We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Avoid - especially if you are under tight time commitments

Booked a taxi for 1050 the night previous as we needed a lift to the train station. Driver ended up... read more

Reviewed 5 August 2018
KYULAUDI
via mobile
Avoid - questionable practices

I would recommend avoiding this business at all costs. I agreed a cost of a taxi fare in advance... read more

Reviewed 14 July 2018
Jim H
Read all 15 reviews
Enhance this page - Upload photos! Add a photo
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible54%
5 Aug 2018
“Avoid - especially if you are under tight time commitments ”
13 Jul 2018
“Avoid - questionable practices”
About
We offer a variety of solutions to your transport needs whether it is a local journey, airport transfers, excursions or special occasions. All our cars are equipped with the latest devices for telecommunications to offer tracking services...more
Contact
York YO24 1AJ, England
Website
+44 1904 765765
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around York
from USD 53.50
More Info
from USD 56.20
More Info
from USD 60.20
More Info
from USD 18.70
More Info
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
0
0
0
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
0
0
0
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Booked a taxi for 1050 the night previous as we needed a lift to the train station. Driver ended up calling me at 1047 about how we are in the city centre and not being able to get even close to us (which is so...More

Thank KYULAUDI
Reviewed 14 July 2018

I would recommend avoiding this business at all costs. I agreed a cost of a taxi fare in advance and pre paid in full by card. When the car arrived (late) I was told I would have to pay 15% extra because I had been...More

Thank Jim H
Michael D, marketing manager at York Cars, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi Could you please email me full details of your booking. Date,time and address. (yorkcars765765@gmail.com). We only ever request pre-payment when the journey is picking up outside the city of York and then only as security of payment for our drivers. We do not however...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018

York taxis sent a car when we were practically in the middle of nowhere, quite far out of York (to drop us off even further out of York), and the driver was a pleasant guy too.

Thank Liam P
Reviewed 23 February 2018

I rang up on Thursday evening and said I wanted a taxi for tomorrow morning at 7.45 am to get my husband to work on time! She said it was all booked. At 7.40 am I rang up to check it was on its way...More

Thank Michelle S
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Our taxi was booked for 7.15am to go to the train station and was 15 minutes late. The driver was very defensive and not at all friendly. The taxi was the dirtiest and smelliest taxi I have ever been in. Awful!

Thank MusJac
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Used the company for ages, then they start to be bothersome, unreliable and wouldn't honor their 10% loyalty scheme no longer universally, they also don't like to work with constructive negative criticism as they're so crafty to offer me a £ 25 goodwill voucher they...More

Thank Sam H
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Booked a taxi for 0600 to catch a train. Upon booking, the operator checked what time my train was to confirm I had left enough time. I had. At 0555 I received confirmation that taxi had dispatched. At 0600 not arrived. Called operator to be...More

Thank Caroline V
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We used York Cars on four separate occasions while visiting for a graduation weekend. We downloaded the York Cars app and used it for booking journeys. The cars arrived promptly and each driver was polite and helpful. I would recommend this company unreservedly.

Thank Martin O
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

From start to finish the most appalling service ever. Despite pre booking taxis failed to turn up, after complaining first said they had no note anywhere of it ( we on the other hand had three people who had witnessed the booking being made)! They...More

1  Thank Nicola M
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Taxi booked at 10pm but phoned to see if we could get it about 8:30 for 3 adults 2 children, was told maybe 2 taxis but mini bus came about 5 mins later absolutely fantastic, didn’t want to walk the children through the city late...More

Thank Aggy79
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from York Cars staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines