We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Assembly Hall Theatre

Open Now: 12:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Open today: 12:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Review Highlights
Nice size theatre & good atmosphere

Visited here for panto & had good seats, plenty of legroom, theatre was warm & plenty of staff at... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2019
Colincfc
,
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Live theatre

Assembly hall has a very busy programme. Seats are very comfortable with good leg room. We were on... read more

Reviewed 21 January 2019
A3303XQpaulh
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 130 reviews
13
All photos (13)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good40%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 pm - 7:00 pm
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Mar
12°
Apr
15°
May
Contact
Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LU, England
Website
+44 1892 530613
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
42
50
21
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
42
50
21
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable seating ticket sales front row seats cote brasserie tribute band ice cream panto interval stage stalls production venue tiered navi gags cast dame
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

Assembly hall has a very busy programme. Seats are very comfortable with good leg room. We were on an end two seats and staff took my walker set. Staff are friendly and welcoming and knowledgeable. Used for shows such as dancing, musicals, comedy which we...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank A3303XQpaulh
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Visited here for panto & had good seats, plenty of legroom, theatre was warm & plenty of staff at the bars so not long to queue, seats not too uncomfortable, nice show & easy exit out at the end & near to local car parks

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Colincfc
Reviewed 30 December 2018

As a family we endured this "entertainment". A couple of the actors were good - the dame and the prince; the remainder were forgettable. The script was poor, the songs also dull and time dragged; it was the worst panto I've ever been to. The...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Michael H
Reviewed 26 December 2018

We decided to pick here for our annual trip to Panto (due to our children going to the local theatre for school matinee (pre panto season) As it was one of my children birthdays on the day I decided to contact them several weeks in...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Chefsearch
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Don't miss this Christmas cracker. Sleeping beauty is sheer joy and entertainment at its best.. this is the best panto at the assembly for 5 years. Modern, witty and packed with cultural references and banging tunes for all the family. Good mix of new and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 207NeilM
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our show but the venue is very dated, looks like it was last decorated in the 70's. Staff were all friendly.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank NorthStar46202790314
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We go here every year as a family, and it never fails us. Lately, we have just seen the Queen tribute act, an act which blew me and my family away. It has comfortable seating, a great range of shows, and has helpful staff. It...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Skinners_Boy
Reviewed 12 May 2018

I don’t know who designed the website but it’s the worst theatre website ever. Check out Chichester or The Watermill. I have never managed to book tickets on line without a problem. Today I spent 1/2 hour resetting my password which I knew was correct,...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank SUSAN M
Antony P, Director of Sales at Assembly Hall Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thanks for the feedback. I hope you will be delighted to know that we have a new website about to go live. I accept that in your case we have been inefficient on this occasion, please email boxoffice@tunbridgewells.gov.uk and we can make sure you receive...More

Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

I really don’t understand all the griping about refunds due to a smattering of snow for a few days. Anyone would think we’d had the problems here that they’ve had up North and in Scotland. People just need to leave earlier and be sensible. I...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank KeithTonbridge
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Unable to get to tomorrow nights show of the sound of music. As another review has said, they have no compassion and don’t care about their customers. One of my tickets is for a disabled person which they are able to see on the booking...More

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank iloveyousomuch111
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
1,069 reviews
.10 km away
Russell Hotel
213 reviews
.32 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
357 reviews
.46 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
318 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 338 nearby restaurants
The Guinea
126 reviews
.20 km away
La Follia
125 reviews
.15 km away
The Barn Pub and Restaurant
535 reviews
.11 km away
Cote Brasserie - Tunbridge Wells
920 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 135 nearby attractions
Calverley Grounds
115 reviews
.34 km away
Trinity Theatre
67 reviews
.16 km away
Royal Victoria Place
74 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rcolive
1 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from par14 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can take drinks to your seat but I have no idea if the bar is open during the performances as we tend to watch the entertainment........ I would think not as getting up and moving about during a performance, unless... More
1
Vote
Blimp1989
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from markhO7053QO | Reviewed this property |
Yes it's an intimate theatre.
1
Vote
lisanQ8807ZM
22 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Roofg G | Reviewed this property |
yes i find it smart causual but if you wish you can dress up fully. flippers and snorkle probably frowned on , but only for health and safety a lot of stairs.
0
Votes