We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Burston Garden Centre

North Orbital Road | Chiswell Green, St Albans AL2 2DS, England
+44 1727 832444
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Group visit

We were a group of 48 en route for High Wycombe after a visit to St Albans Market. Our visit was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Rosemary D
,
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Ok for plants but NOT the place to eat

Visited Bank Holiday Sunday. Good selection of plants but food was awful. The jacket potatoes were... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sandra H
Read all 63 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“fruit trees” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
North Orbital Road | Chiswell Green, St Albans AL2 2DS, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1727 832444
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"quality plants"
in 3 reviews
"fruit trees"
in 2 reviews
"bedding plants"
in 2 reviews
"tropical fish"
in 2 reviews
"excellent selection"
in 2 reviews
"hot and cold food"
in 2 reviews
"cakes"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"gifts"
in 7 reviews
"aquatic"
in 8 reviews
"paraphernalia"
in 2 reviews
"browse"
in 4 reviews
"cafe"
in 6 reviews
"shop"
in 5 reviews
"gardening"
in 2 reviews
"equipment"
in 3 reviews
"granddaughter"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of 48 en route for High Wycombe after a visit to St Albans Market. Our visit was enjoyed by everyone, many of us enjoying a lunch or just a snack. The staff should all be commended on their helpful manner. We...More

Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Bank Holiday Sunday. Good selection of plants but food was awful. The jacket potatoes were cold and had been cooked long befor lunch time as they had discoloured. The fillings were all covered with lids so you could not see what was on offer...More

Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burston2015, Catering Manager at Burston Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for review regarding your experience in the restaurant. All customer feedback is taken very seriously and I am disappointed you were not happy when you visited us recently. Positive steps have been taken regarding the jacket potatoes and the fillings are now uncovered....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We visit Burston's every few months and we always buy some plants as the choice and quality is very good especially with seasonal ones like bedding plants. We also use the restaurant but on this visit we thought the prices had increased a lot. A...More

Thank Caroledj2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burston2015, Catering Manager at Burston Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments regarding the prices in the restaurant and am sorry you feel that you will not return to visit us We last adjusted our prices in May 2017. I looked again this May and decided to delay any further increases despite...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I use this centre quite often. They have a very good cafe which does nice food and is a nice area to sit in. In very good weather they also open up a small area outside amongst the plants. Although the plant selection is not...More

Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The Garden Centre always has a large range of local stock and branded goods. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful if you have a problem

Thank stuartg1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

I visit burston regularly for garden wares and to use the restaurant. The staff are so friendly Ange knowledgable. The restaurant is delightful! Food is very nice and cooked fresh. Garden centre is well priced and well stocked! There is lots for children to do...More

Thank nik1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Lots of box in stock but not the shape we wanted. Whilst there we enjoyed at looking at all other things and would recommend a visit for garden and gift purchases.

Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Chose liver and bacon. Looked a bit dry had been left on the hot plate Very tough my fork got stuck in the liver. Bacon was horrible. New potatoes soggy. Gave me a full refund plus a cake. Won’t be going again.

Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Great garden centre with plenty of selection for garden and home. Great restaurant on site with good value meals. Plenty of free on site parking.

Thank Pole2Pole_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

A modern, well laid out garden centre. Spacious shop display area, with a good selection of indoor plants, gardening paraphenalia and good range of gift items. Large outdoor range of shrubs and plants, composts, pots, tubs etc., to choose from. After a wander around we...More

Thank KenS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in St Albans
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
881 reviews
.49 km away
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
736 reviews
2.07 km away
Sopwell House
2,549 reviews
2.59 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
630 reviews
3.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Burston Garden Centre Restaurant
58 reviews
.17 km away
Bhaker House
24 reviews
.64 km away
The Overdraught
11 reviews
1.38 km away
Rami Tandoori And Balti House
55 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aylett Nurseries
51 reviews
.23 km away
Gorhambury House & Old Gorhambury House
25 reviews
1.48 km away
Paintball Bricket Wood
83 reviews
.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
rita551
8 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Phil J | Reviewed this property |
yes
0
Votes
;