We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Afternoon trip last Thursday

Read the reviews and hoped everything would be OK. It was. Jon greeted all of us and was very... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2013
Bridgeman42
,
Fleet, United Kingdom
Wonderful trip

As one of a party of 'senior citizens' I had a wonderful trip on the Fat Swan. I would definitely... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2013
AMA10_10
,
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Read all 12 reviews
10
All photos (10)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good8%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible41%
21 Sep 2013
“Afternoon trip last Thursday”
19 Sep 2013
“Wonderful trip”
About
Come aboard The Fat Swan and enjoy a decadent boat cruise. We are a grand party boat that is a great venue for hosting an array of special events to be celebrated on the Thames. The Fat Swan is decked out with luxurious fixtures and fittings and she...more
Contact
Reading Marina | Scours Lane, Reading RG30 6AY, England
Website
+44 70 0349 6713
Call
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
6
1
0
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Read the reviews and hoped everything would be OK. It was. Jon greeted all of us and was very helpful to those a bit unsteady on their feet as we boarded for our afternoon trip. We had a very pleasant cruise up to Mapledurham Lock....More

Thank Bridgeman42
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Nice Review Thank you ..

Reviewed 20 September 2013

As one of a party of 'senior citizens' I had a wonderful trip on the Fat Swan. I would definitely not avoid it! The boat is beautifully finished and the food was very attractively presented. Loads of clotted cream for the scones too! Jon was...More

Thank AMA10_10
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thanks for a real review i am glad you had a good time we have had a few fake reviews posted on here

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked this boat in feburary for a surprise party in august. Initial response was good, with a tour of the boat provided. All seemed good, so we we paid £500 pound deposit. As the party date approached we were unable to contact anyone at...More

8  Thank Rob S
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Another 1 review complaint...we have no idea who you are Rob you defiantly never had a party booked

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Would love to give a big thumbs up to Sandy & Jon for a fantastic day out on the Thames on Sat. Everything was spot on, very accommodating,nothing was to much trouble.Many Thanks, we will be back for sure.

2  Thank kenworthytravel
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thanks Karl i am really pleased you and Leigh had a great day

Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is my 1st review I had read reviews of this boat and was thinking about cancelling. We were so glad we didn't it was one of the best party's we have ever had and such great value the weather helped We had glorious sunshine...More

2  Thank Joanna B
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks for a real Review. it was a pleasure having you all aboard

Reviewed 26 July 2013

I booked a surprise party with the fat swan earlier in the year for 13th July, I gave my deposit and didn't hear from him. So 2 weeks before the party I contacted owner Jon leeming to discuss plans no answer. I thought was strange...More

7  Thank Laura P
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Laura you had a full refund on the day i spoke to you and you were offered an alternative venue the only reason you are posting on here is because you know what a great truly unique venue The Fat Swan is, its excellent value...More

Reviewed 20 July 2013

I booked a 50th birthday party for my husband for the 3rd August and paid £300 deposit on the 29 May, and I have been trying in vain to get the owner of the Fat Swan to respond to my e-mails and phone messages,, I...More

7  Thank Barbara2574
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Barbara it wasn't us who you canceled your party on the 3rd of august you did normally if you cancel any thing you lose your deposit we will refund your deposit and have never said we wouldn't please read our terms and conditions on our...More

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I had posted on here previously regarding our 21st June booking which was cancelled on the day of the event (a separate event to Kerri G's review). Whilst we appreciate cancellations do occur we are still awaiting a refund and the communication has been very...More

6  Thank travelbugshannon
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

you review shows no relevance to how good or bad a venue The Fat Swan is We offer great value for money and a river party experience that is second to none on the Thames we are sorry we had to cancel your party and...More

Reviewed 1 July 2013

My booking was cancelled in June and I have yet to receive my money back (paid in full). I have received no communication following this and will raise a dispute with my credit card company in order to attempt to reclaim my money.

8  Thank Mark N
JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Mark you have replied to our email and openly admit in that email you never had a party booked you are obviously some one with something to gain by putting reviews of this sort on here

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have booked an afternoon tea River Cruise with some friends (around 10 of us) couple of weeks ago. What a lovely treat it was! We have been very lucky with the weather and enjoyed the cruise along the beautiful Thames in lovely sunshine. Everyone...More

Thank Susie S
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 32 hotels in Reading
Roselawn Hotel
25 reviews
.07 km away
Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green) Hotel
385 reviews
1.97 km away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
290 reviews
2.09 km away
Travelodge M4 Eastbound Reading
169 reviews
2.17 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 674 restaurants in Reading
The Fox and Hounds
330 reviews
2.47 km away
Mortimer Cafe
37 reviews
3.72 km away
The Wyborn Restaurant
8 reviews
3.79 km away
Horse and Groom
63 reviews
3.70 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 188 attractions in Reading
Thames Valley Police Museum
29 reviews
2.81 km away
Mad Hatters Pottery Painting Cafe
57 reviews
5.53 km away
Madejski Stadium
238 reviews
5.11 km away
Prospect Park
39 reviews
5.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fat Swan staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines