We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Mountain Experience

| LLywernog Silver-Lead Mine, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AB, Wales
+44 1970 890620
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Silver mountain it's great.

Me and my husband went here today. We found that it was a great place to visit. Be it just for... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Charlotte M
via mobile
Fun day out in the sun

Had a great day out here in the sun! Lots of things to do and the scenery is beautiful! Puzzles for... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Suzy F
,
Stone, United Kingdom
Read all 194 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A choice of Actor-led Experiences: The Black Chasm Orcs, Goblins, Wraiths & other Myths. Wales' scariest underground adventure. This experience is not for the faint hearted! Not recommended for under 10's. A Dragon's Tale Why risk the nightmare of Black Chasm when you can join the search for Grotty, Silver Mountain's mystical, secretive and shy dragon. Our new for 2014 actor-led adventure for families. Suitable for children from the age of 4yrs. A Miner's Life This guided tour immerses you in the original and rare setting of the mine, both above and below ground and helps you to discover the fascinating facts of mining life in by-gone times as it would have been seen through the eyes of a miner. Family-active 4 new hands-on features including Shroomy Challenge, Shroomy Circle, Giant's Button Puzzle, Giant's Pan Pipes. Woo Hoo Wood Younger members of the family will delight in the magic of Woo Hoo Wood where they can find their way through the Tangle-Foot Maze, search for the answers to the Woo Hoo Quest, glimpse the Kindlings' Tree Village or try a spot of Den-building - with some help from the grown-ups too! Gem / Gold Panning* Next to the Silver River Water Play area you can try your hand at panning for gems or for 'gold'. One of our most popular activities this is totally absorbing for young and old! * Modest charges apply Silver River Play Area Even more for the kids and the young at heart to enjoy with the chance to safely dam and divert the water in the wooden channels or paddle in the stream and carry on with the dam-building theme! (Crocs/footwear advised for paddling). Mining Exhibition This indoor museum holds one of the finest collections of hard rock mining machinery, tools and ephemera in Wales, reflecting the story of silver-lead ore extraction in the Cambrian Mountains over many centuries. Coffee Shop Our cosy coffee shop offers fresh from-the-bean coffees, teas, delicious hot chocolate, cold drinks and ices, hot soup, paninis, toasties, sandwiches, cold snacks and tempting cakes & muffins. Gift Shop Provides the chance to browse a fascinating and colourful display of gemstone & mineral gifts plus plenty of fun items for the kids to choose from too.
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“the dragon” (28 reviews)
“black chasm” (44 reviews)
“tour guide” (17 reviews)
LOCATION
| LLywernog Silver-Lead Mine, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AB, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1970 890620
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the dragon"
in 28 reviews
"black chasm"
in 44 reviews
"tour guide"
in 17 reviews
"panning for gold"
in 9 reviews
"woo hoo"
in 8 reviews
"gem panning"
in 7 reviews
"den building"
in 6 reviews
"fossil dig"
in 6 reviews
"a lovely young man"
in 2 reviews
"toasties"
in 4 reviews
"above ground"
in 5 reviews
"egg hunt"
in 3 reviews
"mining experience"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 14 reviews
"miners trail"
in 3 reviews
"immediate response"
in 2 reviews
"holiday club"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Me and my husband went here today. We found that it was a great place to visit. Be it just for yourselves or in a group or families. It is a great day out for everyone. Do not miss out give it a go. We...More

Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Charlotte, thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! From all of the Silver Mountain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Had a great day out here in the sun! Lots of things to do and the scenery is beautiful! Puzzles for all ages (i enjoyed them all!) and very informative tours for all ages! All of the staff are very friendly, the characters are brilliant,...More

Thank Suzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Suzy, many thanks for your brilliant review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon! From all of the Silver Mountain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were one of just two families there, pays to go during the school holidays if you don't like crowds. Friendly staff. NO facilities for disabled in wheel chairs, toilets are small so not usable for the disabled and it is as one would expect...More

Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Jeremy, thank you very much for your review. Carers and disabled persons are entitled to the concession ticket price of £11.50 compared to £12.95 for a normal adult. Wheelchair users we never charge for due to the restrictions on site, with it still being...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to visit this place due to our love of things underground. Plus it was boiling, and all we could think of was going somewhere we knew would be cool. LOL We were pleasantly surprised by what a great place it is, more fun...More

Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Mandy, thank you so much for your extremely lovely review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much, and we look forward to seeing you again. From all of the Silver Mountain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We thought it was rather apt to visit Silver Mountain in our 25th (silver) wedding anniversary. We had a fab time. The under ground mine was great with our personal “helper” who took us on a guided tour and threw in a few scares. I...More

Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Julie, thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and very much hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called midweek when very few visitors were about. We received a friendly welcome, and chose the 'Miner's Life' tour, we first had chance to enjoy 'Time Lab' interactive show prior to our tour. Both members of staff leading the tour and the show were...More

Thank Paulderbys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your brilliant review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we very much look forward to seeing you again when you come back. From all of the Silver Mountain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my daughter had a fantastic time there today. Lucas is very good tour guide.would recommend it to all types of ages.

Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Robert, thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you back again soon! From all of the Silver Mountain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Me and the Wife went here on our holiday to Borth. 30 mins from where we were staying. We did the Black Chasm tour which we enjoyed. If you don't like the dark however i wouldn't suggest it as it is at times pitch black.

Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Nathan, many thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our Black Chasm scare tour and your visit to Silver Mountain! Hope to see you back again soon, from the Silver Mountain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

On 1st impressions the park looks a little disappointing but once inside my children had a wonderful time. We have a 6 year old, 3 year old and a new born. We were greeted by a very friendly man (with fabulous nails) who made us...More

1  Thank fluteytoot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you back again soon, from all of the Silver Mountain team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Wife and I went as we were staying nearby. Had a really good time here, did the informative history tour and then the scary tour (on which we were the only 2 people, but the guide was absolutley fantastic). The people here were all lovely...More

Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Manager at Silver Mountain Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi Robert, many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and very much hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Aberystwyth
George Borrow Hotel
175 reviews
1.47 km away
White Lion Hotel
38 reviews
11.49 km away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
346 reviews
13.58 km away
Plas Antaron Hotel
127 reviews
13.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Kite Cafe
405 reviews
.07 km away
Hafod Hotel Restaurant
122 reviews
3.77 km away
The Druid Inn
282 reviews
4.30 km away
Tynllidiart Arms
179 reviews
7.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre
724 reviews
1.54 km away
Devil's Bridge Falls
811 reviews
3.69 km away
Rheidol Riding Centre
15 reviews
7.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
awayfromhome1970
8 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Lucie W | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your question. The Silver Mountain Experience is currently closed for the winter, but will re-open on 24th March (with the exception of the Paranormal Investigations special event on 24th February) for the... More
0
Votes
Aks18f
14 August 2017|
Answer
Response from BlueEmmaMac | Reviewed this property |
only to the main attraction, but not on the guided walks: there is more on the website
1
Vote
Jim W
19 April 2017|
Answer
Response from BlueEmmaMac | Reviewed this property |
yes, website open now
0
Votes