We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Life of Whales - CLOSED

Old Harbour, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 560 8800
Website
Save
Review Highlights
No whales after 2 excurssions

Sympatique team but we did not see whales in two excursions. They do not search where are the... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2016
bobo a
via mobile
No whales

I know there is no guarantee but for the price you are paying for this trip you expect something... read more

Reviewed 7 August 2016
Susie H
,
Epsom, United Kingdom
Read all 45 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Exciting whale-watching tour and catch sight of whales, dolphins, porpoises and seabirds in their natural habitat including a stop by the Puffin Island during the Puffin season (15th of May – 15th of August). Life of Whales commits to provide high quality tours, good prices with personal service while taking part with the passengers in an adventure at sea. Most usual sightings include Minke whales, White-Beaked Dolphins, Harbour Porpoises and occasionally Humpback whale.
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good26%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
11 Sep 2016
“No whales after 2 excurssions”
6 Aug 2016
“No whales”
LOCATION
Old Harbour, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Háaleiti
CONTACT
Website
+354 560 8800

Similar Things to Do in Reykjavik

Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Sympatique team but we did not see whales in two excursions. They do not search where are the whales they only done the same tour everytimes. If there is no whales they show you some daulphins that are always here to satisfy you Where are...More

Thank bobo a
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I know there is no guarantee but for the price you are paying for this trip you expect something. A bit rough and sea sick and a 3 hour trip with no whales a bit disappointing.

Thank Susie H
Reviewed 22 October 2014

Professional, knowledgeable staff, which is crucial on such an attraction, all of my many questions were answered. Great amenities & boat as a whole with a high concern on safety. They provided full cover waterproof suit so no need to worry about your own water...More

1  Thank mattsydmiller
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Life of Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time on board the Andrea :) Safety and comfort are our number one priority and it is great that you were happy with our services. We hope...More

Reviewed 23 October 2013

I chose this particular attraction because it claims to use the largest boat for whale watching, and I hoped this would lesson the possibility of sea sickness, but two hours before we left I made sure we had taken our sea legs. When we first...More

1  Thank echogeordie
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Life of Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind and thorough review :) We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are constantly expanding our services and sometimes it...More

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Turned in to a big disappointment and a waste of 3 hours. Didn't see any whales which I could understand as it is nature and if it's not meant ti be the so be it. But the staff were poor couldn't care less attitude and...More

1  Thank home-sweet-brum
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Life of Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us but we thank you for letting us know about it. We take our customers' comments and recommendations very seriously and we are...More

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were very lucky with the weather yesterday. It was a wonderfull bright day for a whalewatch. We decided to do the express tour on the boat Rosinn. The tour takes about 2,5 hours. Once out of the harbour the boat is really going fast...More

1  Thank Dian W
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Life of Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Many thanks for your review and for joining our express tour. We are happy that you enjoyed the tour and got to see the nice Minke Whales - they do come very close sometimes which can be quite spectacular:) The boat can take up to...More

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We did this trip in the middle of Summer and it's was OK. We got on board and waited for about 20 minutes until the boat left. There was a pleasant eating area, shop, and sitting area underneath the top deck but you didn't need...More

2  Thank JMM918
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Life of Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Many thanks for your review and for joining our whale watching tour from Reykjavik. We are happy that you enjoyed the tour and glad to hear your comments. As this is a wildlife tour we can never guarantee the sightings, how many whales are at...More

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We took this tour on a cloudy rainish day. It lasted for 3,5 hours and we got no rain and stayed outside the whole time, We were well taken care of - pickup at the hotel, got overalls if we wanted (but our own clothes...More

1  Thank Monica B
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Life of Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Many thanks for your review and happy that you could join us whale watching from Reykjavik this summer:) We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and all that we have to offer on board:) - Iceland´s weather is sometimes unpredictable and sometimes on a...More

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Firstly, you should know that you will get colder than you can imagine on this trip. No matter how many layers you wear, you will need more. Make sure you use one of their all in one boiler suits or else you will freeze. The...More

1  Thank AJ0nes
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Life of Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Many thanks for the review and for joining our whale watching tour. We appreciate your comments and as you said it can get cold out on sea, so we always recommend that people dress warm - we do, as you said, provide brand new overalls...More

Reviewed 25 June 2013

After being turned down for a few days due to the tour being cancelled (the bay was very windy making it not ideal) we finally went out at the 8:55am time slot. It was chilly before we even got out into the bay so I...More

1  Thank Danic4
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Life of Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Many thanks for the review and for joining our whale watching tour. We sure hope you had a nice time in Iceland - and glad that you got a chance to join our tour finally, as the weather has been teasing us a bit for...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Forrettabarinn
786 reviews
.21 km away
Hofnin
912 reviews
.13 km away
Kopar
1,126 reviews
.10 km away
The Steak House
661 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Volcano House
1,415 reviews
.21 km away
Reykjavik Bike Tours
498 reviews
.02 km away
Happy Tours
86 reviews
.21 km away
Reykjavik Segway Tours
267 reviews
.02 km away