We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor House and Garden

Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
+44 23 8083 4242
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Historic Tudor House in Southampton

With over 800 years of history The Tudor House has a lot to offer.it is an incredible looking... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Pauline B
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
A trip in time

If you are interested in Tudor history, these buildings have been lovingly restored. Interactive... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
rockyisle
,
The Villages, Florida
via mobile
Read all 480 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tudor House gives a unique and atmospheric insight into the lives and times of both its residents through the years, and of Southampton itself. It appeals to visitors of all ages and interests, who find the family-friendly activities, interactive technology and fascinating displays a winning combination.
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide” (30 reviews)
“banqueting hall” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
LOCATION
Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8083 4242
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

With over 800 years of history The Tudor House has a lot to offer.it is an incredible looking building which has been fully restored with great interactive displays. Dating back to the 1400s it has a fascinating history with lovely period rooms showing recently restored...More

Thank Pauline B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are interested in Tudor history, these buildings have been lovingly restored. Interactive tours, full audio. Lots to see and contemplate. We don't 90 minutes. Don't miss the bomb shelter in the basement.. From WWII.

Thank rockyisle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good place to start seeing old Southampton, before visiting the walls and God's House Tower. Informative and we'll renovated. Nice gardens in fine weather, which we were lucky to have for our entire fortnight in the area.

Thank Marydon2013
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Tudor House has been wonderfully and sympathetically refurbished in the last few years. The tour starts with an audio visual history of the building and audio headsets are available for the rest of the tour. The restoration has been carried out by archeologists and...More

Thank Dr_Chris_Gordon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely, old Tudor house which has been sympathetically renovated over the years. The audio guides gave interesting facts and there were plenty of real live guides around if you wanted extra information. There was also a very interesting video presentation that explained how and...More

Thank Beverly O
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really good old Tudor house and garden which has been carefully renovated. Free audio guides were very useful.

Thank Njsouth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a pleasant hour & a half exploring this historical site. Well-preserved & with lots of interactive things to do in the house & gardens, this was well worth the modest fee.

Thank LJB4687
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Southampton from early times to the present day. Shows the development of the house over the years with many interesting artifacts and changing displays. Lovely knot garden with herbs and a pleasant fountain. A great place to have a light lunch or coffee with friends...More

1  Thank Dave W
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

If you are interested in English social and architectural history, this is definitely somewhere you should visit in Southampton. It is a beautiful Tudor style home from the outside, but we found out that it used to be three individual homes. Entry is £5 which...More

1  Thank V87
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

The Tudor House is an interesting place to visit. The entry price is low, and you get audio guides included in the price! . The first part of the tour is fun and interesting. All areas are numbered for easy audio guiding. There is a...More

1  Thank barbiehols
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coriander Lounge
1,459 reviews
.16 km away
Duke of Wellington
398 reviews
.09 km away
La lupa
397 reviews
.17 km away
The Standing Order
426 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Red Funnel Ferries
1,361 reviews
.39 km away
Southampton Town Walls
318 reviews
.07 km away
Westquay
296 reviews
.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
edwardwoodward147
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
Yes we do allow free entry at both Tudor House & Garden as well as SeaCity to our retail and catering areas. With Tudor House we have the seating area in the garden so access is allowed, if you wouldn't mind letting the... More
2
Votes
Patricia A
29 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alohanuiloa | Reviewed this property |
Ticket Type Ticket Tariff Adult ticket £5.00 per ticket (2 adults,3 children) £13.75 per ticket Child 5yrs and over £4.00 per ticket Over 60s and Students £4.00 per ticket
0
Votes
Google Translation
speakeasy10
18 September 2015|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
We do have a French translated leaflet which covers the visitor experience in a basic detail but the visuals of the house, imagery and architecture are an experience in themselves.
1
Vote