We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Features Animals
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing experience

Great and fun experience to get up close to so many beautiful butterflies. Took some great video... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mcross87
,
London, United Kingdom
Great fun but ridiculous parking situation! AVOID PARKING HERE!!! DO BE PUT OFF!!

On the second time, we visited this 'zoo', which everyone loved visiting again (albeit a bit... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
kyanos
,
Cardiff
Read all 428 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1600 890360
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magnifying glass"
in 46 reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 28 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 49 reviews
"mini golf"
in 42 reviews
"hedge maze"
in 27 reviews
"butterflies flying"
in 13 reviews
"different species"
in 10 reviews
"life cycle"
in 6 reviews
"green house"
in 6 reviews
"other attractions"
in 12 reviews
"buy a ticket"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 17 reviews
"few hours"
in 15 reviews
"all ages"
in 15 reviews
"wye valley"
in 19 reviews
"little gem"
in 7 reviews
"combined ticket"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great and fun experience to get up close to so many beautiful butterflies. Took some great video footage whilst there. Re the parking, it is not an issue. Just follow the instructions as with any other pay & display car park & you will be...More

Thank mcross87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

On the second time, we visited this 'zoo', which everyone loved visiting again (albeit a bit overpriced for what you get but we knew that already) we had the nasty surprise to have been issued a Parking Charge Notice (a fine basically) of £100... The...More

Thank kyanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been to a good number of butterfly attractions over the years and this is easily the best we have seen and provides an object lesson in how to do this sort of thing professionally and interestingly. The associated Maze and Mini Golf are...More

Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a scan of the reviews and thought it can’t be that bad, my 2yo loves butterflies and the reviews of the actual centre were so good. Simply put, you type the Reg into the parking meter, stick £3 in and hand the blue...More

Thank jack100Gloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely experience for the children and very good value for money Lots of different butterflies children given a large spy glass and card with the different butterflies

Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on our trip to the UK. Our kids loved the butterflies, but we got hit for a hundred quid fine despite paying the correct amount and not overstaying, and having this acknowledged by the parking company (we got the hire car number plate wrong)...More

3  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended to go to the Butterfly Zoo and on a cold rainy day in April it was a great place to visit with our little boy. The butterfly’s were beautiful we really enjoyed the day. However after several days a parking fine for...More

3  Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We have been coming here for years, and it never fails to amuse both adults and kids alike. The butterfly zoo is lovely, and kids are provided with magnifying glasses and useful charts to name the butterflies. Staff members are always knowledgeable and extremely friendly....More

Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

In our case the parking meter we first saw was out of order and by the time we had enquired and found one working we had received a £100 parking fine for staying 10 minutes.We phoned the Butterfly zoo to complain and they were most...More

6  Thank peteralastairdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

After reading the negative reviews, we wasn’t sure what to expect. However we had a truly wonderful afternoon with our two 5 year olds, the admission was £12 for a family of 4 - such great value. In terms of the parking, you just buy...More

Thank Sammi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
The Old Court Hotel
549 reviews
.11 km away
The Paddocks Hotel
257 reviews
.77 km away
Pencraig Court Hotel
16 reviews
3.70 km away
Glewstone Court
643 reviews
5.05 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Potting Shed
111 reviews
.57 km away
Jo's Diner
35 reviews
.93 km away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
333 reviews
1.05 km away
The Crown Whitchurch
7 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wye Valley Cruises
13 reviews
.71 km away
Canoe the Wye
411 reviews
.73 km away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
232 reviews
.78 km away
Wye Canoes Ltd
111 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Julie J
5 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rubyroored | Reviewed this property |
Don’t know there are disabled spaces but I’d be careful as they scan your car plate as you go in so you need to check on the pay meter
1
Vote
heartbev
25 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from wiilhunting | Reviewed this property |
DecisionSuccessful Assessor NameSophie Taylor Assessor summary of operator case The operator has issued the Parking Charge Notice (PCN) as the appellant has failed to purchase sufficient parking time to cover the period of... More
4
Votes
kazzybRedditch
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HeyesBros | Property representative |
Dogs are unfortunately not allowed in any of the enclosures, the butterfly zoo included due to the zoo licensing laws, which apply to our zoo. Dogs, however, are welcome on the grounds and there is a nice riverside walk to... More
0
Votes
;