We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
great hotel not so good golf

we booked in on tuesday and having driven 150 miles with three sets of clubs was advised the course... read more

Reviewed 10 March 2018
V1256CCmartin
,
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Lovely Golf Courses and lovely setting.

Fantastic setting and not as expensive as the 12 Golfers who went thought. Stayed two nights had... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
gerard1978
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Read all 105 reviews
57
All photos (57)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good39%
  • Average12%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
About
This popular golf course frequently hosts European professional events.
Contact
Chepstow, Wales
+44 1291 625261
Call
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
34
39
13
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
34
39
13
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiesbeautiful hotellovely roombeautiful wedding venuestayed heregood pointsbar areamy partnerbreakfastbedroomlockersmenuoccasionreceptionshower
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic setting and not as expensive as the 12 Golfers who went thought. Stayed two nights had dinner in the Restaurant on the Friday night and asked for a bar meal on the Saturday with no problems and no extra cost because we didn't want...More

Thank gerard1978
MarriottStPierre, Executive Office at St. Pierre Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are delighted that you all enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Had a golf day booked with the family and whilst playing we were told on several occassions that we should not of been there because we were interupting a ladies competition. Some of the ladies were very rude & we were pressured to hurry up...More

1  Thank barringtoncheyl
MarriottStPierre, Customer Care at St. Pierre Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Cheryl & Family Please do accept our apologies for your round of golf being effected by the lady golfers during your game on the Mathern Course. We do have golf marshalls on both our courses and this has been flagged with them to ensure...More

Reviewed 18 May 2018

Visited the Old Course for my friends sons 21st, I booked it as they had never played it and where travelling down from Cheshire. How embarrassed was I ??? The young lady in the Pro Shop was charming and a credit to the Hotel, as...More

2  Thank rod064
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Stayed here with a group of 14 for a golf weekend. Told only one course open and then on the Saturday we saw people playing on the closed course. Old course greens were in a bad state and we heard other groups complaining to. Terrace...More

Thank larmerd
MarriottStPierre, Customer Care at St. Pierre Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we were sorry that you were disappointed with your round of golf and your feedback has been passed to our Course Manager for his review. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you and your group back...More

Reviewed 10 March 2018

we booked in on tuesday and having driven 150 miles with three sets of clubs was advised the course was shut, fair enough and would not open until friday at the earliest, the assistance in the golf shop was very poor , having explained we...More

1  Thank V1256CCmartin
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The main building is lovely. The staff are very pleasant but there was so much that could have been better. We stayed in a room in the “village” about 3 minutes walk away from the main hotel. Lovely room, nice view but we had to...More

Thank Richard_and_S-J
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Stayed here early February for a night. Check in was fast and efficient. Lovely history to the building, love the open spaces, and choice of eateries, be it the bar area or the more formal restaurant. Open fire was very inviting over a beer. Had...More

Thank BobsterHereford
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

A beautiful Hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff are first class. Food is stunning and plentiful. The leisure facilities are very good and clean. Spa treatments are reasonable priced. Would certainly recommend this hotel for any occasion. The Bedrooms and lakeside suite’s are beautiful. All...More

Thank Kelly c
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Staff were lovely and very helpful on arrival . The room was not to my taste as it was a bit dated and dark . I have still gave five stars as this was a personal preference and no reflection on the actual hotel ....More

Thank Tina K
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Arrived on 2 october for overnight society golf trip. Played the old course on first day and mathern on second day. Both courses are unfortunately showing signs of wear and tare through being overplayed. Greens were in poor condition and in particular on the mathern...More

Thank Carl P
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Many Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at St Pierre. We do apologise that the course was not to the standard you would have expected. During the 5 days prior to your visit we received 2 inches of rainfall, unfortunately the low lying...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
444Joanne
20 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Cwilty | Property representative |
Chepstow is a 5 minute drive away.
0
Votes