We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Captain's Club Spa

Wick Lane | The Captain's Club Hotel, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
+44 1202 475111
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Afternoon tea

We had a lovely afternoon tea with a glass of Champagne. Unfortunately as with our weather it was... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Sandra A
,
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Lovely relaxing spa day!

My friends and I booked ourselves on the ‘All Aboard’ spa day for our birthdays. From the moment we... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Sammy W
,
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 39 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible0%
6 days ago
“Afternoon tea”
6 days ago
“Lovely relaxing spa day!”
LOCATION
Wick Lane | The Captain's Club Hotel, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1202 475111
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We had a lovely afternoon tea with a glass of Champagne. Unfortunately as with our weather it was not possible to sit outside as it was a little windy and cool. On a sunny day sitting outside would enhance the experience.More

Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Sandra. Thanks for the review about your visit for afternoon tea and, like you, I am so sorry that the weather didn't play ball for you to make use of the riverside terrace. Let us hope this element can be resolved for your next...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

My friends and I booked ourselves on the ‘All Aboard’ spa day for our birthdays. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed. We were greeted by very friendly reception staff who gave us our locker keys, towels, robes slippers. One of the ladies ran...More

Thank Sammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Sammy. Thank you so much for your lovely review following your visit to the spa with friends to enjoy the "All Aboard" Package for your birthday. I am thrilled to read all about your experience and will make sure Chelsie and her team are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is on the river in Christchurch, and all the rooms have a view of the river. The rooms are well appointed with massive windows so you can take in the view. You can hire the boats just outside the hotel £20 for 30...More

Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your great review John and we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and managed to get out on the river. I have personally thanked Kelly on your behalf and she and we all, look forward...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We have been visiting the Captains Club for lunch over many years and everytime we visit the area - we love it! Set beside the River Stour, when the sun is shining, you cannot beat a slow relaxing lunch on the riverside terrace, watching the...More

2  Thank insearchofsolitude67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you so much for your recent review and we are so delighted that you have returned to us and to this beautiful area time and time again. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon and trust that you enjoy this...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Not really my kind of place but it is right next to Christchurch waterway/bay/inlet with access to the sea and boats. Car parks nearby are cheap and the food quite good but as I say it is not really my kind of place. Not its...More

Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your review John and for visiting us at the Captain's Club Hotel. We are sorry to read that we are 'not your kind of place', and it would be helpful to know what time of day you visited and what you experienced...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

We (group of mid aged females) visited for an afternoon 10am to 2pm experience including a champagne lunch, group of 5 (should have been 6 but one sadly had to drop out). Good points: Really friendly staff, clean, free parking, lovely smell, great tea bags...More

1  Thank fimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a constructive review about your spa experience. I will certainly be taking on board all of your comments and investigating the bad points with Chelsie, our spa manager and re-looking at the spa offering...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

The soup was cold so I asked them to reheat it... it still came back cold. The holendaise sauce was congealed and had a skin on it. Service was slow. Will not be eating here again.More

1  Thank Liverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Owner at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you for your review and I was so sorry to read that you experienced issues with your food when you dined with us recently. Our aim at the Captain's Club Hotel is for every guest to leave us happy so I would be really...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

I booked the Winter Warmer package for my Mum and myself as an 80th birthday treat. The facilities are excellent, very light and relaxing and the staff were very friendly and patient with my Mum. I thoroughly enjoyed my hot stone massage and express facial...More

Thank DebiTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

A very Happy New Year to you Debi and thank you so much for your glowing review of your Mum's 80th birthday spa morning with us...what a treat! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed wonderful treatments and excellent food and we hope that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Firstly, this hotel has the absolute best sevice in any hotel I have stayed in recently. In particular the restaurant manager and staff are exceptional. No wait at breakfast for your coffee and chasing up your toast! It was all perfect and the quality of...More

Thank SGRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

How amazing to receive your wonderful review and we were delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at the Captain's Club Hotel. It was especially encouraging that our customer service exceeded all your expectations...that is our aim and it...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

My husband booked us a spa deal, as a surprise for our wedding anniversary, the deal is room dinner breakfast and 25 percent off a spa treatment. As it was a surprise, l did not pre book a treatment, and unfortunately there were no l...More

Thank Annfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at The Captain's Club Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Ann ~ thank you for your positive and constructive review and we were so delighted to read that you had a wonderful wedding anniversary with us and greatly enjoyed your food, the bedrooms and service that our fantastic team provided. We are so sorry...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Christchurch
Captain's Club Hotel
817 reviews
.02 km away
The Kings Arms
836 reviews
.63 km away
Travelodge Christchurch
416 reviews
.67 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
615 reviews
.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Splinters
338 reviews
.54 km away
Coast Coffee
251 reviews
.55 km away
Loch & Quay
654 reviews
.54 km away
James and White
508 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Christchurch Priory Church
763 reviews
.44 km away
Christchurch Quay
132 reviews
.44 km away
Red House Museum & Gardens
115 reviews
.46 km away
Christchurch Castle
87 reviews
.66 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Captain's Club Spa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;