We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Roses

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Sun Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5NX, England
Phone Number:
+44 1684 295074
Website
Today
10:30 - 19:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:30 - 19:30
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 13:30

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 81 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 47
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Check what's on

I was staying in Tewkesbury and noticed this on TripAdvisor, so I checked what was on. Very glad I did, nice theatre, comfortable and fairly compact, easy to get to. If you're in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rosetogo
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was staying in Tewkesbury and noticed this on TripAdvisor, so I checked what was on. Very glad I did, nice theatre, comfortable and fairly compact, easy to get to. If you're in the area see what's on.

Helpful?
Thank Rosetogo
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The newly re-vamped Roses is a good place to visit, with newly designed foyer and cafe bringing it bang up to date. Good programme of exhibitions, theatre, workshops and film.

Helpful?
Thank Dunlop-family
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Since this theatre has been refurbished, there is a very nice cafe area before a show starts at the entrance to have a drink/coffee/tea. Very nice.

Helpful?
Thank m0050
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I was absolutely disgusted with the poor level of customer service I received from this Theatre. My friend and I had booked tickets to see Cinderella, we were informed the day of the show that it was to be cancelled, we understood the reasons behind this and were happy to choose another show to see, as the next showing of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sammie B
TheRosesTewkesbury, Manager at The Roses, responded to this review

Dear Sammie, We are very sorry you feel this way. It should have been made clear to you that the reason we asked for an extra £6 was simply that the ticket prices for the other ballet cost more than for Cinderella. We have no control over this; each show is priced individually and although we would have loved to... More 

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Circus of Horror at the roses was an excellent very well done show, but not for the prudish but I loved it thanks you for a great fun night out & hope it come back soon , Had a great coffee in the cafe the staff where friendly and the whole night was very well organised very clean and over... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tim477
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The wife and I love to pop into The Roses for a coffee whenever we're in town and not just when we're seeing a show or a film. The coffee is excellent and not overpriced like in the chain high street coffee places. However much we love the coffee in recent visits we've noticed an inconsistency in our orders. Sadly,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

A a.al friendly theatre. Good selection of films and love events. Bar upstairs nice. Reasonable prices. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2017

we attended just before Christmas. it was great to have a guy play Robin Hood for a change and the two "dames" had sufficient innuendo to make the panto great for adults too. Great audience participation lots of characters running around the seats. my grandson age 4 loved it too.

Helpful?
1 Thank fwalker2016
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Have gone to the Roses Theatre for many years for the Christmas panto And it saddens me to write this The script was painfully weak My 2 year old granddaughter loved it last year But this year because the script was so flat in lots of places she and a number of child were just so bored and I was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fran G
TheRosesTewkesbury, Manager at The Roses, responded to this review

I am sorry that this years pantomime was not to your satisfaction. The Roses prides itself on the quality of our pantomime and this year has been no exception with some amazing feedback and many customers returning to see it a second time. I will feed your comments back to our production team. I hope you visit us again in... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Staying at Tewkesbury from the 8th - 10th December and saw the show on the 8th they did Christmas songs it was a fantastic performance they went a bit longer with the show as well which was great that was a bonus! The staff and volunteers are all very nice and helpful! Lovely lady on the coffee part sorry don't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P

Travellers who viewed The Roses also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Roses and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Northampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cannock, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Roses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?