We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Funnel Ferries

Closed Now: 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
Open today: 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Thoroughly recommended

First time we have used the Redjet and we were very impressed with the whole experience. Crossing... read more

Reviewed yesterday
MaroonCases
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Wheelchair user & lift out of action

We had a booking today & when checked into Southampton with a caravan & 2 dogs- we were told that... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Carole W
via mobile
Read all 1,637 reviews
387
All photos (387)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“isle of wight”(496 reviews)
“earlier ferry”(74 reviews)
“red jet”(83 reviews)
About
Red Funnel has a proud history of serving the Isle of Wight since 1820, carrying 3.4 million passengers to the Island each year. We have won awards for safety, innovation & service including Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor every year...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
See all hours
Contact
Terminal 1 Town Quay | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
Website
+44 23 8001 9192
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Reviews (1,637)
Filter reviews
1,613 results
Traveller rating
882
475
135
65
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
882
475
135
65
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wightearlier ferryred jetcar ferryfoot passengersred falconloading and unloadingwight linkpriority boardinghour crossingsignature loungereturn journeytop deckday tripboth waysferry serviceefficient service
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,613 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

First time we have used the Redjet and we were very impressed with the whole experience. Crossing on a windy day, the journey was very smooth and the service ran perfectly to time. Travelling off peak, the price is very reasonable too.

Thank MaroonCases
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We had a booking today & when checked into Southampton with a caravan & 2 dogs- we were told that the lift we needed from the lower car deck was out of order. My initial reaction as a wheelchair user, was one of panic. But...More

Thank Carole W
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Carole W Firstly, thank you for choosing to travel with Red Funnel and for taking the time to share your experience, which we would agree probably wasn't as smooth as you expected as we are currently having trouble with the lift on-board (which is...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The tickets to Cowes on the Red Jet hi speed boats are not expensive. This is an exhiloraing trip as well as speed the sights are terrific as you pull out into the Solent. Amazingly you are then asked if you would like a tea...More

Thank julescranfield
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Julescranfield, Thank you for leaving us an amazing 5* rating, we do appreciate it. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day trip so much and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards Sandra Customer Services

Reviewed 4 days ago

Very well organised. Easy to drive on and off the ferry. Lots of seating and really good drinks and food service.More

Thank patricia082015
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Patricia082015, It is always fantastic to know when we have done well and we very much appreciate that you have, so kindly, taken the time to say so. "Effortless" is exactly the experience we strive to achieve. We look forward to seeing you in...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

So expensive but you have little option so they get away with it. The kitchen do a great job and the boat is pretty clean.More

Thank agoodnightsleep2015
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Agoodnightsleep2015, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the level of service received on board, however I am sorry you feel our prices are too expensive, and acknowledge your sentiments in what is an extremely emotive...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Now, don't get me wrong. We always use Red Funnel and the Signature lounge but I am actually sitting her GOING TOTALLY BATSHIT CRAZY as somebody's yappy horrible dog does what it does best just outside. Poor girl in charge isn't allowed to do anything...More

Thank shortbreaker2012
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Shortbreaker2012, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your most recent crossing with us in the Signature Lounge, due to some very extenuating circumstances. I'm sure you would agree that this would be considered an unfortunate one off event. If you...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Ok look, you have two choices to get your car to the Island, Red Funnel or Wightlink, I have never managed to find Wightlink cheaper than Red Funnel so that’s why they’re the carrier of choice; however charges at the times most people want to...More

Thank Anders B
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Anders B, Thank you for the 4* review, and your candid and valuable feedback. We are aware of the problems caused by the pedestrian crossing at East Cowes, and most recently East Cowes Town Council have kindly changed the priorities of the pelican crossing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived just before 9 o clock in the evening to discover that during the evening they only run their service on the hour. Which is a joke considering how much they charge. Added insult is that they do not have the decency to keep the...More

Thank marcs1975iow
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Marcs1975iow, Thank you for your spirited review. Feedback from our customers is always welcome. We have found that there is very little demand for the cafe in the terminal past 1915, so this is when we close it. There are still vending machines within...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We used red funnel ferries as we were visiting the Isle of Wight. We booked online at a return price of £39 which was excellent. I would recommend checking prices online as it was cheaper than booking at the ticket office. Great crossing and getting...More

Thank KarenBateman66
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear KarenBateman66, Your feedback is exactly what we like to hear. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Sandra Customer Services

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed again return Red Funnel ferry to the Isle of Wight. The car number plate recognition has certainly sped up booking in process. Left on time. Good range of amenities on board. Benefited from a discount provided by our accommodation. Well pleased.

Thank RichardC7307
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear RichardC7307, As a customer, what you think is very important to us and we much appreciate your fantastic feedback. Many thanks, and we look forwards to serving you again in the future. Warmest Regards Sandra Customer Services

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Southampton
room2 Southampton
128 reviews
.41 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,271 reviews
.44 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,776 reviews
.46 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1,388 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 944 restaurants in Southampton
BAYLEAF kitchen
298 reviews
.17 km away
Everest Cuisine
596 reviews
.33 km away
The Jetty, Ocean Village
281 reviews
.07 km away
Ennio's
826 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 285 attractions in Southampton
Hythe Ferry
553 reviews
.23 km away
Tudor House and Garden
541 reviews
.26 km away
Southampton Town Walls
368 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Paula C
9 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Paula, All journeys either by rail or on our ferry services are printed on the one ticket, no need to pick up another one.
0
Votes
Bear_Claire86
30 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Bear_Claire86 Thanks for the question, if you would like to be one of the first vehicles on and off the ferry (reducing the overall time of the crossing) we would recommend purchasing priority loading. Not only that... More
0
Votes
Rachel S
29 December 2017|
Answer
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Rachel, Sorry for the late reply. In future if you have any questions that need an instant answer please do not hesitate to give us a call on 02380 019192, or alternatively reach out to us by Facebook or Twitter and... More
0
Votes