We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Review Highlights
Uncomfortable.

Room was clean, bed was very very uncomfortable , shower was terrible . A minute wash basin. Will... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2016
Gordon C
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Disappointing visit

Lovely pub. Friendly landlord/bar staff. Have been visiting here over a number of years but hadn't... read more

Reviewed 28 May 2016
Sally G
,
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Read all 11 reviews
20
All photos (20)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good9%
  • Average9%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible27%
4 Nov 2016
“Uncomfortable.”
16 Sep 2016
“Completely disappointed”
About
A charming Suffolk gastro pub just 2 miles from the racing town of Newmarket. Friendly service, great atmosphere with 6 En suite letting rooms.
Contact
45 Chapel Street | Exning, Newmarket CB8 7HA, England
Website
+44 1638 577237
Call
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
4
1
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
4
1
1
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Room was clean, bed was very very uncomfortable , shower was terrible . A minute wash basin. Will definately not return.

2  Thank Gordon C
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This pub has kitted out rooms to make money with no aforethought for it's customers. The room was badly laid out, making it suffocating and oppressive. Breakfast is not included but we couldn't wait to get out both mornings. We arrived on a Monday afternoon...More

1  Thank Maudestan
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We live in the village and invited friends to come with us to the charity day bash. We had terrible trouble getting served, the landlords and staff would blatantly ignore you and serve those people who I assume we're friends or regulars even if you...More

1  Thank 603ronw
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

I am sorry your visit was so terrible. We had no idea we were going to be that inundated with people hence the lack of bar staff. I can assure you people were not blatantly ignored they were just extremely busy. As for you being...More

Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We had a family party here and booked 6 rooms for relatives. The staff were amazing and very friendly, they made us feel like nothing was to much trouble the whole weekend. The food for the party was great and plenty of, the breakfast was...More

Thank luciab06
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Lovely pub. Friendly landlord/bar staff. Have been visiting here over a number of years but hadn't been for a couple of years. Unfortunately food very poor and disappointing. Chips very over cooked unable to eat any of them Pasta carbonara in a thick mushroom sauce...More

Thank Sally G
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

I'm sorry you had a bad experience. We've had 3 very good reviews on other sites this week on our food and we very rarely get any complaints. We would be happy to offer you a free meal should you wish to return and once...More

Reviewed 25 May 2016

Popped in here for a quick lunch today and WOW! what a great surprise. The inside is nothing like the outside of this hidden gem (and it really is hidden). The staff were so friendly and attentive. I was surprised at the range of wines...More

Thank NinnynGrumpy
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Had Sunday Lunch with a group of friends including 8 children and I have to say it was a very pleasurable experience! Very well organised and friend staff, very good food and a great selection of drinks to suit all tastes at a very reasonable...More

Thank Robert M
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Thank you very much for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Friendly local as a pub. We stayed overnight and had an early start the next morning, but even though they were aware of this, our bedroom (4) was directly above the bar and very noisy jukebox. We expect some noise when staying in a pub...More

Thank essexgirl23
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

I would like to point out to other Tripadvisors we were not the owners of The Wheatsheaf at this time. We took it over in November 2015. Many thanks Carolyn and Chris

Reviewed 26 July 2015

Great food, top class, lovely venue, great staff, whether you are dining in the evening, or lunch time, or for Sunday lunch, you really cannot go wrong with eating here.

Thank Romana H
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Just returned from the Wheatsheaf after a three year absence, for a carvery lunch. Was somewhat surprised to find that the meat (lamb, beef or chicken) was pre-carved on the hot-plate. This, however, did not detract from the overall enjoyment of the food. The vegetables...More

Thank goodlookingsolly
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Rosery Country House Hotel
142 reviews
.29 km away
Cadogan Hotel
45 reviews
3.08 km away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
592 reviews
3.24 km away
White Hart Hotel
168 reviews
3.25 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 101 nearby restaurants
Sams@
39 reviews
1.48 km away
The White Horse
37 reviews
.32 km away
The Rosery Hotel & Restaurant
44 reviews
.29 km away
Studland House
29 reviews
.98 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 23 nearby attractions
Burwell Museum
35 reviews
2.97 km away
Palace House
357 reviews
3.40 km away
Chippenham Park
51 reviews
5.93 km away
The Black Horse Inn
7 reviews
6.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wheatsheaf staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines