We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 147.26*
and up
Day Trip to Iceland's Beautiful South Coast from Reykjavik
More Info
USD 171.20*
and up
Private South Iceland Day Trip from Reykjavik
More Info
USD 149.90*
and up
Southern Iceland Small-Group Full-Day Bus Tour from Reykjavik
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Peninsula of volcanic origin.
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good23%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“light house” (30 reviews)
“the cliff” (75 reviews)
“black sand” (110 reviews)
Vik, Iceland
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

When you turn off 1 into Dyrholaey there are a few roads. I stuck left and went out to the end which offered up some great views of the black sand beach, rock formations and an arch that the water would splash through. This location...More

1  Thank TryppAdams
Reviewed 5 days ago

Steep drive with multiple switchbacks up a plateau rewarded by a great view of the black sand beach in both directions, a lighthouse and a view down to several archways in the rock jutting into the ocean. It appeared to be a bird nesting site,...More

1  Thank JP-in-MD
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely black sand beaches and stunning g cliffs. We didn't see any puffins but appreciated the rugged scenes anyway as well as the Arch and other rock formations.

Thank Jzjsolo
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived just at the magical hour of sunset and couldn't stop standing in awe at the marvelous views of the black sand beach below us for miles on end.

1  Thank AniaKx2
Reviewed 1 week ago

the cliff is safe and you can walk around and even have some time to take pictures of the rocks and the black beach on the left site. it is a most go if you are on vik

2  Thank mannygarzon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visiting the Arch & Lighthouse on a very rainy, windy, foggy day. There was decently good signage to find the sight, and there was plenty of parking at the top. Unfortunately the fog was so thick we really didn't experience the sight in it's...More

1  Thank winchela
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sadly we did not see any puffin but the view towards the sea and black sand beach was beautiful. Surely worth the stop.

Thank JimboCanucks
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunatelly we did not see any puffin.But the view towards the sea and black sand beach was breathtaking. Surely worth the 12 miutes drive out of the main road.

Thank tragio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The view was ruined a little by the freezing rain. I imagine it would be a beautiful place when the sun is shining.

Thank TarynJana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Also on our stop from Glaciers lagoon, the road was a little rough but our rental car was able to make it to the top. Drove slowly, so not to puncture the tire. The road was rocky. Maybe harder to drive during winter time. The...More

Thank Cristina J
Nearby Restaurants
Black Beach Restaurant
270 reviews
2.96 km away
Sudur Vik
968 reviews
5.19 km away
The Soup Company
82 reviews
4.74 km away
1,130 reviews
4.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Black Sand Beach
2,711 reviews
3.06 km away
Reynisfjara Beach
904 reviews
2.90 km away
Vik Church
280 reviews
5.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sunny E | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I also wouldn't advise climbing up there. I've seen plenty of people climbing behind the barriers in various places (including some rocks right over Gulfoss waterfall which was actually almost too scary to watch... More
Google Translation
7 July 2017|
Response from bettedavis85 |
I am answering my own question.....Was able to use Google translate to find out that the nature reserve at Dyrholaey will be open 24 hours a day starting on 25 June 2017 at 0900.
13 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Sarah T | Reviewed this property |
Hmm, I wish I could answer this but we never actually made it up to the top due to our rental car's inability to deal with the rugged terrain/steep incline. I didn't realize there were puffins at this location! 🐧 I hope... More