We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Barcaldine, Oban PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1631 720386
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

Join us for a great family day out in the stunning surroundings of Loch...

Join us for a great family day out in the stunning surroundings of Loch Creran. Visit the Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, home to a spectacular aquarium as well as Scotland's leading Seal Hospital.

Journey through over 50 marine displays and get up close to majestic sharks, graceful rays and enchanting seahorses. Meet our adorable seals and hear the touching stories behind their rescues or visit our playful otters. Look out for rare red squirrels and other local wildlife as you explore our Nutkins Nature Trail or have an adventure in our Forest Adventure Play Area. Afterwards, take a well-deserved rest in our Shoreline Coffee Shop and soak up the best views of Loch Creran.

With fun talks and feeding displays as well as so much to see and do, there's plenty for the whole family to enjoy whatever the weather!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 743 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 279
    Excellent
  • 219
    Very good
  • 111
    Average
  • 53
    Poor
  • 33
    Terrible
February visit

Visited this on 14th February this year. We all had a great time . The lunch was good and my grandchildren really enjoyed their trip. It was quiet when we went but then it is only... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 days ago
Gyllar
,
Oban, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

743 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 695: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was lovely, we saw the seals being fed and the staff are brilliant. The place is well looked after and all the animals are very well cared for. Great for all ages!

Helpful?
Thank VonnieBonBon
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited this on 14th February this year. We all had a great time . The lunch was good and my grandchildren really enjoyed their trip. It was quiet when we went but then it is only February. Entrance fee is not cheap but you could spend most of the day here. Good for families.

Helpful?
Thank Gyllar
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I have visited here before years ago but my partner hadn't and he was pleasantly surprised and really enjoyed himself. We both did. The varieties of fish were very interesting. Love the seals and otters but there was only one otter so would have liked to have seen him have another otter in with him. We thought it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scoops_DC
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our Sanctuary. It's great that you enjoyed your visit and would recommend us to others. Lewis, our otter, sadly lost his partner Isla last year. At present we haven't found another mate for him, but our animal care team have been spending extra time with him and he is responding well and... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were quite disappointed, quite a nice place, but from my point of view, not a good value for the money paid (adult price 13.40 pounds). There are just a couple of aquariums, half of them were not available during our visit (they were in reparation / restoration process). The seals and the show was decent, but since we did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan S
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Apologies you were disappointed with your visit to our Sanctuary. On a positive note, it's great that you enjoyed watching our seal feeding and training display. I have noted that you paid the full on the door price for your tickets. Next time you visit please consider purchasing your tickets online in advance as you will save up to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great time here today, particularly enjoyed the otter and seal feeds/talks. Spent about an hour and a half here, including a quick walk around the aquarium. All areas seemed clean and the animals well looked after. Particularly enjoyed seeing the seal hospital and the video explaining the work done there. Would recommend to others and would love to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica040414
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the lovely 5* review of our Sanctuary. It's great to read that you enjoyed your visit and seeing some of our talks and feeds. It's also brilliant that you felt the animals were well looked after and the Sanctuary was clean as animal welfare is, of course, our top priority. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a return visitor, I was really disappointed. There is a feeling of neglect with many areas dirty, tank glass including the otter and seal so dirty you are unable to see them, the path outside the visitor centre covered in clumps of moss from the roof/ gutter. The new area which houses the turtles and Parana’s is a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roanna-Clark
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Apologies you were disappointed with your visit to our Sanctuary. On a positive note it's great that you enjoyed our rainforest area, turtles and Conservation Cove. It's also good to read that you found our staff to be friendly. As you have noted we are in the quiet period for the Sanctuary and as such this is when we... More 

Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great for all ages. Nice day out with lots to see & do . Not too far from Oban & kids will love being up so close to wildlife & sea creatures!

Helpful?
Thank Sunchaser172
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your lovely 5* review, it's great that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, More 

Stoke Mandeville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

The last time we came was in mid summer, and the sanctuary was very busy. The week before Christmas was perhaps not everyone's choice for a "fun-filled" visit, as much of the attraction of the sanctuary lies in the relationship between the work of the centre and its surroundings. However, this is not the sort of "attraction" that can just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review of our Sanctuary. It's great to read that you enjoyed your visit and seeing our animals. We do encourage people to visit in these quieter months for a much more personal experience and it's great that you were able to do that. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, More 

Glasgow
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

Not really worth the money, granted we were there out of season but there's not a lot to see, many tanks were empty, the whole place looks a bit shabby and tired. We were there with a toddler and bought tickets online at a discounted rate but still not worth what we paid. The cafe was closed there were no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coyle2017
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Apologies you were disappointed with your visit to the Sanctuary. At present our coffee shop is closed as we are in off-peak season. However our gift shop is selling hot and cold drinks and cakes/confectionary. It's disappointing you felt there was not a lot to see as we still have a full programme of talks and feeds, interactive touchpool... More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Before you enter the building there are some nice woodland walks and somewhere for children to play but then be amazed as you wander around the aquariums with some strange and beautiful fish and sea creatures.The seals and otters are so appealing and the staff do a fantastic job with the care and preservation of these creatures.A really nice experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank Goron58
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely 5* review of our Sanctuary. It's great that you enjoyed your visit and felt our animals were well cared for. We hope you'll visit us again in future. Kind regards, More 

Travellers who viewed The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?