We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tunbridge Wells Museum & Art Gallery

Closed: Closed
Open today: Closed
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Tunbridge Ware

A small museum with an interesting and quite extensive collection of Tunbridge Ware. Conveniently... read more

Reviewed 2 April 2018
558bry
,
Guildford, United Kingdom
A small collection but makes the most of it.

If you're interested in Tunbridge Ware and treen then this will interest you. A small museum but... read more

Reviewed 25 February 2018
Elcbee
Read all 88 reviews
12
All photos (12)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good30%
  • Average21%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
About
The Tunbridge Wells Museum and Art Gallery shares the special story of the Borough of Tunbridge Wells. Set in the countryside of the Weald of Kent, the town of Royal Tunbridge Wells grew from the discovery of the spa waters in 1606. The Georgian...more
Closed
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Contact
Tunbridge Wells Civic Centre, Mount Pleasant, Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
Website
+44 1892 554171
Call
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
32
27
17
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
32
27
17
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal historyextensive collectiondoll's housefree entryjoshua reynoldschildren's toyson displaylibrarywareexhibitscamdenbutterflymarquetryportraitssirdevelopmentbutterflies
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived with a buggy and got very little to no help with access, when we did eventually get in, it was very disappointing, visit but don't expect too much!

Thank XXSparkyManXX
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Everyone imagines Tunbridge Wells BC has lots of money... not true! It's a shame that more isn't spent on bringing the museum up to the 21st Century ---it still seems... almost late Victorian. Yet it was built before the second world war! There is plenty...More

Thank crazymaddancer
Jeremy K, Public Relations Manager at Tunbridge Wells Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi there, We are pleased to hear that you regularly visit, and enjoy our collections. You will be pleased to hear that our redevelopment project, Tunbridge Wells Cultural & Learning Hub, has been granted £4.3 million of funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, supported by...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018

A small museum with an interesting and quite extensive collection of Tunbridge Ware. Conveniently located. Hats for kids to try on.

Thank 558bry
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We were in Tunbridge Wells on a coach trip. Our driver recommended a visit to the Art Gallery & Museum. Up the stairs and into the entrance it didn't appear to be very promising, but as the old song goes 'You Can't Judge a Book...More

1  Thank Bob H
Reviewed 25 February 2018

If you're interested in Tunbridge Ware and treen then this will interest you. A small museum but trying hard to show the collection at its best Of particular interest to me was the collection of netsuke by Michael Birch who is rated as a master...More

1  Thank Elcbee
Reviewed 25 February 2018

lots of interesting artefacts very well labelled and lots of local history including interesting photos and interesting info about a boys home.

Thank glinettewoods
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Great little collection of artifacts from rocks and butterflies to victorian dolls houses and Tunbridgeware. Also have a changing display in the art gallery across the corridor. Educational sessions are excellent

Thank Purpletigger
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Spent a good couple of hours here at this little museum. Very interesting history of Tunbridge Wells. Nice art works, old toys and a great collection of antique Tunbridge Ware items to see. Highly recommended and FREE entry to boot!

Thank johnboy432900
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I was in and out in ten minutes nothing exciting about it except it free to go in. Reception staff was lovely. Won't be going back again. Very boring not much to look at or be excited about.More

Thank LanaLil
Jeremy K, Public Relations Manager at Tunbridge Wells Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hello, We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time in the museum. We have a changing programme of temporary exhibitions on to augment our usual displays in an attempt to keep the programming fresh and interesting, but at the moment we are between shows....More

Reviewed 17 September 2017

... and passed half hour (just). Committed staff, clean and tidy with a variety of items on display. A bit lacking in detailed information in places in certain areas on certain items. However, it's free and worth a little visit if you like a bit...More

1  Thank Jackie W
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Lime Tree Inn
27 reviews
2.03 km away
Anand Lodge
162 reviews
4.79 km away
The Camden Arms
386 reviews
5.03 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1,034 reviews
5.74 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 322 restaurants in Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Vineyard Restaurant
601 reviews
1.96 km away
The Brecknock Arms
84 reviews
4.82 km away
The Black Horse
273 reviews
5.11 km away
The Halfway House
147 reviews
5.12 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 131 attractions in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Scotney Castle Garden
1,384 reviews
2.56 km away
Bluecaps Llamas
30 reviews
2.92 km away
Halfway House
11 reviews
5.12 km away
Downingbury Farm
33 reviews
5.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mary Ann K
19 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Jeremy K | Property representative |
Hi Mary Ann, we still have the large Belgian dolls house on display along with many fine examples of our doll collection.
1
Vote