We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clyne Farm Centre

Westport Avenue | Mayals, Swansea SA3 5AR, Wales
+44 1792 403333
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Horse Riding

Went out for hack here yesterday and really enjoyed. Nice clean yard with horses well cared for... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2017
holidaymaker1980
,
Cardiff- Wales
Challenge Valley has gone down hill

Apart from today, I took a youth group to Clyne about 10 years ago and remember the assault course... read more

Reviewed 20 August 2017
hippo_girl
,
swansea
Read all 94 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
400 year old converted Welsh farm overlooking Swansea Bay, offering self catering cottages, horse riding, weddings, camping and various outdoor activities for all ages. Clyne Farm Centre is the perfect base to explore the beautiful Gower Peninsula, Swansea, Wales. At the main Farm site there are 7 converted stone cottages with sleeping capacity ranging from 4 up to 16 with a total capacity of 35. Nearby in secluded woodland are 2 unique cottages which sleep 8 each and can be interconnected to sleep 16. In total 51 guests can be accommodated on a Self-Catering or Bed & Breakfast basis. Further accommodation is available in our camping areas. Campers can choose to stay in a traditional camping field area with showers and toilets nearby. More adventurous campers can opt to stay in a woodland camping site surrounded by ancient trees away from the main site. Clyne Farm Centre also offers a range of activities including horse riding, Challenge Valley the muddiest assault course in the world!, archery, climbing, raft building, problem solving, rock-hopping, abseiling, surfing, canoeing, mountain biking, clay pigeon shooting, paint balling, quad biking, and more! The Farm is suitable to host all types of events including weddings, birthday parties for all ages, fundraising campaigns, TV filming sessions, and photo shoots.
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good18%
  • Average7%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible27%
Travellers talk about
“horse riding” (11 reviews)
“the cottages” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Westport Avenue | Mayals, Swansea SA3 5AR, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1792 403333

Similar Things to Do in Swansea

Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Went out for hack here yesterday and really enjoyed. Nice clean yard with horses well cared for. I went out with Freya who was really friendly and checked that both myself and the horse were ok throughout the ride. Went on the woodland hack which...More

Thank holidaymaker1980
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your hack with us and that you felt safe. We work hard to ensure that all our hacks are well suited to the riding level of our customers. We will pass your kind...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Apart from today, I took a youth group to Clyne about 10 years ago and remember the assault course being well enjoyed. Also fond memories from about 25 years ago when I went as a child! Took my niece and nephew today and paid £100...More

Thank hippo_girl
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that Challenge Valley did not live up to your memories. The cargo net was out of action when you visited as it was being repaired. As you can appreciate we have to ensure that safely levels are...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Being told by Clyne Farm that it takes 1.5 to 2 hours and costing £25 per person, you expect a large obstacle course. Truth is that you are escorted round from one tepid obstacle to the other, with some of the obstacles being out of...More

1  Thank papadom2017
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that Challenge Valley did not live up to your expectations. The 1.5 to 2 hours is an estimation based on an average group and includes warm up and shower time. The course, unlike some other assault courses,...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Had booked to camp for two nights but was so disgusted we never stayed the smell of rodents in the reception was overwhelming . The two fields we were told we could camp in were poorly kept and small. Also you are not allowed to...More

Thank aliea456
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not stay with us. We keep two gerbils in the reception area, Sparky and Lambo, who are very popular with visiting children. We do not allow cars to park in the camping field as...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

I wanted to have the family altogether for our special wedding anniversary and give my grandchildren a farm experience.On arrival we were directed to a cottage 3 miles away up a narrow lane in the middle of woods.The cottage was isolated with no sea view...More

Thank lynda b
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. All points raised have been addressed. The property you stayed in is in a secluded woodland location which you should have been made aware of, our apologies if that was not the case. We...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Booked and paid for 2 nights, but decided not to stay. Reception and shop (!) absolutely filthy and smelt strongly of rodents. Fences broken and gates tied with baler twine, no way enough room for 60 pitches, grass not cut for years, rubbish in fields....More

1  Thank Jill C
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Apologies that you were disappointed upon arrival. We have onsite cleaning and maintenance staff to ensure that all areas are kept clean and tidy, the grass is mowed, and any litter picked. We will investigate why when you arrived the campsite did not meet your...More

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

The site is a farm on the elevated outskirts of Swansea, access is via a housing estate and a steep, rough track. Horseshoe cottage has good views over Swansea bay via big windows. It has a quite spacious living/dining area, which is well equipped, though...More

Thank TheSkeptic
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay. Apologies that there were some negative points, we will go through and review everything mentioned. We hope that you and your grandchildren will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 26 July 2017

I accompanied a group of charity children who experienced archery, the climbing wall and riding. The archery and climbing were fine although unremarkable but the riding was disappointing. They spent ages brushing the ponies whereas at 11 and 12 they just wanted to get on...More

Thank Mrs H
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

We are extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the riding section of your recent visit. We offered your group the option of another horse ride on the day but understand unfortunately that due to limited time you were unable to take up...More

Reviewed 27 June 2017

and 3 extra days with NO golf.here for a golfing trip ( played Langland Bay & Pennard ). Everyone was SO friendly ( thanks Christine ) and my partner went on an hours ride which she thoroughly enjoyed. The accommodation is rustic but had all...More

Thank David H
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hello Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned we are looking into the hot water noise. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We have so many lovely golf courses nearby,...More

Reviewed 26 June 2017

I was feeling aprehensive about staying here after I booked it and read the reveiws. I wasnt sure what to expect. especially with all the comments about spiders. Don't get me wrong I didnt expect it to be spider free as i was on a...More

1  Thank winstowoo
ClyneFarmStaff, General Manager at Clyne Farm Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hello Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you also for the feedback about the baking trays and steps, we will make sure they are all checked. Hope to see you and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mumbai
219 reviews
.91 km away
Woodman
791 reviews
1.17 km away
Dick Barton's Chipshop
72 reviews
1.58 km away
West Cross Tandoori
43 reviews
1.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clyne Gardens
455 reviews
.89 km away
Blackpill Lido
111 reviews
1.19 km away
Footgolf
15 reviews
1.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Clyne Farm Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit