We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harewood House

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Share
Review Highlights
Bird Garden a Little Run Down

My wife and I went, Very good day enjoyed it cafe's expensive (but aren't they eveywhere) house... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gary K
Great family day out

We were a family group with children aged 4 and 6. Harewood was ideal for a family day with active... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Penny H
,
York, England, United Kingdom
Read all 1,107 reviews
771
All photos (771)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“walled garden”(97 reviews)
“bird garden”(238 reviews)
“state rooms”(52 reviews)
About
From the moment you arrive, Harewood captures your imagination and feeds your curiosity. It's a place filled with art, culture and heritage which continues to develop and thrive today. One of the Treasure Houses of England, the historic Georgian...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
As featured in 3 Days in Leeds
Contact
Harewood, Leeds LS17 9LG, England
Website
+44 113 218 1010
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Leeds
from USD 28.70
More Info
from USD 645.60
More Info
from USD 7.76
More Info
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveller rating
498
321
135
66
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
498
321
135
66
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden bird garden state rooms terrace cafe red kites chippendale furniture adventure playground second hand bookshop stepping stones servants quarters robert adam princess mary great british food penguin feeding freedom ticket the main house front of the house
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a family group with children aged 4 and 6. Harewood was ideal for a family day with active kids. Lovely to see a large herd of deer as we drove through the grounds. Good parking and toilets, then a short walk to the...More

1  Thank Penny H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I went, Very good day enjoyed it cafe's expensive (but aren't they eveywhere) house and gardens were excellent, but the bird garden looked a little tired, some of the pens were very overgrown and some seemed very small for the birds housed...More

Thank Gary K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here on our way to Harrogate. We are members of HHA so admission was free. It was half term and the grounds seem to cater for children. Adventure playgrounds, penguins, farm etc. We had lunch in the courtyard it was so noisy with uncontrolled...More

Thank Cookiescot
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I took our Grandson Ralph for a day out to Harewood House. We were not disappointed Ralph enjoyed the feeding of the Penguins also walking around the Bird garden and the grounds. We also looked around the interior of the house.Ralph also...More

1  Thank Bryan K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First visit to Harewood House since I was a child. I visited with my husband, mother eldest son and my granddaughter. We went on an adventure to find the ‘fairy tree’ and despite asking at last 3 members of staff it was never found much...More

1  Thank Lynnethie
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The whole estate is so well kept. I hadn't been since I was a child but thoroughly enjoyed my afternoon walking around the various gardens. The Terrace is absolutely beautiful but my favourite was the walled garden - an absolute feast for the senses!

1  Thank jeanzbeanz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its years since we visited Harewood. The inside of the house wasn't a favourite of our children, they found it a bit boring. Althought it's a lovely house it seems a bit tired when compared to some other great homes - the interaction is none...More

Thank Dawn T
HarewoodHouse, Public Relations Manager at Harewood House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, your comments are of value, and use, to us. We are continually using insight into our future planning and we have some exciting events planned for Christmas and for next year which have quite a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were Bitterley disappointed. Arranged a stay over so as to see Harewood Houseas it was our 41st wedding anniversary. We arrived only to be told the main state rooms of the house wasn’t open because of filming taking place. We are members of HHA...More

Thank Tatts
HarewoodHouse, Public Relations Manager at Harewood House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are extremely sorry that you had a disappointing visit to Harewood, particularly on such as special occasion and we can only apologise that the information on our website was not up to date. If you would like to contact us directly, we would be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I drove from Lincoln to Harewood House specifically to see the State Rooms. We had checked on line to find the opening times. However, when we got there we found that the State Rooms were closed. So, for us, an expensive waste...More

1  Thank MrChips186336
HarewoodHouse, Public Relations Manager at Harewood House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to Harewood and apologise that the information on our website was not up to date. If you would like to contact us directly, we would be happy to arrange a complimentary...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed a lovely day out here touring round the house and enjoying the gardens and grounds. It is well worth a visit. The views from the back of the house over Capability Brown's landscaping are great.

Thank Yorkterrier01
HarewoodHouse, Public Relations Manager at Harewood House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. Harewood House Trust.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 94 nearby hotels
The Harewood Arms Hotel
284 reviews
1.13 km away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
1,099 reviews
5.37 km away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
1,137 reviews
6.10 km away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
1,237 reviews
6.20 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,295 nearby restaurants
Shadwell Tandoori
49 reviews
4.78 km away
Charlie Brett's at The Allerton
248 reviews
5.12 km away
The Duke Of Wellington
33 reviews
5.03 km away
The Stables Restaurant
27 reviews
3.00 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 541 nearby attractions
Golden Acre Park
627 reviews
5.08 km away
York Gate Garden
88 reviews
5.66 km away
The Donkey Sanctuary Leeds
110 reviews
3.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Janet H
4 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AdrianJulian2017 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure as we pre-booked and never saw if they done concessions but I don't think so.
0
Votes
Chopalina
16 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from ppbretreat | Reviewed this property |
We visited Harewood in July and what a beautiful house. Not sure about the bird house because we didn’t go to that. The main garden looked lovely but the house was our main reason for going, sorry. P Fullard
1
Vote
372nickp
20 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from HarewoodHouse | Property representative |
Hello, Apologies for the delay, we have had a change in the team. You need a Grounds & Below Stairs ticket to access the playground, which is £12.50 adults and £7.50 children. Many thanks Harewood House Trust
0
Votes