Atelier de Cezanne
Message from Tripadvisor
Closed until 31 Mar 2025

Atelier de Cezanne

Atelier de Cezanne
4
Speciality MuseumsHistoric SitesPoints of Interest & Landmarks
Temporarily closedClosed until Mar 31, 2025
About
It is here, on the Lauves’ hill amid his dearest familiar objects: the models of his ultimate still lifes, his furniture and work equipment that you will feel the most intensely the full presence of the painter. From 1902 to his death in 1906, Cezanne works daily in this bright studio, the birthplace of dozens of works now preserved in the great museums of the world, among them the last Bathers. The studio has a gift shop, regularly hosts temporary exhibitions and organizes cultural and gastronomic gatherings during the season. Coffee break and refreshments on site.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience Atelier de Cezanne and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • belgaicas
    Sydney, Australia675 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely little visit
    While in Aix for two days, we had a Cezanne day. We started off here and then walked through the town stopping at the house where he was born, his art school, where he was baptised and married and ending with his grave. This is his studio, as he left it. It is quite moving to stand there where he stood, with the huge window and the props for his painting. How wonderful that it is still there. There is a video showing in the garden shed and you can walk through the garden. Lovely.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 23 September 2023
  • Tlk1967
    Olathe, Kansas48 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Don’t miss this!
    Wonderful 30 minute guided tour! We then had time to explore gardens! Very interesting! Walk is uphill to get here. Restrooms on site with small refreshments in gift shop. Friendly staff. Milo our tour guide was great!
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 21 October 2023
  • Newbie traveler
    Cambridge, Massachusetts3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Just beautiful!!
    We had a great experience at the atelier unlike other recent reviews. We were there the day the folks didn’t get there tickets. They were disappointed for sure but were really hostile to the staff. We found everyone in Provence to be extremely helpful in spite of our limited French. Just like we don’t speak French other people don’t speak English and we need to be a little more patient in understanding each other. The atelier was wonderful, one of the best spots in Aix. When you see Cezanne paintings after visiting there you will recognize many of the objects he painted. And the gardens are beautiful.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 27 October 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,287 reviews
Excellent
447
Very good
404
Average
247
Poor
106
Terrible
83

Andre Graciotti
Sao Paulo, SP37 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
Sorry to say this, but this place is a joke and a disrespect to tourists. It's 13 euros to be in a single room full of mostly replicas where you can only look around while you read a booklet (if you are too lazy to read, they offer you an audio guide with the same material for even more additional cost!). And if you go there around 5pm like we did, good luck, because they don't have lights inside you can't see anything properly.
Not to mention the garden outside, which looks like it was forgotten and in need for some care and attention for some years now. Serioulsy, this is the most disappointing thing of our trip to France. Just skip this and go see his real paintings in other museums around the world.
Written 28 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Exploration504744
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Family
Staff lies. Arrived at atelier at 11:15 am. Two of us visiting were told there were two tickets available at 12 noon for self guided tour. Were told by employee at entrance to look around grounds and return at 12 noon. We walked around, purchased a few items at gift shop and at 11:45 returned to gate to purchase tickets. We were told there were no tickets available: someone suddenly just purchased them online a moment before we tried to purchase ours. We asked why we were told there were two tickets available and why we weren't told to buy them when we arrived. Same female employee who greeted us and told us tickets were available said she never gave us that information. Staff lies. Don't patronize this atelier. Don't give them your money. We left. Will not give money/pay for tickets to a place that has rude workers who lie.
Written 16 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

nuriel a
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Couples
We have purchased tickets and based on the fact the the web site did not function well have received 3 tickets for 12.00 while the 4th indicated a wrong visit hour - -9.30.
Although ticket cost only euro6.50 I have contacted the office explaining what happened but they refused to refund us saying “we do not refund”. The fact that it wasn’t my fault made no difference to Anthony. We were left with a bad feeling that they couldn’t care less about the tourists. We are traveling for a month in south of France and happy to say that the attitude shown to us all over the places is very positive and kind ,only in this location we found a rude behavior.shame on you Anthony.
Written 25 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Habi O'Grady
Cambridge, UK11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019 • Family
You get to know Cezanne as if he was standing next to us showing us around his workshop, with all the still life models, the tools he used to paint the Montagne Sainte Victoire which will lead him to create the master pieces we are familiar with today. It is the second time I visit. I will go back again as soon as I am around Aix en Provence. A unique expérience.
Written 14 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your great review. We’re glad to hear you had a good time visiting the studio. Hope to see you again! Yours sincerely
Written 18 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

WorldTravellerfromGB
London, UK196 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2023
We visited Aix on a cruise excursion and decided to book tickets to Cezanne’s studio the day before on the ship via the wifi. It is a must do as there are only 20 or so visitors per half an hour,

Essentially you get to see one large room which was Cezanne’s studio. As long as you are prepared for this then you will enjoy it. It has so many artefacts and the audio guide (additional charge) will talk you through what you are seeing. There are also printed booklets (free) that you can borrow that has the same content.

Well worth also downloading the official “In Cezanne’ Footsteps” Aix app which helps to immerse you in what he loved about the place. It then geo locates you to different places in town with a link to him e.g. his apartment in the centre of town vs the studio that he used to walk up hill to each day before returning in the evening to town. He did this well into his 60s.
Written 15 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Plastiplasti
Malaga, Spain42 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Couples
The attraction consisted of one room, being the studio, with random objects used by Cezanne in some of his paintings.
No one in our group could understand the English used by the French girl who gave a twenty minute talk about the artist.
Outside there is a track through a ‘garden’ which lacked any actual flowers and a small room where a video played.
Don’t bother….seriously. Just read about Cezanne or watch something on YouTube about him.
Written 19 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sir or Madam, We are sorry to read that you were not moved by Paul Cézanne's studio. The studio is a unique place that was personally designed by the painter, and where he kept all his most treasured possessions. It may be a humble studio, but it was here that Cézanne painted pictures that are now exhibited in the world's greatest museums. The studio is not an attraction, but a site of remembrance and inspiration. Best regards Florence
Written 21 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hubert T
Chicago, IL33 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Solo
this is a badly managed re-creation of Paul Cezanne’s final home and studio. Although he lived here, they don’t own the actual objects that appear in his art. Book ahead online if possible. They choose to keep capacity low by bringing in groups for self guided tours, instead of letting people flow continuously. Also, they choose to close each midday so they can all eat lunch at the same time. (I always got lunch, but we stayed open.) they have no working toilets and no refreshments. There’s no parking anywhere around there. It is in a hilly residential district with walls close to the road. The closest garage is 1/3 of a mile away past a steep hill and bridge. Allow extra time and strength if you use it. they have a nice video and a backyard displaying someone else’s paintings you can wander through. They call it a garden.
Written 4 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all feedback although it is extremely disappointing to receive a complaint like this, we will be sure to deal with this internally to ensure this does not happen again. The studio is a unique place that was personally designed by the painter, and where he kept all his most treasured possessions. It may be a humble studio, but it was here that Cézanne painted pictures that are now exhibited in the world's greatest museums. The studio is not an attraction, but a site of remembrance and inspiration. Best regards Florence, responsable des démarches de progrès
Written 5 May 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Womonwriter
Huntsville, AL153 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Friends
The walk from downtown Aix to the atelier was said to be 15 minutes, but it took us about 30 minutes, almost all uphill, where we learned that it closed from 12;30 to 2. So we waited on the street with others until the gate opened at 2. And then we learned that if we didn’t have a reservation we could not go into the house. We didn’t have a reservation, nor did the others who had been waiting. Neither guidebooks nor the signs there recommended reservations. We were able to walk around the grounds, which were unremarkable. What was really good was a short movie playing on a loop in a shelter on the grounds. We really did enjoy that. It was about Cezanne’s paintings and included a lot of quotations from his writing about art.
Written 10 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Rose N, we are very sorry to read that you could not visit the studio because you had not reserved. We hope you will have the opportunity to come and visit us on a future day. Best regards Florence, responsable qualité
Written 2 June 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wondereyes
Bucharest, Romania2,588 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2022
I love painting when i was young and French painters are the ones I would love to hear about. So, the opportunity to visit Cezanne working place was on my list of things to see here.
The work place is not big, you will visit only one room, and most important book in advance. Even the room visited is big, the group allowed once inside in around 12 persons. Enghlish guided tours are rare. Tour takes around 30 minutes.
The garden is left natural, it looks like neglected.
In a space close to the house you can see a video about Cezanne.

I was a bit disapointed as I expected more.
Written 22 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your review. Yours sincerely Florence, responsable qualité
Written 23 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kleintje65
Amstelveen, The Netherlands32 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Couples
€6,50 to visit the atelier. Hardly anything there to make it more than just an old, messy big room with a big window. Guided-tour-lady was so loud that even the last bit of ‘atmosphere’ disappeared.
Put a wax statue of Cezanne there or e.g. the Hotel de Caumont has a very nice movie about him. Something appealing.
For me it was a boring waste of time and money.
Written 2 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry that you were not moved by Paul Cézanne's studio. The studio is a unique place that was personally designed by the painter, and where he kept all his most treasured possessions. It may be a humble studio, but it was here that Cézanne painted pictures that are now exhibited in the world's greatest museums. The studio is more than a museum, but a site of remembrance and inspiration. Yours sincerely, Florence
Written 8 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 521
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Atelier de Cezanne - All You MUST Know Before You Go (2024)

All Aix-en-Provence HotelsAix-en-Provence Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
All things to do in Aix-en-Provence
Day Trips in Aix-en-ProvenceAmusement Parks in Aix-en-Provence
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars