We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turnpike Lichfield

Ryknild Street, Lichfield WS14 9XU, England
+44 1543 264604
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Not a good burger.

My husband and myself visited today for a rare meal together, lovery pub and polite staff but my... read more

Reviewed 4 May 2018
tonimorgan2901
,
Tamworth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Disappointing

I Visited the Turnpike on a Saturday lunchtime with my extended family who live locally. The staff... read more

Reviewed 30 April 2018
AndrewWhitby85
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
Read all 57 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Friendly venue with a welcoming atmosphere, serving food from 12-9 (12-8 Sunday). Local to the Lichfield Cathedral with new decor that gives a nod to Lichfield's famous past. The hub of the community, there for the community. New business owner and investment Jan2017
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (4 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
LOCATION
Ryknild Street, Lichfield WS14 9XU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1543 264604
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sunday carvery"
in 2 reviews
"steak"
in 4 reviews
"staff are great"
in 2 reviews
"other customers"
in 2 reviews
"lovely meal"
in 2 reviews
"few weeks"
in 2 reviews
"menu"
in 10 reviews
"marstons"
in 3 reviews
"pint"
in 4 reviews
"makeover"
in 2 reviews
"lad"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and myself visited today for a rare meal together, lovery pub and polite staff but my husbands burger was still mooing, I took it back to which they replaced just the burger as he had eaten his chips in which time I had...More

Thank tonimorgan2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I Visited the Turnpike on a Saturday lunchtime with my extended family who live locally. The staff were very polite and accomodating but the food was pretty horrible and very over priced. I had the Mixed Grill with a starter of Nachos. The meat especially...More

Thank AndrewWhitby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The Turnpike is very local to me so we go there quite often. Not an architectural masterpiece in terms of the building but a smashing local pub which we enjoy visiting. Family friendly, very decent & welcoming staff, extensive bar & food available at all...More

1  Thank helbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I have drank Guinness in many places. I must say I have found the best pint around. The staff are great always friendly. I've also had food here , I had a steak a few weeks ago and it was done perfect. So when the...More

Thank 15henry078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Owner at Turnpike Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear 15Henry, Thank you for your review and your time, the team and I really appreciate it. The team and I look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Having been a customer for over 15 years this pub has always been a typical local, with good staff and a menu to always find some nice meals. Unfortunately tonight was ruined by over a dozen kids who were left to their own devices by...More

Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Couple minutes .... 3 to be exact so missed out on meal deal. However, meals drinks ordered. Just going to eat salad to find a straggly hair across my tomato. Surly staff, no atmosphere a definite NO RETURN TO THIS PLACE.

Thank kerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Three of us went here for Boxing Day lunch The pub was only about half full but the service was poor waited over an hour for our food after ordering. When the food did arrive my daughter ordered a steak medium done,but it arrived well...More

Thank Andrew280159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Owner at Turnpike Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Andrew, We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. We would be more than happy to put this right for you if you pop in to see us again. You mentioned your experience with us is normally a good one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Having had this Boxing Day meal booked jncluding what to eat, the first thing we we were greeted with was one of the meals is not available. Sadly this was my daughter who had booked the meal. Later when the main meals came, one of...More

Thank forestman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Owner at Turnpike Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Forestman321, I am sorry you feel so strongly. I offered your complete party (including stephen s relating to the review below) a full refund before you ate and any food was cooked, which you refused. As I said, all the food on our Festive...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Cannot believe the service i have just received here, on boxing day. They had got the order wrong and the incompetent person who claimed to be the owner refused to refund. I am livid we were looking to have a nice family meal which was...More

Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Owner at Turnpike Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Stephen, I am sorry you feel so strongly. I offered your complete party (including forestman321) a full refund before you ate and any food was cooked, which you refused. As I said, all the food on our Festive Menu is cooked fresh and we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We had a couple of hours to get a meal.. The menu is good and the food reasonably priced, I can't fault it. We had burgers which were good quality. The service was good and we will be coming back to eat there again. It...More

Thank Fooffanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Lichfield
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1,115 reviews
1.69 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
592 reviews
1.83 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
438 reviews
2.19 km away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
381 reviews
3.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Margheri
240 reviews
1.40 km away
The Olive Tree
581 reviews
1.40 km away
Pizza By Goli
310 reviews
1.33 km away
1709 the Brasserie
660 reviews
1.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
273 reviews
1.57 km away
Garrick Theatre
231 reviews
1.45 km away
The Old Guildhall Prison Cells
52 reviews
1.56 km away
Take to Art Gallery
5 reviews
1.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rogerjenpep
16 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lichfi | Reviewed this property |
Yes, BT sport only not Sky. Good if you like rugby
0
Votes