on NYE as this area of Durham is very quiet. We tried for a few years to open later but it’s just not worthwhile for us. Thanks Graeme
0
Votes