We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prison Gate Museum

Buitenhof 33, 2513 AH, The Hague, The Netherlands
+31 70 346 0861
Website
Save
Experience for Yourself
More Info
USD 56.38*
and up
Private Tour: The Hague Walking Tour Including Peace Palace Visitors Center
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
In the year 1280 AD, the gate to the outer courtyard or Buitenhof served as the main entrance to the castle of the Counts of Holland, known as the Binnenhof today. In 1428, this ‘Front Gate to the Court’ also became a prison. It was where defaulters were incarcerated and suspected criminals awaited their trials. It was a prison for four hundred years. The Prison Gate has been a museum since 1882. Ever since, it has been home to the biggest collection of instruments of punishment and torture in the Netherlands.
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good47%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
Buitenhof 33, 2513 AH, The Hague, The Netherlands
CONTACT
Website
+31 70 346 0861
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The tour is normally done in Dutch (English audio guides available ) but our entire group was English speakers so the guide agreed to try and do the tour in English. He did a superb job! I was hanging onto every word he spoke wanting...More

Thank hazzamarri2442
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear hazzamarri2442, Thank you for your 5* review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the tour by our guide so much. We hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Romy Meijer on behalf of the Prison Gate Museum

Reviewed 1 week ago

Timed visits with Guide in Dutch but audio guides provided in a number of languages,very interesting little museum,well worth a visit

Thank Cacchioli
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cacchioli, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear you consider the Prison Gate Museum worth a visit and we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Romy Meijer on behalf of the Prison Gate Museum

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found the experience to bring reality to the barbaric ways of the middle ages. The in human torcher was beyond belief.

Thank William U
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear William U, Thank you for your 5* review of the Prison Gate Museum. We hope to welcome you again some day! Kind regards, Romy Meijer on behalf of the Prison Gate Museum

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Guided tours only. It isn't worth the money and is very small. History lesson but it should take less than 40 minutes.More

Thank Carrie P
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Carrie P, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that your visit wasn't what you hoped it to be. Perhaps you can let us know which aspects didn't meet your expectations by sending an e-mail to info@gevangenpoort.nl?...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Strongly suggest visiting this place - when every other attraction / activity option is exhausted. For something that appears or is eluded to be exciting or a must visit, this is a high disappointment. You will struggle (little option actually) to fill an hour of...More

Thank kaivee
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear kaivee, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that your visit to the Prison Gate Museum wasn't what you expected it to be. Since the Prison Gate is an age-old and therefore vulnerable monument, we try to...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017

My son loves this place, as do I. Educational and it makes you respect our law and courts today a lot more.

Thank ElswhereTours
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear ElswhereTours, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear both you and your son enjoy visiting the Prison Gate. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Romy Meijer on behalf of the Prison Gate Museum

Reviewed 1 May 2017

We visited this museum years ago and enjoyed it. We had a self guided tour and roamed the entire prison on our own. This time it was a huge disappointment. You are only permitted to tour 2 rooms on your own, then you have to...More

1  Thank luvroma2
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear luvroma2, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your recent visit wasn't what you expected it to be. You are permitted to visit 4 rooms on your own. The cell complex can only be visited with a guide (ever since...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017

Very interesting guided tour in the museum. About 45 minutes. Good explanation about the history of the building and its prisoners! Unfortunately only during weekends there are tours in English but during school holidays its every day.

Thank Ada2312
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Ada2312, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear you liked the guided tour so much! We hope to welcome you again some day. Kind regards, Romy Meijer on behalf of the Prison Gate Museum

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

You have to go on the tour when visiting the prison, which is not a problem, but the tour was very disappointing. There were international visitors, but they were given an audio tour so the guide could do the tour in English which I thought...More

Thank Andrea v
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Andrea v, Thank you for taking the time to review the Prison Gate Museum. We are sorry to hear that you experienced the tour as disappointing. Most of our tours are in Dutch and international visitors are offered an English audioguide, so we are...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

There is a prison for poor people and the prison for rich people. Quite different. The torture chamber also, with tiles because the cleaning lady complained that it was difficult to clean... Definitely worthwhile!

1  Thank RobAd
Romy M, Public Relations Manager at Prison Gate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear RobAd, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear your visit was worthwhile and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Romy Meijer on behalf of the Prison Gate Museum

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Umami By Han Den Haag
368 reviews
.08 km away
BIT Grill and Cafe
516 reviews
.07 km away
Los Argentinos
306 reviews
.16 km away
Jamey Bennett
114 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Binnenhof & Ridderzaal (Inner Court & Hall of the Knights)
695 reviews
.13 km away
Passage
163 reviews
.14 km away
ProDemos
68 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Prison Gate Museum staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit