We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Blackrock | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
+353 91 522 033
Website
Today
07:00 - 12:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 12:00
Description:

18 Hole Championship Golf Course overlooking world famous Galway Bay

Buggy...

18 Hole Championship Golf Course overlooking world famous Galway Bay

Buggy Hire

Motorised Caddy Car Hire

Pro - Shop

Full bar and catering facilities

Practice Area

Short Game area

Putting Green

Dr. Alastair McKenzie designed course

Course located on the Wild Atlantic Way

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 67 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Super Golf Course in Salthill,Galway

I organise a Group of 12 golfers playing in different parts of Ireland and being from Dundalk travelling time has been a factor in not visiting Galway. Not any more - With the... read more

Reviewed 22 April 2016
DaveLouth
,
Louth
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Louth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2016

I organise a Group of 12 golfers playing in different parts of Ireland and being from Dundalk travelling time has been a factor in not visiting Galway. Not any more - With the motorway it is now less than 3 hours door to door This course is as good a parkland course as you will find in Ireland with great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLouth
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear DaveLouth, Many thanks for your review of your visit to our Club. I was delighted to read that you and your fellow golfers enjoyed your time with us so much. We would be delighted to welcome you back to us on some future date. Kind regards, Dave Kelly General Manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

This golf course has it all! Has a great view of the Aran islands and beautifully kept greens. We arrived around 7pm to buy some things from the pro shop but it had closed. We asked the bartender up stairs if we could get in and she didn't have access but went out of her way to find the pro... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Member, Thank you for your review of our Club. I was delighted to read that you had such a positive experience upon your recent visit. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our Pro David and the relevant bar staff who obliged. Kind regards, Dave Kelly General Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

I read the reviews from other people about this course & after bringing my clubs half way around the world, I thought I would give it a try. I play golf at least twice a week & I have played many courses around the world & don't mind paying good money for good golf but the sub standard greens I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ranchorulers
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Ranchorulers, Thank you for your recent review of our course. I am of course dissapointed to read that you were not happy with the experience on the day and apologise that you left us with a poor opinion of our offering. As we don't appear to have a contact number for you please contact me direct on gm@galwaygolf.com or... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Should you stay in Salt Hill District of Galway, you can literally walk to this lovely course! There are 4 holes directly on Galway Bay ( a tunnel from clubhouse and rest of holes get you there). If you get the itch, they do rent clubs as well. Pro shop and restaurants on site ( yes, they have Guiness! ).... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank MikeShaler
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for your review of our Club. We are glad that you visited with us - hopefully you will return and get the back 9 played at some stage. Hit em straight is right! Kind regards, Dave Kelly General Manager More 

dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

This is a fine course and was very difficult as we played in the wind and rain. The holes at the sea front were hard due to the conditions. Greens were fair but difficult and some holes lined with trees which if your not straight can cause a problem or two !! It is a course I will play again... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pagero
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear pagero, Thank you for your review of our Club and indeed your recent visit. We hope to welcome you back to us at some future date and in better weather. Kind regards, Dave Kelly General Manager More 

Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We ate here on recommendation from a friend on a very wet Friday night recently , I had a steak dish while the family had fish and chicken dishes . The staff here are lovely very efficient , the food and service can only be described as excellent .If your visiting Galway try here you won't be disappointed we've will... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Oldardmachian
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Oldardmachian, Many thanks for your review of your dining experience at the club. I was delighted that you rated us so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back to us on some future date. Kind regards, Dave Kelly General Manager More 

Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We had dinner here last month because it was next to our B&B. I had a really delicious seafood bake and my husband had fish and prawns on pasta. Both dishes were absolutely delicious and had gigantic portions. We could have shared easily. Beautiful presentation too. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
3 Thank pandabear6
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Pandabear6, Many thanks for your kind review of your recent dining experience at our club. I was delighted to read such positive comments and thank you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your evening with us. Kind Regards, Dave Kelly General Manager More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We had our dinner here. I had the pasta and chicken. It was nice but not outstanding. Lots of vegetables and potatoes served with the other dinners, keeping the hungry golfers happy.

Helpful?
1 Thank trish4217
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Trish 4217, Thank you for your review of your dining at Galway Club. We hope to see you in the club again soon. Kind regards, Dave Kelly General Manager More 

MA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2014

We had a rainy day but that actually really helped us enjoy the day. The course was empty so we took our time. NO CARTS so be ready for a long day of walking. The course is affordable, well maintained, and easily accessible from downtown Galway. Would go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dougboat
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Bumpynen, Thank you for your review of the club. Please note that we do offer both cart and buggy hire on site. I was delighted to read that you rated us as affordable, well maintained, and easily accessible from down-town Galway. Hopefully we will see you again in Galway soon. Kind regards, Dave Kelly General Manager More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
300 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2014 via mobile

Well on a fine day this is the place to best A testing links course First four holes beside the beach Then some magnificent views as you play the back nine looking across Galway bay We will return

Helpful?
3 Thank Joe C
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Nutime08, Thank you for your review of our club. We were delighted to read of your positive experience and we look forward to hopefully having you return. Kind regards Dave Kelly General Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Galway Golf Club also viewed

 
Oughterard, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Galway Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?