We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor House and Garden

Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
+44 23 8083 4242
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
More there than appears from the entrance--gardens, cannons, lots of rooms

Worth the time and we particularly liked the garden area. House twists and turns and goes all over... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
yahootraveler64
,
virginia
Me and my Boyfriend

Came here with me and my boyfriend! Love the tudor house and Garden ^_^ the tea and scones for two... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Charlie S
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 517 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tudor House gives a unique and atmospheric insight into the lives and times of both its residents through the years, and of Southampton itself. It appeals to visitors of all ages and interests, who find the family-friendly activities, interactive technology and fascinating displays a winning combination.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide” (29 reviews)
“herb garden” (15 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
LOCATION
Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8083 4242
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 29 reviews
"air raid shelter"
in 19 reviews
"herb garden"
in 15 reviews
"gardens are lovely"
in 6 reviews
"banquet hall"
in 5 reviews
"audio visual presentation"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 13 reviews
"main hall"
in 7 reviews
"entry price"
in 5 reviews
"piece of history"
in 6 reviews
"own pace"
in 5 reviews
"step back in time"
in 8 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 7 reviews
"lots of history"
in 6 reviews
"visited today"
in 5 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 15 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Worth the time and we particularly liked the garden area. House twists and turns and goes all over, so try not to miss anything. Good for kids, based on the pictures. A little out of the way but worth seeking out.

Thank yahootraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Came here with me and my boyfriend! Love the tudor house and Garden ^_^ the tea and scones for two for £5 is an excellent price ^-^ would come back again!

Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You can go into the tearoom without paying for the museum. We had the afternoon tea which was delicious and very good value. We sat outside in the herb garden which was delightful. Would recommend.

Thank 09robbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice museum in an old building. Daily life from 15th century to more modern times is well shown in small rooms with realistic models of food and cocking device. There is also a small garden with a close by cafeteria.

Thank BjornNorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very interesting visit to the Tudor House. A short and well done film serves as a good introduction to the house. Audio guides are provided for free and are recommended to appreciate the experience. The garden was the highlight of the tour for us. Beautifully...More

Thank JoEllenIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our visit. Recommend for all ages. Informative and interactive as well as being interesting. Gardens are lovely and they have a reasonably priced tea room.

Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Tudor House has a diverse and interesting history from Tudor, Elizabethan, Georgian, Victorian and back to Elizabethan (our Queen) times. The guided tour is a must and very interesting, facts where put over in a very interesting and understandble way. Wow! So pleased did not...More

Thank frasambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I visited today and really enjoyed our time there. The staff were helpful and friendly and the museum well laid out with lots of interesting artefacts and information. The gardens were lovely and really nice to sit in. The cafe was excellent...More

Thank Rachel1973C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

a must see in Southampton and also closed to St Michaels Church, the oldest in town. Lots of history to discover and explore!!

Thank dangallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Tudor house is a historic building over 800 years old and is nestled in Northampton’s old town. Fabulous display of old and recent renovations and history of occupancy surviving many wars and other disastrous events. A multimedia show, self and audio assist tour plus descriptive...More

Thank PaulnGail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Southampton
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,145 reviews
.19 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1,323 reviews
.25 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,691 reviews
.26 km away
Travelodge Southampton Central Hotel
601 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
BAYLEAF kitchen
260 reviews
.18 km away
Ennio's
783 reviews
.21 km away
Duke of Wellington
497 reviews
.04 km away
Coriander Lounge
1,569 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hythe Ferry
527 reviews
.27 km away
Red Funnel Ferries
1,519 reviews
.26 km away
Southampton Town Walls
347 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bidsagogo
4 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gillianred | Reviewed this property |
Not sure as we had only a coffee there. We went to The Pig for lunch as it is close by.
0
Votes
edwardwoodward147
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
Yes we do allow free entry at both Tudor House & Garden as well as SeaCity to our retail and catering areas. With Tudor House we have the seating area in the garden so access is allowed, if you wouldn't mind letting the... More
2
Votes
Patricia A
29 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alohanuiloa | Reviewed this property |
Ticket Type Ticket Tariff Adult ticket £5.00 per ticket (2 adults,3 children) £13.75 per ticket Child 5yrs and over £4.00 per ticket Over 60s and Students £4.00 per ticket
1
Vote
Google Translation
;