We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Academy of Arts

Burlington House Piccadilly | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
+44 20 7300 8000
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 15.91*
and up
Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London
More Info
USD 42.43*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in Britain, whose exhibitions attract over a million people each year.
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 22:00
LOCATION
Burlington House Piccadilly | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
Mayfair
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 7300 8000
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I know that taste in Art is subjective and that the Academy needs to showcase new ideas rather than trotting out clichéd landscapes, but I found almost nothing to interest, uplift or inspire me. In fact I just felt confused and a bit cross with...More

1  Thank Ian S
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Ian, thank you for getting in touch and sharing your views. It's a shame you found the Summer Exhibition to be 'ugly'. I'm really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed previous shows at the RA though. I hope that you will be able...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

We go just about every year, meet friends, browse and then have a late lunch together. The exhibition had some stunning pieces but we down-graded the rating to just four because there were two rooms closed; the RA did offer free tickets for another Summer...More

Thank crazymaddancer
Reviewed 3 days ago

We visited the Summer Exhibition recently. We go most years but this year found it to be uninspiring. Art is very subjective and we spent time looking at all the exhibits. There were only a handful of artworks that we really liked. The most disappointing...More

Thank Bur88
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm so sorry two of our rooms were closed during your visit. Now only one gallery is effected by our maintenance work. Nevertheless, I am really sorry that this impacted your visit. Please do contact me...More

A TripAdvisor Member
121
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Most interesting exhibit was the bust of Amy Winehouse made of beads. Incredible piece, eye catching and very endearing. The Yinka exhibit in the Courtyard was good but very disappointed with the staircase. Didn't portray any inspiration. However, the 2015 staircase was so amazing that...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago

As an amateur artist I was looking forward to the Summer Exhibition. I have an open mind and don't want art as you see it, but I have to say that there were many crazy uninspiring pictures that I could not see why they were...More

1  Thank fudgegudge
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love this place - always has some of the best touring exhibitions. A recent memorable one was the Ai Weiwei a couple of years ago. Great building - helpful staff - nice restaurant with good food. If visiting you will need a good few hours...More

Thank PatriciaDE24
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Patricia - thank you for your kind review. I loved the Ai Weiwei exhibition too; I thought it was very powerful. Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, Kate

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing talent. Go every year n each year there is something new. Interesting diversity as it opened my mind to concepts I hadnt come across. Facilities are good but the lift wasnt working. Considering this event is popular with people of varying ages n in...More

Thank Kiran H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are interested in contemporary art this is the place to be. In contrast to other reviews we definitely liked the way the exhibit was curated, and hung, and felt everything about it was top-notch

Thank frtravler
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review - I'm glad you enjoyed the show! We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, Kate

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always a lovely feel at the summer exhibition. Looking forward to 2018 and the RA's 250th anniversary.

Thank Jeremy S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well worth the admission fee to view the gallery space itself. The eclectic range of artworks are an added bonus and there is a nice onsite café to sit out in the courtyard

Thank gdes_00
Nearby
Mayfair
Set beside some of London's best parks and home to
world-class galleries, luxurious hotels, and famed
thoroughfares, the ultra upscale Mayfair is one of
London's most exclusive haunts. Here the shopping is
haute, the dining is exquisite, and the nightlife is
vibrant. A casual stroll through the area’s chic
streets will reveal that Michelin stars and
chauffeured cars are practically the norm here. Even
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Gymkhana
1,157 reviews
.13 km away
Cecconis
1,012 reviews
.11 km away
The Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon
1,288 reviews
.13 km away
Benihana
905 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burlington Arcade
206 reviews
.08 km away
3 Savile Row
33 reviews
.13 km away
Snap Galleries London
6 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Timothy Y
5 July 2017|
Answer Show all 17 answers
Response from Peter P | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can buy them at the door.
0
Votes
Hannah C
14 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi Hannah - really glad you enjoyed the show! We have two types of audio guide offer. Universal and optional. Universal is when the audio is included in the ticket price. We can only afford to do this once every tax... More
1
Vote
Spikeyell
3 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi, we have a free cloakroom but unfortunately space is limited. We cannot accept anything larger than 280 mm in width, 380 mm in height or 400 mm in depth. Hope this helps. Thanks, Kate
0
Votes