We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bath Racecourse

Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: | Bath, Bath BA1 9BU, England
Phone Number:
+44 1225 424609
Website
Description:

A trip to Bath Racecourse is an exciting and unique way to spend an...

A trip to Bath Racecourse is an exciting and unique way to spend an afternoon or evening with friends and family. Ideally situated on Lansdown Hill overlooking the picturesque City of Bath, Bath racecourse is just a short bus or taxi ride from the City centre and offers exciting flat racing and premier hospitality. Steeped in history we have been racing since 1811 and host 19 flat racing fixtures between April and October. With a variety of weekends, evenings and weekday meetings to choose from, including popular family days and music nights, a trip to the races is a perfect addition to your stay in Bath.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 144 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Nice roof top

Good place to go for the evenings racing,however the rooftop blocked out the sun, and it does get chilly up there, but overall it's pleasant if the weather is nice.if poor weather... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Tim O
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Visited yesterday in the sunshine and had the most wonderful day. Bought tickets online at the discounted price but didn't have chance to print them so thought this might be an issue, the lady at reception was incredibly friendly and helpful making the start of our visit enjoyable and stress free. The food from one of the burger stands was... More 

Helpful?
Thank char_davey
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had received a day at the Bath Races as a prezzie plus a hospitality package. The day included free parking, a free drink, £5 drink voucher, hot buffet in the Paddock Suite. Could also use the Paddock Suite as a 'base' from which to eat, drink, bet and attend the races just outside. Well we had it all. Weather was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good place to go for the evenings racing,however the rooftop blocked out the sun, and it does get chilly up there, but overall it's pleasant if the weather is nice.if poor weather go downstairs.Bus there and back from train station helps a lot.

Helpful?
Thank Tim O
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great afternoon race day with 8 races and beautiful grounds, I got 2 wins a second and a third, the members area was very plush and the food was good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My 2nd visit here in 2 & half weeks. Weather although luckily stayed mainly dry but was just as cold as my first visit for the start of the season on Good Friday. On both my visits various entertainment was provided for kids & the young at heart, including face painters from the wonderful bee painted girls whom seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank sportybirmingham
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A Day at the Races and very enjoyable it was too. Winning little money until the 6th race I have reviewed it otherwise. lol.The website ought to offer more access other than with skype for business compared to the investment which obviously been taking place in Lansdown. I went with my son and both enjoyed our visit. I hope you... More 

Helpful?
Thank clivefieldh0use
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Went to the Good Friday races. Had Grandstand tickets but like another review said, they didn't mean a lot. I asked where the grandstand was and got told anywhere along the front , still none the wiser really as ended up standing out in the cold, which although windy wasn't too bad when the sun was out. But got very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
Bath
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Grandstand tickets don't actually give you anything. Seating is limited. The course is exposed and can be very cold in the wind. There is insufficient cover. The inadequate provision of toilets failed early on at this first event of the season causing long queues. Food and drink is poor and overpriced with a 20% mark up. Shame there is no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
bathracecourse, General Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy Thank you very much for your feedback. We're pleased you enjoyed our new craft draught bar and thank you for your comments. It was an exceptionally busy day - one of the busiest in 30 years in fact. As this was the first time we had host a Good Friday raceday, we did expect and plan for a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Was a great day out for the family all the children's activities were free which was nice price of booze wasn't so nice 4.50 a pint ? Always check weather before going as you need to be wrapped up well as it can get very windy up on top of Lansdown hill Great day out though

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
bathracecourse, General Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Dear Craig Thank you very much for your feedback. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your day and that your family enjoyed the free children's entertainment. We endeavour to ensure our drinks prices are aligned with other sporting venues in the area but your feedback is of course taken on board for future. We hope to welcome you back to... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Far too many tickets sold, not enough stewards to keep the rowdy drunk youths in check. The toilets were not adequate and were filthy within the first hour. Very disappointed for the opening day of the season

Helpful?
Thank susrug1957
bathracecourse, General Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was an exceptionally busy day and whilst the number of guests attending was well below our capacity we will ensure that we make appropriate operational changes based on your feedback. I would like to speak to you about your experience to ensure that all of our guests on racedays enjoy their day... More 

Travellers who viewed Bath Racecourse also viewed

 
 

Been to Bath Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bath Racecourse and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Bath Racecourse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?