We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retro Cardiff

7A Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1FL, Wales
+44 29 2034 4688
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing!

I visited retros for the first time this year and at first I was reluctant as I was unsure of what... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Natasha D
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
via mobile
Wouldn’t return

I have been going to retros for years and now I will never return. Rude dj, horribly rude... read more

Reviewed 2 July 2018
KLM1995
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 337 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good7%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“vip area” (36 reviews)
“hen party” (29 reviews)
“amazing night” (24 reviews)
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
7A Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1FL, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 29 2034 4688
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cardiff
from USD 16.20
More Info
from USD 36.40
More Info
from USD 16.20
More Info
from USD 36.40
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"vip area"
in 36 reviews
"hen party"
in 29 reviews
"amazing night"
in 24 reviews
"guest list"
in 13 reviews
"queue jump"
in 7 reviews
"booked vip"
in 6 reviews
"vip entry"
in 5 reviews
"cracking night"
in 5 reviews
"reserved seating"
in 3 reviews
"bangers"
in 3 reviews
"the birthday girl"
in 5 reviews
"birthday night"
in 3 reviews
"reserved area"
in 3 reviews
"bottle of prosecco"
in 4 reviews
"little touches"
in 4 reviews
"cheap drinks"
in 5 reviews
"lovely touch"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited retros for the first time this year and at first I was reluctant as I was unsure of what type of club it was and none of my friends had been there. However, once inside I had the best time ever! The music...More

1  Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Natasha, Thankyou so much for your five star review! So happy you all enjoyed! We hope to see you all again soon! Take advantage of our 2 for 9 cocktails when you next visit! Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

I have been going to retros for years and now I will never return. Rude dj, horribly rude bartenders acting like it’s our fault they’re in work on a Saturday night. Not welcoming or friendly at all just miserable not one smile at all from...More

Thank KLM1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi We are sorry to hear your time at retro wasn’t the best! If you would like to discuss further please call us or email directly at info@retrocardiff.co.uk then we can look into this for you. Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Visited at the weekend with the girls and had booked a cocktail making masterclass on Groupon at this venue. It was so much fun - we had our own area, the bartender 'Shakill' made it really special, and the cocktails were gorgeous.

Thank nj0nes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi We are so glad you enjoyed our cocktail masterclass, we appreciate your feedback on them. I will be sure to pass this on to shaq wjo no doubt will be delighted with the review! Hope to see you again soon Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Went with friends for drinks on a hen night, bar tender was quite rude and telling another member of staff that she was cheesed off with making cocktails, not great when people are waiting to be served and within earshot. Floor was really dirty that...More

1  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Booked a vip are for 27 people. Plenty of space, lovely decorations we had a wonderful time! Ellie was lovely at helping me organise everything and they even provided us with free shots on the night!More

1  Thank daniellelintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Danielle We are so pleased with the five star review! We are glad you had a lovely night! I will pass the message on to Ellie she will be delighted you had a great night! We hope to see you again soon here at...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Myself and 10 others went to Retros Cardiff for a hen party, we were a mixed aged group between 22-60. Ellie was great at helping me with organising and making sure the booking went smoothly! When we got there our table had been decorated and...More

Thank chl0eclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hi Chloe, Hen Parties are very important to us here at Retro and it really does make my day when I read reviews like this one! I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed, especially our drinks packages as they are great value for money! We...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

What a night! This place is brilliant. Great music and friendly staff. Rhys ran the cocktail masterclass and it was so much fun! I would highly recommend! Thanks to Rhys and all the staff & Tyler the photographer for making it a special night xxMore

Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi Victoria, This was a lovely way to start the week, thank you so much! Rhys and Tyler are both very happy that they made your night and I'm so pleased that everything went well for you. Good luck with the rest of the wedding...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Booked through Groupon and got an amazing deal. Ellie at the club also provided a fantastic drinks and VIP package. As a group we had a great evening and cannot wait to visit again

Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Tony, Thank you so much for this lovely review, I'm so happy that you all enjoyed. Our cocktail classes are proving to be very popular so we really do appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

-Entry was easy (lady allowed everyone to split the bill which saved me a massive headache) -Staff friendly -DJ excellent -VIP Area perfect -Plenty of drinks for everyone We had a really great, fun night. Perfect for Hen party or group

Thank jessicastovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Jessica, Thank you for your five star review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Retro and that the staff were as welcoming as always. Hope to see you again soon, Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Big thanks to Juan & Shack for our Cocktail Masterclass. Really enjoyable start to our evening. 5* for the Cocktail class and tuition -1* for the toilets and ‘aroma’ that greets you 😝More

Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Hi Caroline, Thank you for your review, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the masterclass and your time at Retro! In regards to the toilets I can only apologise, I've passed this on to our general manager so it will be dealt with asap. Kind...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 hotels in Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
1,595 reviews
.04 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
852 reviews
.10 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
2,453 reviews
.13 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
2,646 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Servini's Cafe
206 reviews
.06 km away
Cote Brasserie - Cardiff Central
750 reviews
.04 km away
Mocka Lounge Cardiff
309 reviews
.04 km away
Fresh
54 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cardiff Central Library
84 reviews
.07 km away
Royal Arcade
59 reviews
.18 km away
Cardiff Tourist Information Centre
55 reviews
.18 km away
Wyndham Arcade
6 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
carolemaddy
5 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Yes we do karaoke, there isn’t a fee at the door! We hope to see you soon!
0
Votes
Christina S
14 June 2018|
Answer
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Hi Christina Yes we only do kareoke on Thursday nights! We hope to see you here soon!
0
Votes
Georgina F
29 May 2018|
Answer
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Hi Georgina, We pay anything right through from the 80s to current chart toppers!
0
Votes