We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grandstand

Closed Now: 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Open today: 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Review Highlights
Dinner

Staff really friendly... quick service.. 3 of us had the fish and chips... plenty of chips.. fish... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2018
694matthewr
,
Hereford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Same old same old

NEW look, but same old problems. Curry nighy and no poppadoms by six, hard bits of chicken in the... read more

Reviewed 29 November 2018
Tour53791348860
via mobile
Read all 105 reviews
13
All photos (13)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible32%
Travellers talk about
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Jan
Feb
Mar
Contact
The Grandstand Grandstand Road, Hereford HR4 9NH, England
Website
+44 1432 370867
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
28
29
7
10
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
28
29
7
10
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hungry horse birthday meal buy one get one free lovely food quick service the pub lady interior
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for Sunday lunch on 6th January. Firstly, the staff were great, if not embarrassed by not being able to serve tea or coffee because they didn't have any milk delivered, so I sat there without a drink. The Sunday lunch was a the most...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank KLesD
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a family meal after hearing about the refurb. Such a shame there is no longer a children's play area, not even any colouring to offer the little ones. The food was ok but not great. The staff weren't friendly. They forgot parts of...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank KerryJ85
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

Oh dear oh dear new look but same old place.... decided to give it 1 last try but it doesn't change!!!! Food was cold the sizzling chicken skewers didn't sizzle and where not cooked long enough the steak wasn't to bad if it had been...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Marcus03zr
Reviewed 29 November 2018 via mobile

NEW look, but same old problems. Curry nighy and no poppadoms by six, hard bits of chicken in the masala. Cold gravy with the pie. 1ST time for 12 months and last I think. Shame as nice walk down in the summer.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Tour53791348860
Reviewed 26 November 2018

Think the pub and staff very good they should change it back to a kid friendly pub because there is not another one that side of town

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Meander23416525672
Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

Where do you start? The service and food (what was available) was dismal. A wait in line to order food - no big roast chicken so ordered the alternative turkey. This not available in big roast! Tried to order the Chip Shop Platter not available....More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank TCC1202
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Where to start? A lengthy wait at the bar kicks off the experience of what can only be described as dismal. Eventually we get served, only to find black sludge floating in my beer. I took it back, and it was explained that it was...More

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank ali-loungepants
GrandstandHH, Guest Relations Manager at The Grandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Hi Ali-loungepants, we are very sorry to hear of your poor experience here, we have a new General Manager who is working on the points you have raised should you wish please contact us on 1954@greeneking,co,uk to discuss further

Reviewed 6 October 2018

Ordered food and it was delivered within 5 mins, 3 burgers obviously not freshly cooked in that time scale. When food arrived it looked thrown together and totally unappetising. I realise that this is a value brand chain but we used to eat here years...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Lisa B
GrandstandHH, Guest Relations Manager at The Grandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Hi Lisa B, sorry to hear you had a poor experience please could you get in contact with us at 1954@greeneking.co.uk so we can resolve this for you

Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Oh what lovely food we had today. I had Mexican chicken suberb. My sis in law had scampi tasty and plenty of it. My husband had mix grill plate was overflowing. My brother had the gammon again loads on plate. Will go OK and staff...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jill124
GrandstandHH, Guest Relations Manager at The Grandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Hi Jill Thank you for the positive comments were glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Staff really friendly... quick service.. 3 of us had the fish and chips... plenty of chips.. fish was ok size wise but a bit flat and not chunky cod.. the other member had the scamp which he enjoyed ...plenty of pieces ...Will go back if...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 694matthewr
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
846 reviews
1.11 km away
Travelodge Hereford
323 reviews
1.39 km away
The Green Dragon
914 reviews
1.69 km away
Merton Hotel
130 reviews
1.87 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 256 nearby restaurants
Burghill Valley Golf Club Restaurant
39 reviews
1.25 km away
Mediterrane Restaurant
255 reviews
.26 km away
Edwards Plaice
75 reviews
.29 km away
Miller & Carter Hereford
831 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 93 nearby attractions
Mappa Mundi & Chained Library Exhibitions
670 reviews
1.55 km away
Hereford Cider Museum
269 reviews
1.35 km away
The Courtyard
65 reviews
1.24 km away
St John Medieval Museum and Coningsby Hospital
16 reviews
1.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Grandstand staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines