We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Olympia Theatre

Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 72 Dame Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
+353 1 679 3323
Website
Description:

Much loved old theatre, highly respected by locals and visitors alike....

Much loved old theatre, highly respected by locals and visitors alike. Always busy, showing a variety of plays, musicals, pantomime, comedy as well as numerous gigs by Irish and International rock and pop artists.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 326 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 156
    Excellent
  • 88
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
BellX1 gig

Attended gig..New cars are stunning..massive portraits in the portrait bar, Brendan Gleeson one particularly striking..11.60 for 2 pints of Coors light. Sone of barstaff unable to... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 days ago
conkubar
,
Dublin, Ireland
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Attended gig..New cars are stunning..massive portraits in the portrait bar, Brendan Gleeson one particularly striking..11.60 for 2 pints of Coors light. Sone of barstaff unable to process 2 orders at once.really gets on my wick, especially when you are paying top dollar for drink that you must queue for ages, like to old m50 toll bridge

Helpful?
Thank conkubar
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review conkubar, glad you enjoyed Bell X1 and the new bars! Will pass your feedback onto bar management, sorry to hear you weren't happy with service. Please don't hesitate to ask a manager for assistance in future if you have any issues at all, they'll sort you out on the spot. We hope to welcome you again... More 

donegal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went to see Cinderella and Yer Wan.. What a show! Thoroughly entertained from beginning to end. Great production, music, dancers, it had it all! Polly G was hilarious. Sitting at the front meant we were "picked on" but all in good fun. So glad we made the trip, well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank traveldoll11
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review traveldoll11, definitely takes a brave person to sit in the front rows in front of Al Porter, it's hard to escape him!! We hope to see you again soon, thanks from all at The Olympia. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went to see Catfish & the Bottlemen in November and I was surprised how good this small intimate venue was. Brilliant sound and atmosphere in this place, would definitely go again

Helpful?
Thank Liam_Furniss
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Thanks a mill for the review Liam, we hope to welcome you again soon for more great gigs! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the ugly sisters and yer wan panto, it was wonderful. We were a group of 7, old and new :) (ages 6 - 79) This is a beautiful theatre, absolutely gorgeous. Very easy to find, drinks and food reasonably priced. Easy access to bathrooms and seats, I don't think there is a bad seat in the house. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank JayandMaureen
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Thank you JayandMaureen, your review & feedback means a lot! Delighted to hear you all had such a great time. We look forward to welcoming you & your family in future! Thanks from all the staff of The Olympia Theatre More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

love this venue, easy to find, very old fashioned and brilliantly organised. visited for a gig and the first 100 people are given wristbands for the front section which has guards on at all times meaning its safer and much better to view the acts. cloakroom was easy to access, bars were very reasonably priced. staff were extremely welcoming. shame... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nm-xo
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review Nm-xo, hopefully we'll see you again in the future! More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to see The Ugly Sisters and yer wan. Theatre has been renovated. Still looks like an old theatre, but in good nick. pantomime was very funny, especially when they went off script.

Helpful?
Thank TMC825
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Thanks for the review TMC825, glad you enjoyed the show! More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Can't write a review of the venue without first saying that the panto I saw here The Ugly Sisters and Yer Wan which was outstanding . 10/10. Anyway back to the venue , it really is old world charm and tbh I'm not really seeing the huge renovation that's supposed to have occurred but if It didn't bother me as... More 

Helpful?
Thank robertwalshe
OlympiaTheatre, General Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Hi robertwalshe, thanks a million for your review, much appreciated! More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

I went to the kids panto last night. 'The two Ugly Sisters and your one' it was their first night and they did super. I really have to say I enjoy Al Porter very witty and lots of fun jokes for the adults that the kids were oblivious to. Great costumes, dancing ,singing and snow which went on the audience... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jambacy
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Hi Jambacy, many thanks for your review, I can assure you we take customer feedback very seriously. Can you please get in touch with us directly so we pass onto management who can investigate your issues and contact you directly? We look forward to hearing from you soon More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

The security here are uptight and rude. Even simple questions seem to piss them off. They rush you into and out of the building. Apparently socializing with other theater goers is a deadly sin. These guys carry themselves more like Russian prison guards than fine Irish gentelmen. I doubt I would attend another show here again because of them.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn F
OlympiaTheatre, Front Office Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Hi Jenn, we're disappointed to read your review of the contract security staff at The Olympia. We've actually already received 3 emails this week raving about how friendly and polite and helpful they've been of late, so your feedback is very different and surprising. Can you please email us full details including date, approximate time, location in the theatre and... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience! The Theatre is located within walking distance of any city centre hotel, it is steeped in history & has been allowed to retain all of it's old charm & character, which creates an intimate atmpsphere. The staff are friendly, & efficient at the same time. There are numerous excellent restaurants nearby to choose from, if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
OlympiaTheatre, General Manager at Olympia Theatre, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your glowing review Anne, delighted you enjoyed Dr Hook and your visit to The Olympia. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Merry Christmas from all at The Olympia! More 

Travellers who viewed Olympia Theatre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Olympia Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Olympia Theatre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?