We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York

Elvington Airfield, Halifax Way | Elvington, York YO41 4AU, England
+44 1675 433800
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience... but disappointingly short

Truck driving... Just as we got into the experience, it was over... Very happy with the team who... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Welly38
via mobile
Jack’s Radical SR3 Track Experience

What an amazing experience! My son is 12 & majorly into his supercars. I found this experience... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Kimbersx
,
Lincs
via mobile
Read all 226 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good15%
  • Average2%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“hot lap” (27 reviews)
“aston martin” (36 reviews)
“memory stick” (20 reviews)
LOCATION
Elvington Airfield, Halifax Way | Elvington, York YO41 4AU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Truck driving... Just as we got into the experience, it was over... Very happy with the team who made us very welcome.. Just only lasted 10 to 15 mins and then we were finished..

Thank Welly38
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review and mentioning our staff. In fairness the truck driving experience is 15 minutes and advertised as that. Thanks Simon George

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing experience! My son is 12 & majorly into his supercars. I found this experience & was well chuffed that at 12 he could be a passenger in a F1 car. We couldn’t have asked for better service or friendly staff! And my...More

Thank Kimbersx
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I'm glad your son enjoyed himself. Appreciate your comments about the staff too! I hope you will all be back before long. Simon George

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We bought this for our 12yr old son for his birthday. When we rang to book there were very limited dates and times available which were not the most convenient but not exactly a problem. When we arrived we booked in which was well organised...More

Thank sheryl d
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review and I'm glad your son enjoyed it. The Junior supercar experience is aimed obviously at children and whilst these supercars are well capable of much higher speeds it is important to remember that a child with absolutely no driving experience whatsoever...More

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

I am giving this rating only because of the attitude that I received from two of the instructors. My wife and family paid a lot of money for me to drive the 5 car experience and with the upgrade-photos and insurance it all came up...More

Thank Dimitris_Wave_Bar
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thanks for your review. I am looking into this and await the footage of your drive from the hard drive and cameras fitted inside the supercar. If indeed what you say does turn out to be accurate then the instructors concerned will be spoken to...More

Reviewed 22 August 2017

I am writing this review due to a lack of response to my emails sent back to 6th Gear Experience. I purchased the experience for my partner for a xmas present as I had taken part in one at this circuit a few years back...More

Thank ANNA G
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Firstly I am sorry about the poor after sales service you have experienced. May I also apologise about the poor quality footage on your memory stick. We have been working very hard with the manufacturers to eradicate any remaining issues with the software and given...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Booked my first driving experience for the 4th August for a 4pm slot. Staff were great assisting me where to go, upon arrival I was given a pre drive briefing before being taken on two familiarisation laps of the circuit. After a short wait, I...More

Thank seansteb
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thanks for a super review. Although I hate to say it but we don't have a Nissan GTR. So I doubt you drove with us. However you are still welcome to write more great reviews unlike the review next to this one - who also...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

First of all, dogs not allowed so a hi-viz chap came running after us to make us put the dog back in our car. It's ok for smokers though - there is a whole big smokers area. Secondly no signage for where to go next...More

Thank Pam W
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Perhaps you should check you are writing a review about the correct company before you do so in future, but more on that in a second.. With respect I think most reasonable people will understand why its not a good idea to bring a dog...More

Reviewed 18 July 2017

My husban was bought this gift for Christmas. What a fantastic experience, he decided to drive a Audi 8 and a Ferrari. When he had finished he had a huge smile on his face. There was a great variety of cars to choose from, some...More

Thank janecrayston
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thanks for a great review - hope to see you back again soon. And also I'm pleased you mention our great staff! Simon George

Reviewed 29 June 2017

On a blistering hot day we got there early but the staff (and there is a good number of them) were so well organised I didn’t have to wait around until the prescribed time. As soon as a car was free they were looking for...More

1  Thank KB_the_truth
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Appreciate your comments about the organisation - we do try and get it right most of the time! Hope to see you back again soon.. Simon George

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

This was the second driving experience for my husband as he enjoyed it so much last year. This time he was joined by my Dad as his 70th birthday treat. They both drove the Atom and Porsche; my hubby just loves the Atom and would...More

Thank SammyJaneR
SG54LAM, Director of Sales at 6th Gear Experience Ltd Elvington, York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Look forward to seeing you a third time then! Thanks for a great review. Simon George

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
St Vincent Arms
219 reviews
3.21 km away
The Scrap Box
103 reviews
3.94 km away
The Half Moon
155 reviews
4.55 km away
The White Swan
233 reviews
6.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Everyman Racing
182 reviews
.02 km away
Stamford Bridge battle site
25 reviews
7.38 km away
York Maze
1,955 reviews
1.87 km away
Yorkshire Air Museum
1,285 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tobysenewton
24 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ian01226 | Reviewed this property |
Definitely not! I was even allowed to take my young niece on the “hot lap” driven by one of their drivers
0
Votes
Diane R
14 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ian01226 | Reviewed this property |
I got everything on a memory stick. There are 2 cameras in each car, one forward, one on you so you see both on playback. Try not to swear (as I did) as it also records sound! It cost me £30 for all 4 cars I drove plus the... More
1
Vote