We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Review Highlights
Custom treat for me

Went there with my client christien to get some plant and compost which we did. She surprised me at... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
justinl297
,
St Albans, United Kingdom
via mobile
Quick visit

Went to buy some duck feed but ended up enjoying the sea life in the aquatic centre too. Friendly... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
alice502016
,
Watford, United Kingdom
Read all 70 reviews
3
All photos (3)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
About
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Nov
Dec
Jan
Contact
North Orbital Road | Chiswell Green, St Albans AL2 2DS, England
Website
+44 1727 832444
Call
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
40
22
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
40
22
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedding plants excellent selection tropical fish loyalty scheme gift ideas hot and cold food cakes worth a visit aquatic shrubs paraphernalia browse equipment cafe gardening shop granddaughter
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went there with my client christien to get some plant and compost which we did. She surprised me at the tea room there before we shopped I had coffee and a scone which was lovely. Load off gift ideas as you enter. Then a large...More

Thank justinl297
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to buy some duck feed but ended up enjoying the sea life in the aquatic centre too. Friendly and helpful staff too!

Thank alice502016
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

This garden centre has all the usual extras, but better than most. Quality kids' toys and games, food, adult gifts, and a wide selection of cards. Classy clothes, excellent pet area, decent cafe. Then there's the plants, good quality, well labelled, always easy to get...More

Thank 664RachelH
Reviewed 11 September 2018

This place will have most gardening equipment. If you are looking for a large lawnmower or trimmers that are above domestic use this is not the right place for you. The outdoor plant section has a huge variety. All manor of landscaping paraphernalia is spread...More

Thank Kubi B
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

I always feel relaxed at Burton's. There is lots of plants to choose from, some areas tend to suffer from too much sun and not enough water and therefore the plants are not as good condition as you would want. Not all areas however. The...More

Thank Rod K
Reviewed 27 July 2018

This is a well stocked garden centre, especially for garden equipment and furniture. Its seed collection is extensive and stocks quality season plants at a reasonable price. The staff are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.

Thank 254pf
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We visited when they had a special family thing going on and it was amazing! Storytellers, tarantulas to hold and lunch was amazing and catered for everyone from my 7 year old daughter to my 90 year old dad. Will be back when we have...More

Thank Jo B
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We were a group of 48 en route for High Wycombe after a visit to St Albans Market. Our visit was enjoyed by everyone, many of us enjoying a lunch or just a snack. The staff should all be commended on their helpful manner. We...More

Thank Rosemary D
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Visited Bank Holiday Sunday. Good selection of plants but food was awful. The jacket potatoes were cold and had been cooked long befor lunch time as they had discoloured. The fillings were all covered with lids so you could not see what was on offer...More

Thank Sandra H
burston2015, Catering Manager at Burston Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for review regarding your experience in the restaurant. All customer feedback is taken very seriously and I am disappointed you were not happy when you visited us recently. Positive steps have been taken regarding the jacket potatoes and the fillings are now uncovered....More

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We visit Burston's every few months and we always buy some plants as the choice and quality is very good especially with seasonal ones like bedding plants. We also use the restaurant but on this visit we thought the prices had increased a lot. A...More

Thank Caroledj2015
burston2015, Catering Manager at Burston Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for your comments regarding the prices in the restaurant and am sorry you feel that you will not return to visit us We last adjusted our prices in May 2017. I looked again this May and decided to delay any further increases despite...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
933 reviews
.49 km away
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
782 reviews
2.07 km away
Sopwell House
2,681 reviews
2.59 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
661 reviews
3.34 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 366 nearby restaurants
Burston Garden Centre Restaurant
60 reviews
.17 km away
Bhaker House
24 reviews
.64 km away
The Overdraught
13 reviews
1.38 km away
Flame Light
26 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 89 nearby attractions
Aylett Nurseries
68 reviews
.23 km away
Gorhambury House & Old Gorhambury House
27 reviews
1.48 km away
Paintball Bricket Wood
83 reviews
.86 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rita551
8 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Phil J | Reviewed this property |
yes
0
Votes