We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Context Berlin Tours

Neighbourhood:
Neukolln
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: Anzengruberstr. 14, 12043 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number: +49 30 88789331
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Description:

Context organizes scholar-led walking tours of Berlin that are capped at...

Context organizes scholar-led walking tours of Berlin that are capped at six people maximum. The aim is to create an in-depth learning experience with a lot of back and forth between the participants and the guide, who is usually a university professor or researcher.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 100.00*
and up
Berlin Third Reich Small-Group Walking Tour Including Topography of Terror
More Info
USD 71.87*
and up
Private Tour: Berlin Art Galleries Walking Tour
More Info
USD 71.87*
and up
Private Tour: Walk the Berlin Wall with a Historian Guide

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 51 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Pergamon tour

Sara was a great tour guide for our Pergamon visit. There were 4 of us. She was very knowledgeable, pleasant, enthusiastic and accommodated our curiousity. She even extended... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 October 2016
lotsablarney
,
Coronado, CA
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Coronado, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

Sara was a great tour guide for our Pergamon visit. There were 4 of us. She was very knowledgeable, pleasant, enthusiastic and accommodated our curiousity. She even extended our tour at least an extra hour and a half to cover the second floor. Clearly , she knew her history!

Helpful?
Thank lotsablarney
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello lotsablarney, Thanks very much for sharing your experience! It sounds like you caught your docent on a lucky day when she had plenty of time to spare - great that you could explore even more of the Pergamon's wonderful collection with her. Don't forget to come back in a few years' time when the Pergamon Altar is back on... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

My husband and 2 young daughters recently took a Context Tours 'Bike the Wall' tour. As it transpired, we had the docent to ourselves, and were excited at the prospect of a 'private tour'. However, with the benefit of having done a number of Fat Tire Tours in France, this tour was very disappointing. Whilst our docent was well informed... More 

Helpful?
Thank SRKB666
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello SRKB666, Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the Biking the Wall tour. We're very sorry to hear that you experience with us in Berlin didn't meet your expectations, especially since the weather also didn't put its best foot forward for you! We promise our clients exceptional experiences, rain or shine, and we apologise for the disappointment. We've just reached... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016

Context nailed it again with a great tour of Jewish history in Berlin. Our docent Finn was very charming and highly knowledgable about many aspects of Berlin history (particularly the topic of our tour). He gave us some really insightful perspectives on the city and what it's like to live there as an expat. And he had that A+ tour... More 

Helpful?
Thank TxTree
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello TxTree, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. We think Berlin is a particularly fascinating city in which to learn about Jewish history and hope that your walk has sparked your curiosity further. Looking forward to having you with us again! More 

Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

Maybe Context does a good job for some people and in some places, but my experience has been one of constant errors and no-shows and misinformation, in both their Berlin and New York City operations. I was scheduled to take an Art Tour of Berlin on September 3, 2016 and had received an email conformation of the tour. But two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dickgrote
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello dickgrote, We're sorry to hear that your experiences with us haven't met your expectations. We're following up internally with our Central Europe team to figure out what went wrong with your tour in Berlin - it's certainly not to anyone's benefit if a tour simply doesn't happen! Many thanks for bringing this to our attention. More 

Highland Park, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Wonderful, full of info but not too much. Great guide known as Harry. A perfect way way to see a city or just parts of it and very affordable. 5 stars from us.

Helpful?
Thank seco2020
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello seco2020, Thank you for your kind words - we're glad to hear that we could help make your stay in Berlin memorable and immersive. It would be our pleasure to have you back with us again! More 

Chevy Chase, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

We were very excited to take this tour, and when our flight was cancelled from the US, we called right away to let them know that we'd need to reschedule. They went ahead and charged us anyway since it was within the 48 hour window and wouldn't let us use a credit to book another day that week. I would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pskdc
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello pskdc, Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We usually make every effort to be flexible when it comes to things like flight delays, as issues like that are obviously out of your control - we've been in that position ourselves and know how frustrating it is, so we wouldn't want to add further stress. We're surprised and very... More 

Boston MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I try to do a Context tour in every new city I visit. I've never had a bad tour. I love how small and personally tailored they are. The guides are fantastic - knowledgable and flexible. Always willing to go deeper into a topic or veer off the beaten path.

Helpful?
Thank cmbassett
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello cmbassett, We love hearing from clients like yourself who have sought out Context tours in Berlin and all over the world. Thank you for your kind comments - we hope you'll be back soon to explore more of our cities with us! More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

We did two Context Tours and both were excellent. These are great tours for people who hate walking behind someone with an umbrella in a big group of people. Finn Ballard was very friendly and did a great job brining Nazi Germany back to life. I particularly enjoyed Divided Berlin because our guide, Robert Sommer, is an East Berliner and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello Jackie, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us in Berlin. We dislike huge, impersonal tour groups following behind a bobbing umbrella just as much as you do and are glad that we could provide you with an alternative! Hope to have you back with us soon. More 

Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

My husband, 12 year old daughter and I spent three days in Berlin (8/8 - 8/10/16) as part of a 12-day trip to Germany and the Czech Republic; our travel agent had set up a personal "Insider Tour" for us on our first morning in Berlin. Our guide Finn met us at the lobby of our hotel and after a... More 

Helpful?
Thank C G
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello C G, We're glad that we could help start your stay in Berlin off on the right foot. There's so much to see and learn here that it can be overwhelming on your first visit! We hope you're inspired to come back soon and explore with us further - or to find us in one of our other cities... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016

Our trip to Berlin would not have been complete without our Context tour. Finn, our docent, was amazing. His knowledge of the Wall gave us such insight into the history of Berlin and answered so many questions. Having someone who knows the history and can point out things you would most likely just walk by, and not know the significance... More 

Helpful?
Thank suefrompdx
ContextTravel, Manager at Context Berlin Tours, responded to this review

Hello suefrompdx, Thanks for sharing your experience in Berlin with us! It's great to hear that your walk sparked your interest in the Wall and this period in the city's history. We hope you peppered your docent with questions - we love hosting curious travelers who want to know more about the amazing places they visit. More 

Travellers who viewed Context Berlin Tours also viewed

 

Been to Context Berlin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Context Berlin Tours and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Context Berlin Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Neukolln

Neighbourhood Profile
Neukolln
No Berlin neighbourhood is more popular with the young and jet-set crowd than the old worker's district of Neukölln. With so many Turkish settled here, the area became known as “Little Istanbul“. Today the percentage of foreigners is still high and visitors still frequent the Turkish shisha bars. In the daytime, they also visit the designer shops and sit by the canal in one of the street cafés up and down Westerstrasse or at Maybachufer, having a beer and waving to the sightseeing boats as they float by. But at night, Neukölln is dominated by increasingly young, alternative, and international crowds. This is particularly evident in the northern section of the district where there are many bars, funky clubs, galleries and restaurants. There, the night never seems to end.
Explore this neighbourhood